1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Retain Factory Aux Input w/ Aftermarket Install?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ShaneG, Mar 15, 2013.

  1. Mar 15, 2013 at 9:10 PM
    #1
    ShaneG

    ShaneG [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Member:
    #58641
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shane
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    11 Prerunner SR5
    I'm installing a new Pioneer Avic X940BT into my 2011 PreRunner DC SR5. While I don't necessarily need the factory aux input located under the climate control panel, I would like to retain it for those rare occasions when I may want to use it, plus I hate having something installed that is inoperable. Is there a way to wire it so that it can still be utilized with the Pioneer, or do you lose the functionality once you pull the factory stereo?
     
  2. Mar 15, 2013 at 9:17 PM
    #2
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    I took it apart the aux input and when you slide the circuit board out of the switch face, it leaves a tiny hole behind the little rubber cover. From there, I bought a 3.5mm male to female cable. The male end plugs into the back of the pioneer, the female end got hot glued behind the aux input switch face. From the front, it looks OEM and works perfect. It can be undone and the circuit board slide back it to restore to stock if desired. And easier way would be to get a 3.5 mm male cable, cut off one end. You should have 2 wires inside (left and right) plus a "shield" for the common negative. Those 3 can be soldered onto the OEM aux input circuit board, or you can simply tap into the wires behind the aux input. At the time, I didn't have access to the during schematic to know which wires to tap, nor did I feel like testing the board for where to solder, so that's why I did it my way. Anything works though. Just really depends how electronically inclined you are I suppose.
     
  3. Mar 15, 2013 at 9:24 PM
    #3
    ShaneG

    ShaneG [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Member:
    #58641
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shane
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    11 Prerunner SR5
    Not as electronically inclined as you, I suppose. I'll take a look at it tomorrow in the daylight and make a determination one way or another. Appreciate the input.
     
  4. Mar 15, 2013 at 10:20 PM
    #4
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    Pop out your oem aux input, unplug the harness from the back, and ship it to me in a small padded envelope for cheap. It'll cost like $10 for a decent 3.5mm cable and another $10 at most for round trip shipping. I can build you the plug and ship it back so all you have to do is plug it I to the back of your radio and pop the aux back in.
     
  5. Mar 18, 2013 at 6:51 PM
    #5
    ShaneG

    ShaneG [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Member:
    #58641
    Messages:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shane
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    11 Prerunner SR5
    I'm good. Appreciate the offer, but it's not a big enough a deal for me to go through with the hassle. The aux input for the X940BT is attached to the usb input which now resides in the glovebox. Not that clean install I would have hoped for (usb and aux input in dash), but it will work. Thanks for the offer, bro.
     
  6. Mar 18, 2013 at 6:57 PM
    #6
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    Anytime you change your mind let me know
     
  7. Mar 19, 2013 at 5:24 PM
    #7
    j1999t

    j1999t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Member:
    #17165
    Messages:
    813
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Northern Colorado
    Vehicle:
    traded it in
    Use a Pac swi-jack or axxess awsc and the aux port (depending on aftermarket deck) works. i just installed an alpine ive-w535hd and used the axxess and it works like a charm (for my wifes jpod, i use mine hardwired usb)
     
  8. Mar 20, 2013 at 5:22 AM
    #8
    dtopgun515

    dtopgun515 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Member:
    #73285
    Messages:
    880
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Darrell
    Hey Yall Georgia
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Sport
    5100's up front set to 1.75, SCS Stealth 6 wheels, Nitto Terra Grappler AT's
    Got any pictures? I'm wanting to get a new hu and want to be able to keep that usb port functional as well.
     
  9. Mar 20, 2013 at 5:17 PM
    #9
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    The modules you mentioned are steering wheel control interfaces for aftermarket radios with a wired remote input. Completely unrelated to the aux and usb input.





    No pictures, it was done 3 years ago. But you said USB so I'm assuming up have a 12 or 13 with the USB/AUX combo correct? If so, I know the usb can be plugged right in with the correct male-female USB cable (I'm almost positive on that but can find out for sure). As far as the aux, I'll look into that as well. Havent integrated that on a 12+ yet.
     
  10. Mar 20, 2013 at 6:48 PM
    #10
    dtopgun515

    dtopgun515 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Member:
    #73285
    Messages:
    880
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Darrell
    Hey Yall Georgia
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Sport
    5100's up front set to 1.75, SCS Stealth 6 wheels, Nitto Terra Grappler AT's
    Yea I have a 13.
     
  11. Mar 21, 2013 at 1:27 AM
    #11
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,366
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    K I'll look into it and get back to you
     
  12. Aug 4, 2013 at 8:09 PM
    #12
    Voodoochild 2k9

    Voodoochild 2k9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Member:
    #76109
    Messages:
    217
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    TBD
    Undercover SE; DD Pioneer Radio
  13. Aug 4, 2013 at 8:11 PM
    #13
    Voodoochild 2k9

    Voodoochild 2k9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Member:
    #76109
    Messages:
    217
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    TBD
    Undercover SE; DD Pioneer Radio
    They also have a harness to allow use of the OEM USB location. Unfortunately I can't use the first harness because I got the PAC SWI instead of the Access.
     
  14. Aug 5, 2013 at 6:49 AM
    #14
    dtopgun515

    dtopgun515 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Member:
    #73285
    Messages:
    880
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Darrell
    Hey Yall Georgia
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD Sport
    5100's up front set to 1.75, SCS Stealth 6 wheels, Nitto Terra Grappler AT's
    My truck has a factory Aux/usb port combo. Can that harness keep both functional? I don't understand all this radio harness wiring etc stuff!
     
To Top