1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Resetting tire pressure sensors

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by ap53, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. Sep 17, 2008 at 4:53 PM
    #1
    ap53

    ap53 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Member:
    #8464
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Art
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    I just installed new tires and I can't reset the sensors, I press the reset button light blinks 3 times and it stays on, Is there something that I’m missing?
     
  2. Sep 17, 2008 at 5:14 PM
    #2
    jolayiv

    jolayiv Carolina Alliance

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Member:
    #8757
    Messages:
    1,131
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New Bern NC
    Vehicle:
    07 DC TRD 4x4 Off-Road
    Revenge-Fab Sliders, AVS Vent Guards, Rear TSB, Hose clamp MOD, Locker MOD, Flowmaster 40 Series Delta Flow, Midland Radio, Wilson 1000 antenna, Rear Diff breather MOD, Weathertech liners, Maglite mount, Bed Divider, LEER 100XR, Pop&Lock
    I don't want to steer you in the wrong direction, so just check your manual out it has it in there. Are you having to run a different pressure in your new tires than your spare?
     
  3. Sep 17, 2008 at 5:27 PM
    #3
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Thor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,004
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    its either getting pressures out of spec w/ the stockers....or they broke one of the sensors...RTFM for light sequences to see what it is
     
  4. Sep 17, 2008 at 5:56 PM
    #4
    ap53

    ap53 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Member:
    #8464
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Art
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    All tires have 40 psi's I will check the spare, I’m thinking they broke the sensor too but I’m not sure. Is there a way that I can check with out taking the tires out.
     
  5. Sep 17, 2008 at 6:36 PM
    #5
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Thor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,004
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    i dont think so....but if they broke the sensor, its definately their place to replace it. i'd have toyota look at it under warranty, but if its broke, i'd make whoever changed them fix it if its broke
     
  6. Sep 18, 2008 at 4:06 PM
    #6
    ap53

    ap53 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Member:
    #8464
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Art
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    Spare tire had 20 psi’s I added air in to the spare, problem solved,
    Thanks,
     
  7. Sep 19, 2008 at 4:15 PM
    #7
    smoknsal

    smoknsal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Member:
    #932
    Messages:
    6
    My local tire shop has a tire sensor scanner, they told me exactly which one was bad. Now, I need to know, is there a difference between a steel or alloy wheel sensor.
     
To Top