1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Recurve wiring question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Dug1967, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. Jun 30, 2016 at 6:05 PM
    #1
    Dug1967

    Dug1967 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Member:
    #190948
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-road ACLB
    I am looking to do the following to my 2016 Tacoma TRD Off-road ACLB....

    1. Keep stock Entune head unit.
    2. Purchase Tacotune's Recurve and wiring harness.
    3. Add a Rockford Fosgate P400X4 (4 Ch) amp for the front and read speakers.
    4. Add a Rockford Fosgate PS-8 under seat sub.
    5. Replace door speakers with Rockford Fosgate 3-way (front) and 2-way (rear) speakers.

    I have figured out the wiring up to the point where I go from the P400X4 amp to the door speakers. I would prefer to keep the stock wiring for the door speakers.

    If I am correct the Tacotune's Recurve wiring harness takes the speaker hi-level outputs from the head unit and sends that to the Recurve.

    Where I get lost, does the Tacotune's wiring harness provide a means take the output of the 4 Ch. amp and hook it directly back into stock wiring harness and go to the 4 door speakers?

    I forgot to say, I don't have the JBL package.
     
  2. Jul 2, 2016 at 8:13 PM
    #2
    Dug1967

    Dug1967 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Member:
    #190948
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-road ACLB
    Anybody? I emailed ********* and haven't gotten an answer from them on this question.
     
  3. Jul 4, 2016 at 3:21 PM
    #3
    tacotunesJosh

    tacotunesJosh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Member:
    #171130
    Messages:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    System
    what is your ticket number
     
  4. Jul 4, 2016 at 5:58 PM
    #4
    Dug1967

    Dug1967 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Member:
    #190948
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-road ACLB
    Hello Josh,

    The email auto reply I got says Ticket # is 1473. I basically asked the same as I did above. I have been searching you videos and getting lots of good info but just don't yet understand the wiring from the amp to the speakers.
     
  5. Jul 5, 2016 at 9:04 AM
    #5
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,104
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    Do you have photos of the install or the equipment that you got from *********?
     
  6. Jul 5, 2016 at 7:50 PM
    #6
    Dug1967

    Dug1967 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Member:
    #190948
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-road ACLB
    TurboGT,

    Actually the answer is No, for both questions. I haven't yet purchase any items. I am the type that likes to have the whole plan before I jump out of the plane. If you need a picture of the ReCurve, the only thing I am getting from *********, there is plenty of pictures on here and Google images, or even ********* website.... The knowledge gap I have is what wiring to do from the RCA outputs of the 4 channel amp back to the door speakers. I am hoping the ReCurve wiring harness provides plugs and wires to get back into the original Toyota wiring harness.

    I know one set of the ReCurve wiring harness shown in the pictures takes the speaker Hi output from the Entune head unit and feeds it to the ReCurve input, without requiring modification of the stock wiring harness. Hoping the end of the loop is handled by the other half of the ReCurve wiring harness.
     
  7. Jul 6, 2016 at 8:50 AM
    #7
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,104
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    http://*********.com/car-audio-vide...to-your-stock-toyota-tacoma-stereo-head-unit/

    is this the unit you're talking about?

    From what I can see in their crappy super small photos, it appears that there's a T-harness that plugs into the back of the radio and into the stock harness, rerouting the signal from the radio down through the harness into the Recurve unit, and then has wiring to return the signal back to the stock harness going out to your speakers. So aside from wiring at the Recurve unit, it should all be plug and play... I can't find any info on what happens at the Recurve unit, so it could be plug and play there too, I just don't know.

    What doesn't make sense to me is that the Recurve unit in the photos appears to have pre-amp outputs coming out of it, and it appears that the Recurve unit is just an EQ... meaning that you would have to have an amplifier to connect up to. The whole kit doesn't make a lot of sense to me, frankly.

