1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Replaced tires and TPMS light is now on 2011 tacoma

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by nmhs, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. Sep 14, 2011 at 12:54 PM
    #1
    nmhs

    nmhs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Member:
    #58631
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    I swapped my 245's for 265's and kept the original rims and now my TPMS light stays on. I followed the instructions in the owners manual and now I'm wondering do I need to have the codes reset to get that light to go away.

    Any remedies to this problem?
     
  2. Sep 14, 2011 at 12:57 PM
    #2
    Blackshirts

    Blackshirts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Member:
    #32057
    Messages:
    3,908
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    Headlight mod, sound system. MB Motor Sport Rims. Black Tails. 5100's, 885, grill craft, Fogs, N-Fab Step Sides. BFG TKO Tires, Wet Oks, LED map lights and dome, LED gauge mod
    Prolly need them reset.
     
  3. Sep 14, 2011 at 12:58 PM
    #3
    Jester243

    Jester243 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7552
    Messages:
    9,393
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Doublecab 4x4 IRP
    Lifetime LED 70W headlights 10-8-14 (set #2) Sylvania Silverstar fogs, front side windows tinted 27% to match the others, added Tacomaworld.com sticker, suspension TSB as of 7-21-09, Devil Horns by Andres, BFG's, Alpine with Bluetooth and Ipod contols, Rear view mirror relocation bracket, Ultragauge...
    what is the tire pressure now and what was it before, did you reset the TPMS? Is it steady on or blinking?
     
  4. Sep 14, 2011 at 5:44 PM
    #4
    Tacoma Mike

    Tacoma Mike 41 Year Toyota/Chrysler Tech/ASE Master

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Member:
    #61230
    Messages:
    3,619
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 Double Cab V6
    Large Storage Box, 02610 intermittent switch swap, "Hot Wire" Power Outlets, DRL Shut Off, Disable Fob Beep, Disable Seat Belt Buzzers, Parking Light Mod, Battery Tender, 4 Leaf Spring Pack, Rear Headrest Removal, Custom Ultragauge Mount, Factory Tow Package (7 Pin)
    don't need codes reset.
    don't need to touch that set switch.
    might have to play with it now though.

    sounds like they broke a sensor.

    Jester needs answers.
     
  5. Sep 14, 2011 at 5:47 PM
    #5
    Sanders17

    Sanders17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Member:
    #49113
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Reed
    Livingston, TN
    Vehicle:
    Black Sand Pearl 08 TRD Offroad
    You probably need a new sensor as stated above. i had to replace one of mine when i did the same thing.
     
  6. Sep 15, 2011 at 10:29 AM
    #6
    nmhs

    nmhs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Member:
    #58631
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Should the business that replaced the tires be responsible for replacing this sensor or am I. I ask this because it was some yound kids that swapped the tires and they didn't even know how to take off the tire weight?

    Thanks
     
  7. Sep 15, 2011 at 10:34 AM
    #7
    RecklessTaco

    RecklessTaco Ainokea

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Member:
    #22290
    Messages:
    5,185
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Wellington, NV.
    Vehicle:
    08 Dbl Cab Prerunner TRD Sport Debadged
    ENGAGE LT KIT, King 2.5x 8" coilovers w/600lb 18"coil springs, a custom built leaf pack in the rear by OMD, and a custom built prerunner bumper by SurfInferno. 33x12.50-17General Grabbers on 17x9 Black RBP 93R rims, Volant CAI w/Amsoil dry filter, Volant Ram Air, Poweraid Throttle body spacer, URD MAF Calibrator, Flowmaster40, Uniden Bearcat cb w/ 4' fire fly firestick antenna, & a Icom V80 Handheld(Modded for race channels)
    I would say yes they should be responsible! Im rolling at 144,000 miles on my truck and have been through 4 sets of tires and three different sets of rims and have never had a problem with my TPMS:cool:
     
