1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Remote wire/12-volt question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by bpop1302, Jun 9, 2007.

  1. Jun 9, 2007 at 7:26 PM
    #1
    bpop1302

    bpop1302 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Member:
    #1792
    Messages:
    16
    I just had a brainstorm, since the remote wire is only hot when the key is 'ON', could I not run my remote wire for my aftermarket amp coming off my 12-volt cigarette lighter? This way it sends the signal to the amp to power on when the key is turned.
     
  2. Jun 9, 2007 at 8:25 PM
    #2
    MotoXFreeStyle61

    MotoXFreeStyle61 Displaced Texan

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1616
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5 4Cyl, Access Cab, 5
    Black Head Light Mod, Tacoma All Weather Mats, ScanGauge II, Tonnaeu Bed Cover, 40% Tint, Added Fog Lights, 600W x 1 Alpine MRP-M650 Amp, Alpine 10" Type-R SWR-1022D Sub, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Day Time Running Lights, K&N Drop In Air Filter (oiled), Westin Bullbar (Black Powder), Alpine IVA-W505 w/Nav, JL Audio 6.5" Front Speakers, Toyota SR5 Seat Covers, 2.5" Toytec Spacer
    if the remote wire youre talking about is the thin gray wire going into the stock head unit, it turns on when you turn the key to "ACC".
     
  3. Jun 9, 2007 at 8:36 PM
    #3
    MotoXFreeStyle61

    MotoXFreeStyle61 Displaced Texan

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1616
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5 4Cyl, Access Cab, 5
    Black Head Light Mod, Tacoma All Weather Mats, ScanGauge II, Tonnaeu Bed Cover, 40% Tint, Added Fog Lights, 600W x 1 Alpine MRP-M650 Amp, Alpine 10" Type-R SWR-1022D Sub, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Day Time Running Lights, K&N Drop In Air Filter (oiled), Westin Bullbar (Black Powder), Alpine IVA-W505 w/Nav, JL Audio 6.5" Front Speakers, Toyota SR5 Seat Covers, 2.5" Toytec Spacer
    or if you wanted I think you can run a wire to the battery and just put a switch between there somewhere. I wouldnt recommend doing this though because you always risk leaving the amp on and thus having a dead battery. :crazy:
     
  4. Jun 9, 2007 at 9:04 PM
    #4
    bpop1302

    bpop1302 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Member:
    #1792
    Messages:
    16
    Yeah I know how the wire works, but instead of going for the remote wire to the radio, can I not just use the wire that goes to the 12-volt to turn that on. Wouldn't it be the same remote wire? All it is doing is sending the signal from the truck to the amp telling it to power up. Cause i noticed the cigarette lighter only comes on when the ACC is on.
     
  5. Jun 9, 2007 at 9:57 PM
    #5
    MotoXFreeStyle61

    MotoXFreeStyle61 Displaced Texan

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1616
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5 4Cyl, Access Cab, 5
    Black Head Light Mod, Tacoma All Weather Mats, ScanGauge II, Tonnaeu Bed Cover, 40% Tint, Added Fog Lights, 600W x 1 Alpine MRP-M650 Amp, Alpine 10" Type-R SWR-1022D Sub, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Day Time Running Lights, K&N Drop In Air Filter (oiled), Westin Bullbar (Black Powder), Alpine IVA-W505 w/Nav, JL Audio 6.5" Front Speakers, Toyota SR5 Seat Covers, 2.5" Toytec Spacer
    well i just wired up my alpine amp just a couple days ago to my stock head unit. I just used the remote wire running into the stock head unit. Its a thin gray wire. I just tapped into that and it works perfectly. Whenever my headunit comes on, my amp comes on. Let me know what you plan on using.
     
  6. Jun 10, 2007 at 6:23 AM
    #6
    bpop1302

    bpop1302 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Member:
    #1792
    Messages:
    16
    I think I am just going to go to the head unit. Since I have always done it that way. Did you use a Converter Moto?
     
  7. Jun 10, 2007 at 7:04 AM
    #7
    MotoXFreeStyle61

    MotoXFreeStyle61 Displaced Texan

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1616
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5 4Cyl, Access Cab, 5
    Black Head Light Mod, Tacoma All Weather Mats, ScanGauge II, Tonnaeu Bed Cover, 40% Tint, Added Fog Lights, 600W x 1 Alpine MRP-M650 Amp, Alpine 10" Type-R SWR-1022D Sub, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Day Time Running Lights, K&N Drop In Air Filter (oiled), Westin Bullbar (Black Powder), Alpine IVA-W505 w/Nav, JL Audio 6.5" Front Speakers, Toyota SR5 Seat Covers, 2.5" Toytec Spacer
    No, I just used the speaker level inputs that came with the amp and tapped into the rear speaker wires coming out of the head unit. I'm thinking about getting a nicer head unit. I probably won't do this for awhile though. :rolleyes:
     
  8. Jun 12, 2007 at 4:17 PM
    #8
    bpop1302

    bpop1302 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Member:
    #1792
    Messages:
    16
    What about your RCAs?? They can't come from the factory radio
     
  9. Jun 12, 2007 at 6:27 PM
    #9
    MotoXFreeStyle61

    MotoXFreeStyle61 Displaced Texan

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1616
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5 4Cyl, Access Cab, 5
    Black Head Light Mod, Tacoma All Weather Mats, ScanGauge II, Tonnaeu Bed Cover, 40% Tint, Added Fog Lights, 600W x 1 Alpine MRP-M650 Amp, Alpine 10" Type-R SWR-1022D Sub, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Day Time Running Lights, K&N Drop In Air Filter (oiled), Westin Bullbar (Black Powder), Alpine IVA-W505 w/Nav, JL Audio 6.5" Front Speakers, Toyota SR5 Seat Covers, 2.5" Toytec Spacer
    What RCAs? I'm not using any at the moment. I guess im kinda confused about your question.:confused:
     
To Top