    EDIT: I just found the link to the install manual and videos... I'm reading through it right now
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
    TacoJova likes this.
  8. Jul 6, 2016 at 9:14 AM
    #8
    Dug1967

    Dug1967 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Member:
    #190948
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-road ACLB
    TurboGT,

    Here is a better picture http://*********.com/car-audio-video/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/*********-ReCurve-EZQ-Toyota-Tundra.jpg

    Yes, you are right the first half of the wiring harness supplied (shown on the left)

    http://*********.com/car-audio-video/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/ReCurve-EZQ-Wire-Harness-System-Toyota-Tundra-.jpg

    with the green and purple wires does what you say above, it provides a jumper from the back of the head unit out to the ReCurve (with the Hi audio signal) and then after that I don't know what the green / purple harness does, but I don't think it does anything else. I am not sure what the other harness (orange / yellow / gray) does. Maybe power? I don't know.

    The RCA's jacks on the right side of the ReCurve unit are the output to Subwoofer and Front and Rear amps. The RCA's on the left side are not used to the best of my understanding.

    I hope you have better luck with the manuals, because I have read them and still have this question. There is no mention of hooking up anything after the amps from the three outputs mentioned in the previous sentence.

    I do appreciate you think about this and looking into it... I am hoping it will be obvious to somebody else....
     
  9. Jul 6, 2016 at 9:19 AM
    #9
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,104
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    Ok... So you're only looking on how to wire from the amplifiers back into the stock wiring, correct?

    Additionally, do you have ANY experience with installing car stereos? My guess is either no or very little
     
    TacoJova likes this.
  10. Jul 6, 2016 at 10:28 AM
    #10
    Dug1967

    Dug1967 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Member:
    #190948
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-road ACLB

    Yes, as stated twice previously I am questioning the wiring required to get from the amp output to the speakers, hoping that I can tap into the factory wiring harness with out cutting and/or tapping into factory wires.

    Additionally, what does my experience level have to do with the any answer you might be able to supply to this question? If you feel safer, then by all means use small words and type slowly.......
     
  11. Jul 6, 2016 at 11:19 AM
    #11
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,104
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    How do I want to word this... gonna try to NOT be offensive but I realize that it might come off that way, so just know that's not my intention, rather just trying to get the thoughts out there.

    After looking at their install video, their install harness WILL NOT allow you to tie back into the factory harness without significant modification. Can you use the Recurve without their harness? Yes... but the way it appears they assemble their harness prohibits you from running wires from the amplifier back up to the stock harness (and out to the speakers).

    My question about your experience level, and my assumptions as well, doesn't have anything to do with the answer, other than I would expect someone with installation experience to already know the answer and how to accomplish the task, whereas someone who doesn't would be asking the question. I'm not being judgmental or anything.

    All that said, you can EASILY make your own harness that WILL work, and I can tell you how, and if you'd like, how to also make it "futureproof" should some day you decide to drop the Entune headunit, and it won't cost you much more.

    Let me know if I should continue :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
  12. Jul 6, 2016 at 11:34 AM
    #12
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,104
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    I'm also curious as to why you are interested in the Recurve EQ... having spent a decade installing car stereo systems for joe blow everyday user, I personally don't feel that they're worthwhile for anyone unless they are looking to hit some sort of SQ competition.

    Again, just my personal opinion
     
    TacoJova likes this.
  13. Jul 6, 2016 at 11:47 AM
    #13
    rob feature

    rob feature Tacos!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Member:
    #61468
    Messages:
    1,536
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2003 4x4 V6 X-Cab SR5
    Shocks. Pegs. Lucky.
    You can do this pretty easily assuming parts aren't hard to find. You'd need to find the other end of the harnesses (like the ones coming out of your radio - the inset male ends) to plug into your factory wiring behind the radio then wire that back to your amp. No idea where you'd find the other end of the harness, but it likely exists somewhere. Not the ideal solution in my book, but it will keep you from cutting up your stock wiring.
     
  14. Jul 6, 2016 at 11:52 AM
    #14
    Dug1967

    Dug1967 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Member:
    #190948
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-road ACLB
    No, but Thanks for your help.

