1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

remote wire trouble

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Nightmare4150, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. Aug 12, 2011 at 7:54 AM
    #1
    Nightmare4150

    Nightmare4150 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Member:
    #50278
    Messages:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Savannah, GA
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5
    Trying to.wire my remote wire somewhere it will.get power. Would running to the fog light wire work? Or the cig lighter. Cause the dash is being a bitch to take apart. I have no.idea what im doing my friend is the one who wired it all and now I.gotta finish it. Any help?
     
  2. Aug 12, 2011 at 8:07 AM
    #2
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    You want to hook it up to the 12V acc or ignition wire (switched, not a constant lead) If you are running an aftermarket head unit a lot of the wiring harnesses will have a REM wire built into the harness. My alpine did.
     
  3. Aug 12, 2011 at 8:11 AM
    #3
    Nightmare4150

    Nightmare4150 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Member:
    #50278
    Messages:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Savannah, GA
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5
    Im running off my stock head unit. And where is the 12v acc wire at? And how would I hook it into the igtion without fucking up my ignition?
     
  4. Aug 12, 2011 at 8:25 AM
    #4
    macgyver

    macgyver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Member:
    #21173
    Messages:
    3,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brad
    Canton, GA
    Vehicle:
    '13 Tundra double cab SR5 4x4
    The 12V ignition wire is just a switched 12V source. It only gets power when the key is switched to acc or run.

    I can't help you on the wiring though. I have an aftermarket harness. My stock radio was in my truck for about 30 minutes when I bought it and was quickly replaced with an aftermarket Alpine unit.

    You could see if there is a wiring diagram online. Google is your friend.
     
  5. Aug 12, 2011 at 12:50 PM
    #5
    lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
    Get the wiring diagram at TTORA. But if your year is like mine, there is a gray wire on the back of the radio that only sees power when the ignition is ON. I used to use it to trigger my sound processor before I went to an aftermarket headunit.

    That said, the cigarette lighter should also work.
     
  6. Aug 15, 2011 at 4:20 PM
    #6
    Nightmare4150

    Nightmare4150 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Member:
    #50278
    Messages:
    372
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Savannah, GA
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5
    im about to say fuck it and just buy an aftermarket head unit. any ideas?
     
  7. Aug 15, 2011 at 5:25 PM
    #7
    mattg43

    mattg43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Member:
    #51640
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner SR5 DC
    SwingCase, driver side. PVC Bike rack. Aftermarket stereo.
    Lots of ideas, lots of threads about it in this section. If one doesnt work that is already posted, start a thread about which head unit.

    Include price, if you are buying new or used, local or online.

    Also features needed, wanted, and not needed

    However, like Lbridges said, there are lots of wires that would work. I would get one off the head unit, but the cig lighter is a great place as well, just use your DMM to ensure it isnt hot when the car is turned off. I dont think they are, but havent tested, and I have had a couple cars where the cig was hot and the 12v power was switched...
     
  8. Aug 15, 2011 at 11:21 PM
    #8
    platinumb

    platinumb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Member:
    #60397
    Messages:
    505
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    denver
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD OR DC Supercharged
    supercharger, focal/jl audio sound system, trd cat back
    The power outlets in these are switched power you can tap one of those if you want they are very easy to get to.
     
  9. Aug 16, 2011 at 6:37 AM
    #9
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    you can run it off your cig lighter, and the easiest place to tap that is in your fuse box. Just pick up an add a fuse
     
  10. Aug 16, 2011 at 8:11 AM
    #10
    06SR5canada

    06SR5canada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Member:
    #60338
    Messages:
    647
    Gender:
    Male
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    06 dblcab SR5
    2ndary air filter removed, flowmaster 40
    ditch the shitty stock player, dayum.

    pioneer avh-p2300
     
To Top