1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Remote Start: Good/Bad

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by RedneckHT07, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. Sep 23, 2008 at 4:27 PM
    #21
    kwalton

    kwalton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Member:
    #4222
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    Baltimore, Md
    Vehicle:
    Silver Streak Mica 4x4 6 Speed
    Trd exhaust and intake, Toytec 3" with 885's and AAL, Alpine headunit, speakers and new PDX 5 channel amp, JL steathbox, Scangauge
    if you do not want the alarm features you can get a remote start that will work off of your factory fob. typically you would have to press the lock button on the factory fob a few times in a sequence to begin the remote start functions. you will also lose a lot of range with the factory fob. my suggestion is to use the new remote which will allow you to remote start and lock and unlock your truck. the factory remote will stay active but you can put it in a drawer as a back up.
     
  2. Sep 23, 2008 at 6:20 PM
    #22
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,078
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    yeah im good with that, it was just a thought, thanks for all the responses fellas
     
  3. Sep 23, 2008 at 9:03 PM
    #23
    Lunercrab

    Lunercrab AKA "06tacosport"

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Member:
    #4680
    Messages:
    605
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Beth
    Lehigh Valley area, PA
    Vehicle:
    2010 timberland mica dcab sport
    i didn't know you could have a remote start on a manual...does that mean you'd have to keep it out of gear when parked for it to work?
     
  4. Sep 24, 2008 at 12:11 AM
    #24
    TacoNut

    TacoNut IgnoringChrisWatchingEdLi veVicariouslyThroughMJP2

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Member:
    #5597
    Messages:
    5,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Denver, Co
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD OR DCSB Quicksand
    yea the truck would have to be in neutral and the clutch start cancel engaged. Imo i wouldn't like not leaving it in gear but thats just me.
     
  5. Sep 24, 2008 at 3:14 AM
    #25
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,212
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    So, there is a toyota factory installed remote start available?

    What's that run ya - ballpark figure - with installation?

    Does that also have a separate remote? Or can Toyota make it work with your current remote (or give you a new remote)?

    Thanks! Just coming up with more Christmast ideas....
     
  6. Sep 24, 2008 at 5:09 AM
    #26
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,441
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    They make them for manuals, but it's a pain in the ass. You have to leave the truck running, get out, lock the doors, and turn off with the remote start. Or something like that so the system can verify the engine is running in neutral, but as soon as ANY of the doors are opened (oops! wife forgot something!) the system resets. Which means if you or your wife run out to grab something after you "set" the system, it won't remote start the next morning unless you do the set procedure again. At least, that's the ways systems work that the installers I've talked too would actually install due to liability issues. If I had that I'd probably stop using it within a week! :laugh:
     
  7. Sep 24, 2008 at 2:56 PM
    #27
    kwalton

    kwalton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Member:
    #4222
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    Baltimore, Md
    Vehicle:
    Silver Streak Mica 4x4 6 Speed
    Trd exhaust and intake, Toytec 3" with 885's and AAL, Alpine headunit, speakers and new PDX 5 channel amp, JL steathbox, Scangauge
    i just bypassed my clutch so i can always start it without engaging the pedal. i have had remote starts for years and have always driven a manual. i do have a switch which will disengage the starter if i am taking it in for service.
     
  8. Sep 24, 2008 at 6:03 PM
    #28
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,078
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    so do you seriously have to get a new key with a remote start because they have to put some over ride in the ignition?
     
  9. Sep 24, 2008 at 6:17 PM
    #29
    kwalton

    kwalton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Member:
    #4222
    Messages:
    196
    Gender:
    Male
    Baltimore, Md
    Vehicle:
    Silver Streak Mica 4x4 6 Speed
    Trd exhaust and intake, Toytec 3" with 885's and AAL, Alpine headunit, speakers and new PDX 5 channel amp, JL steathbox, Scangauge
    most new cars come standard with a transponder based immobilizer system which basically means that there is a chip embedded in your key. i used the valet key and installed it in the bypass module (dei 556u) which will emulate a key in the ignition when you are remote starting
     
  10. Sep 24, 2008 at 11:50 PM
    #30
    Brian Price

    Brian Price Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Member:
    #9457
    Messages:
    8
    Santa Barbara
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma 4.0L trd
    quick shift kit,magna flow,need some chips,headers,And a dang turbo!
    Just joined up. This is great all,the trd junkies in one spot
     
  11. Sep 25, 2008 at 5:01 AM
    #31
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,441
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft

    Only if you want it to work on a model with the engine immobilizer. :D

    They make models that emulate the key without using one I think, but those will be on higher end alarm systems.
     
  12. Sep 25, 2008 at 8:12 AM
    #32
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,078
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    that sucks because its like 20 for a new key then 60 for them to program the damn thing
     
  13. Sep 25, 2008 at 9:08 AM
    #33
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,441
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    My dealer wanted $45/key plus programming, and others have said $150 some places for the whole key/program package. So don't loose a key! :laugh:
     
  14. Sep 25, 2008 at 9:10 AM
    #34
    norcalbb11

    norcalbb11 Nor*Cal

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6753
    Messages:
    1,078
    Gender:
    Male
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    09 Taco Sport 4x4
    flowmaster 40 series, tinted windows, airaid CAI, removed 2nd filter, aries black bull bar
    damn thats pretty bad
     
  15. Sep 25, 2008 at 9:24 AM
    #35
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,441
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft
    yeah. I normally have 3-4 spares for my cars. Me, wife, mother, one hanging in the house.... Just in case. Not at the price of these!! I might just have it copied to a blank so I can at least open the doors if I lock the transponder one in the cab.

    hell, blanks from Wally World might work too if you already have the transponder key close enough for the remote start to work....
     
To Top