    I was hoping to hear from someone with hands on experience with the ReCurve unit. My guess is you have none or very little.
     
  15. Jul 6, 2016 at 11:54 AM
    #15
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,104
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    Correct... I have no experience with the Recurve unit. Other EQ's with hi (speaker) and low (RCA) level input, yes... they all install the same, so I can assist with the installation of them, and I can assist with what I've seen from their websites and videos
     
  16. Jul 6, 2016 at 12:00 PM
    #16
    rob feature

    rob feature Tacos!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Member:
    #61468
    Messages:
    1,536
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2003 4x4 V6 X-Cab SR5
    Shocks. Pegs. Lucky.
    Does the Recurve do anything special for the Taco anyway? It looks like a rebranded Boss EQ600
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
    TacoJova likes this.
  17. Jul 6, 2016 at 12:15 PM
    #17
    TurboGT

    TurboGT Stirring the pot since...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Member:
    #43822
    Messages:
    1,104
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gabe
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    '06 DC LB 4x4
    OME lift w/ Dakars & 885's Remote Start w/ window control
    It appears that way, but it's slightly different... ACEQS doesn't have circuitry to create a remote out from the input signal, the Recurve does. Mybe it does, I didn't look that closely, but the AC has 3 connections for power, the Recurve has 4. I also didn't compare the EQ frequencies.

    @Dug1967

    Here's an Amazon list of the parts that you would need to get to replace the ********* harness: https://amzn.com/w/2LE98ZBRJW9T7

    I've added in a Line Out Converter and a set of 4 channel RCA's. You would install the LOC to harness coming out of the headunit (Metra 71-1761), and connect the RCA's to that and the Recurve unit, and the speedwire would connect to the amplifier and stock harness (Metra 70-1761). This route would "futureproof" your installation should some day you decide to replace the Entune headunit. (Cost = $98.19, w/o shipping)

    If you don't care about that, then delete the LOC and RCA's and order a second length of speedwire. One still gets hooked up to the 71-1761 harness and goes to the Recurve, and the other still goes to the amp and the 70-1761 harness. (Cost = $49.07, w/o shipping)

    Either way you need to connect all of the wires that don't go to the speedwires (or LOC in second scenario)... Everything is color coded, but I will tell you NOT to hook up the blue wire in the speedwire bundle to the harnesses, just between the harnesses.
     
  18. Jul 6, 2016 at 12:24 PM
    #18
    rob feature

    rob feature Tacos!

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Member:
    #61468
    Messages:
    1,536
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2003 4x4 V6 X-Cab SR5
    Shocks. Pegs. Lucky.
    Guess I changed that before you got to posting Turbo. I think it's actually the Boss unit, which appears to be an almost copy of the AC unit.

    And now I see a remote out on the Recurve that the Boss doesn't have...so not exactly the same. Tiffany RCA jacks too - always a nice touch
     
  19. Jul 6, 2016 at 2:59 PM
    #19
    bear263

    bear263 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Member:
    #87716
    Messages:
    655
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2013 PreRunner TRD SP
    LED interior lights. Steering wheel mod. New radio. Amp, speakers and sub woofer.
    Logic tells me that the Recurve is the go between the hu and the amp. So under that theory, there should be no harness back to the speakers. That would come from the amp. Best bet would be to do what Turbo suggests with the speed wire. Use the metra male plugs from the hu to the recurve and then from the amp use the metra female plugs back to the factory harness.

    Here's a video of ********* talking about it. If you haven't seen it.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4BeH6A6IYA

    No mention of how to get the signal back to the speakers. Looks like the harness that comes with it is just source and power to the recurve.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
  20. Jul 6, 2016 at 6:38 PM
    #20
    tacotunesJosh

    tacotunesJosh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Member:
    #171130
    Messages:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    System
    replied to your ticket
    sorry for the delay
    my boss is on vacation and its only me until sunday
    -josh
     

Products Discussed in

To Top