1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Reset computer

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by rhowell, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. Feb 16, 2013 at 7:00 PM
    #1
    rhowell

    rhowell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Member:
    #58877
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Indigo TRD Sport 4x4 DCSB
    -Leather with Heated seats -AFE cold Air Intake -DE-jr Rims -Upper and Lower grills from Black Diamond Fabrication -Light bar behind grill -Hella Black Magic Rallye 1000 lights. -OME lift cw Dakar leafs -LR Upper control arms -Rosen duel DVD headrests -Nfab steps -leer canopy
    Is there a way w/o disconnecting the battery.
     
  2. Feb 16, 2013 at 7:01 PM
    #2
    Ghost848

    Ghost848 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Member:
    #74480
    Messages:
    1,535
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Alberta,Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 V6 TRD OR Silver M6
    OME + Dakers, 285/75R16 Nitto Trail Grapplers, ARB Bumper, Columbia overland Dual battery, Super winch,CC stage 4 clutch, bestop supertop, URD TO bearing, BHLM headlights, Cruisin offroad rear bumper, Harrop front E-locker.
    ...no...?
     
  3. Feb 16, 2013 at 7:04 PM
    #3
    Bennett707

    Bennett707 Yeti Hunter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Member:
    #77793
    Messages:
    10,886
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    '04 V6 3.4 TRD
    zip ties and scotch tape (duct tape is too expensive)
    not really sure why you would want an alternative way? not like disconnecting the battery is difficult?

    did it not work?
     
  4. Feb 16, 2013 at 7:06 PM
    #4
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,493
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    ECU is under the glove box.
    You can always try unplugging the box.

    But on modern vehicles, unplugging the ECU will not always clear stored codes, and even if it does, it won't pass smog until it has cleared all buffers, which can take 2 or 3 weeks of normal driving.
     
  5. Feb 16, 2013 at 7:43 PM
    #5
    rhowell

    rhowell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Member:
    #58877
    Messages:
    623
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 Indigo TRD Sport 4x4 DCSB
    -Leather with Heated seats -AFE cold Air Intake -DE-jr Rims -Upper and Lower grills from Black Diamond Fabrication -Light bar behind grill -Hella Black Magic Rallye 1000 lights. -OME lift cw Dakar leafs -LR Upper control arms -Rosen duel DVD headrests -Nfab steps -leer canopy
    The installer lost the codes for my clarion and it could be a problem if I disconnect the battery. He entered the security code and did not write it in the book and kept no record at the dealership.
     
  6. Feb 16, 2013 at 7:57 PM
    #6
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,493
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    Going to have to figure it out sooner or later. That battery won't last forever. It's an '08 like mine, if it's still on the original battery, it's on borrowed time.

    Why do you need to reset the ECU?
     
  7. Feb 16, 2013 at 8:00 PM
    #7
    DoorDing

    DoorDing Thank you, Nancy Roman

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86445
    Messages:
    24,769
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB Off-Road 4WD
    Also, if it's a professional installer, I believe they should be able to contact Clarion with the serial number and get the codes for you. There's almost always some kind of workaround to deal with lost codes.
     
  8. Feb 16, 2013 at 8:08 PM
    #8
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,493
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    True... I remember the Kenwood deck in the Suburban I sold was something like "key on, hold "up" for 20 minutes, hold "down" for 1/2 second, read display, call Kenwood with reported numbers and receive code"
     
  9. Feb 16, 2013 at 8:14 PM
    #9
    DoorDing

    DoorDing Thank you, Nancy Roman

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Member:
    #86445
    Messages:
    24,769
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCSB Off-Road 4WD
To Top