1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Removing instrument cluster, plugs instead of screws?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by DueNorth, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. Jun 29, 2012 at 9:04 AM
    #1
    DueNorth

    DueNorth [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Member:
    #14934
    Messages:
    1,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 BSP TRD Sport DCSB 6sp
    Well before i damage any more of my instrument bezel I'd figure i should ask for some advice. :eek: I need to remove the instrument cluster so that I can install my hypertech inline speedo calibrator. The instructions call for removing two Phillips screws above the cluster but my truck has two plugs instead. Ive pried on them pretty hard with a couple very small screwdrivers but they're just not popping out. Any tips would be a appreciated before I get a little too rammy and wreck something. :eek:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jun 29, 2012 at 9:10 AM
    #2
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    9,717
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    You need to press the tiny button in the center to release the clip. It will then pop out.
     
  3. Jun 29, 2012 at 9:10 AM
    #3
    epa4wd

    epa4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Member:
    #14828
    Messages:
    2,315
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eduardo
    Vehicle:
    2019 SR
    Clazzio Seat Covers OR Wheels 40% tint Side Steps KC Fog Lights
    looks similar to the ones on the doors, have you tried pressing it first in the middle?
     
  4. Jun 29, 2012 at 9:12 AM
    #4
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    6,003
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Lockers, CBI/Relentless/Pelfrey armor, HAM radio
    x3. Press in the button in the middle to release the clip.

    You've deformed it pretty good, so hopefully that will still work.
     
  5. Jun 29, 2012 at 9:16 AM
    #5
    Aw9d

    Aw9d That one guy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Member:
    #66635
    Messages:
    18,577
    Gender:
    Male
    Az
    Everyone is right, press the tiny button in the middle and it will pop out and you can then take out the clip.
     
  6. Jun 29, 2012 at 9:18 AM
    #6
    DueNorth

    DueNorth [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Member:
    #14934
    Messages:
    1,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 BSP TRD Sport DCSB 6sp
    Unbelievable! Definitely a duh moment cuz I feel like an idiot lol. I'm glad i asked before damaging the edges any more than I already did. Thanks guys!
     
  7. Jun 29, 2012 at 9:20 AM
    #7
    DueNorth

    DueNorth [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Member:
    #14934
    Messages:
    1,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 BSP TRD Sport DCSB 6sp
    I did brieftly try pressing in the middle but I really don't force it down enough I guess..
     
  8. Jun 29, 2012 at 9:22 AM
    #8
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    9,717
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Glad you got it. Def better to ask first before application of brute force. :)
     
  9. Jun 29, 2012 at 1:20 PM
    #9
    DueNorth

    DueNorth [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Member:
    #14934
    Messages:
    1,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 BSP TRD Sport DCSB 6sp
    Thanks once again for the help. After removing the plugs it was all smooth sailing from there. I tend to get a little rammy, espcially when i'm a little flustered so i'm glad i asked before really damaging something badly. lol

    Hypertech speedo calibrator is installed! :D
     
  10. Jun 29, 2012 at 8:37 PM
    #10
    bjmoose

    bjmoose Bullwinkle J. Moose

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Member:
    #42529
    Messages:
    6,003
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    '11 Std Cab 4x4 5sp
    OME suspension, ARB Air Lockers, CBI/Relentless/Pelfrey armor, HAM radio
    Cool. I like having a speedometer "dead-on" after different size tires and regearing.

    My first one was "bad out of the box" though, so I ended up pulling it out and reinstalling it a couple times. :frusty:
     

Products Discussed in

To Top