  8. Sep 15, 2011 at 10:42 AM
    #8
    Toyota Tech31

    Toyota Tech31 Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Member:
    #62769
    Messages:
    10,170
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Debary, Florida
    Vehicle:
    '08 SWB Bad ass SPORT
    Air Raid air intake, 40 Series Flowmaster Muffler, Front Turn Signals Now Turn And Park, KENWOOD HEAD UNIT W/ ALL KENWOOD SPEAKER UPGRADES AND 2-10" KENWOOD SUBS BEHIND BACK SEAT, Bilstein 5125'S In Rear W/ 1.5 AAL'S, Bilstein 5100 W/ Eibachs Up Front, LR Upper control arms, NFAB steps, Bruteforce Fab Hybrid front bumper, LP10000 SuperWinch, 2 Rigid Industries SRM-2's, OKLedlightbars 6 CREE LED lights as fogs, AVID RBG, 2 4" red ring HIDs mounted behind the grille.
    Absolutely, if it were my shop and we broke the sensor, we would replace it, we often have aftermarket tire shops send cars here b/c they broke one and need to replace it. Is the light blinking?
     
  9. Sep 15, 2011 at 4:46 PM
    #9
    nmhs

    nmhs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Member:
    #58631
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male

    The light blinks for one minute and then goes solid. Are they easy to break? These guys were trying to beat on the rim with a hammer to pull the weight off until I caught them and helped them understand how it comes off. Could that pounding break the TPMS? The tires are set at 40 PSI and the spare is 30 PSI.

    Any thoughts
     
  10. Sep 15, 2011 at 4:53 PM
    #10
    ajohnson

    ajohnson Glamour Shot

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Member:
    #16145
    Messages:
    6,552
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andy
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB TRD Sport
    Things and stuff and such
    :facepalm: I would have told them to put the f****** wheels back on, and gone to a different shop. Since the damage is done, I would go back and explain the situation and tell them to fix it.
     
  11. Sep 15, 2011 at 4:55 PM
    #11
    Tacoma Mike

    Tacoma Mike 41 Year Toyota/Chrysler Tech/ASE Master

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Member:
    #61230
    Messages:
    3,619
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 Double Cab V6
    Large Storage Box, 02610 intermittent switch swap, "Hot Wire" Power Outlets, DRL Shut Off, Disable Fob Beep, Disable Seat Belt Buzzers, Parking Light Mod, Battery Tender, 4 Leaf Spring Pack, Rear Headrest Removal, Custom Ultragauge Mount, Factory Tow Package (7 Pin)
    broken sensor.
    Take it back.

    They won't be able to activate the new sensor so you will have to go to a dealer to type in the new sensor codes.

    Have them replace it and write down the sensor code and then have them pay to have the sensors input into the ECU from the dealer. Or have the dealer do everything with a P.O. from the other place.
    We do this ALL the time.
     
  12. Sep 15, 2011 at 4:57 PM
    #12
    robsled

    robsled Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Member:
    #62719
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    r can saw
    Vehicle:
    11 SW Dbl cab PR
    Doesn't sound like a very good shop if they had "young kids" pounding on the wheel with a hammer to get the weights off! Just sayin'.....
     
  13. Sep 15, 2011 at 5:06 PM
    #13
    samsung

    samsung Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Member:
    #48601
    Messages:
    1,004
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Sugar Land, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2011 PreRunner doublecab TRD Offroad
    undercover lid/Ipod integration kit/Pop n lock/bed rug, fumoto drain valve, full piping Wet Okole covers, Blacked out badges, Lamin-X fog light cover yellow, window tint, ARB deluxe bumper with fog light kit,DSM UCA'S,3 support shrockworks sliders,complete OME lift with 886X coil and dakar leaf spring with 3 degree axle shims and center pin lenghtener,warn VR10000 winch,amsteele blue synthetic rope, daystar winch isolator, daystar delrin rollers, IPF 900xs Extreme Driving H9 Kit 900XSD (900XSD),Horn on fire with shot Penning,
    if the tpms lights weren't on when you took it in and it's on after they worked on it. It is the shops reponsibility to fix it. i had to replace one on my mazda3 when i had a blow out. i think the blow out broke my sensor in the process. i went to this website and bought one, it's been working since then. www.orange-electronics.com

    good luck
     
To Top