1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Remote Start: Good/Bad

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by RedneckHT07, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. Sep 22, 2008 at 5:34 PM
    #1
    RedneckHT07

    RedneckHT07 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Member:
    #8141
    Messages:
    7
    Manhattan, KS
    Vehicle:
    08 Double Cab TRD Off Road
    Bought an 08 Taco 4x4 four door Off Road package a month ago and I absolutly love it! I am thinking about buying a remote starter for it. I dont wanna ruin the warranty but I like the idea of a remote start. Any ideas or recommendations on a good remote start?
     
  2. Sep 22, 2008 at 7:13 PM
    #2
    kwalton

    kwalton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Member:
    #4222
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Baltimore, Md
    Vehicle:
    Silver Streak Mica 4x4 6 Speed
    Trd exhaust and intake, Toytec 3" with 885's and AAL, Alpine headunit, speakers and new PDX 5 channel amp, JL steathbox, Scangauge
    viper ftw. i have always had a remote start on every vehicle i have owned. make sure to have it prof. installed if you don't know how. i was an installer for over 17 years so it's like second nature to me.
     
  3. Sep 22, 2008 at 7:14 PM
    #3
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    is there a way to get one installed and use the remote for the truck and not the remote start remote?
     
  4. Sep 22, 2008 at 7:29 PM
    #4
    106Tacoma

    106Tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Member:
    #2381
    Messages:
    327
    Vehicle:
    Debadged 06 Black Sand Pearl 4x4 Every option.
    I have a compustar and its amazing! 3000 foot range and no problems! I love it.
     
  5. Sep 22, 2008 at 7:42 PM
    #5
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    where did you get it and who installed it
     
  6. Sep 22, 2008 at 8:15 PM
    #6
    MacTaco

    MacTaco Mustache May

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Member:
    #9314
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola, Florida
    Vehicle:
    06 Indigo, Lifted, Flowmaster
    Skyjacker 3" Lift, 285/75/R16 Toyo M/T tires/ Eagle Alloy Wheels, Flowmaster 50 Series, Pioneer Din Head Unit, Viper Alarm/Remote Start System, Debadged, DT Headers, True Flow Intake
    Remote start is incredible. Best Buy down here in Florida actually sells viper alarm/remote start systems. So I couldn't refuse, and I bought one. It doesn't affect the warranty in any way.
     
  7. Sep 22, 2008 at 8:20 PM
    #7
    106Tacoma

    106Tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Member:
    #2381
    Messages:
    327
    Vehicle:
    Debadged 06 Black Sand Pearl 4x4 Every option.
    I had mine installed at a local store called sterio advantage, through my dealer. No void on anything and it works 100% every time.
     
  8. Sep 22, 2008 at 9:17 PM
    #8
    Mz_TazComa

    Mz_TazComa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Member:
    #9214
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Female
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    '06 D-Cab TRD Sport LB
    Access Limited Tonneau Cover, Partially Debadged, Blacked-out emblems. Wet Oakley Seat Covers.
    I love my remote start. I won't buy a new car/truck without one anymore. No more having to wait for my truck to warm up in the middle of winter. I used to leave for work around 7am and it was already warmed up and the ice was practically melting off.

    I had the dealer install it. I always negotiated a price for the vehicle and then told the dealer I want the remote start included otherwise I wasn't buying. ;)
     
  9. Sep 22, 2008 at 9:29 PM
    #9
    WilsonTheDog

    WilsonTheDog Kylie's dad

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Member:
    #3496
    Messages:
    4,841
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Myrtle Beach SC
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 DC/SB V6
    Magnaflow 12576 muffler & chrome tip, Westin step bars, 27% tint, Pop N Lock, AFE ProdryS, bed mat, Husky liners, D-rings added, Access Literider tonneau, Pioneer 4-ways all around, GY Wrangler Duratracs 265/75/16, 5100's @ 1.75", 1.5" AAL
  10. Sep 23, 2008 at 11:09 AM
    #10
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    do you all have a different remote for your remote start or use the tacoma unlock and lock remote?
     
  11. Sep 23, 2008 at 11:11 AM
    #11
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,104
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    the remote start has lock/unlock features.
     
  12. Sep 23, 2008 at 11:12 AM
    #12
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    yeah i know i just didnt want to have to wire all of that but guess i have to, just thought i would try haha
     
  13. Sep 23, 2008 at 1:14 PM
    #13
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    So you'd rather half-ass the job and carry two big key fobs in your pocket than do the job right? :confused:
     
  14. Sep 23, 2008 at 1:18 PM
    #14
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    no i would rather have it on my original keys that the truck came with i dont need security or another system to lock the truck just start it haha
     
  15. Sep 23, 2008 at 1:22 PM
    #15
    Dexbert

    Dexbert Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Member:
    #131
    Messages:
    6
    I have an 05 with the 6 speed manual. I had the remote start installed nearly 2 years ago. I went with Ultra (http://ultrastarters.com/). Only one I found at the time that was compatible with the stick. Local installer (Installations Unlimited) did the install. Very happy with it.
     
  16. Sep 23, 2008 at 1:27 PM
    #16
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    ah. ok. I don't think you can reprogram the stock fob to control the remote start. you can program the remote start to lock/unlock the doors though. So you just carry a different fob.
     
  17. Sep 23, 2008 at 1:33 PM
    #17
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    yeah my buddy had one on his dodge but would always mess up and had the engine light comin on and all that, it was just a thought just wanted to see if anyone has done that
     
  18. Sep 23, 2008 at 1:35 PM
    #18
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,104
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    here's my thought, don't go to your buddy's installer...
     
  19. Sep 23, 2008 at 1:50 PM
    #19
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    yeah it was best buy...haha i think his dodge was just a piece of crap
     
  20. Sep 23, 2008 at 4:20 PM
    #20
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front

    Problem solved! :D
     
To Top