1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

reuse torque-to-yield head bolts?

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by sgtlethargic, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. Jun 14, 2008 at 10:56 PM
    #1
    sgtlethargic

    sgtlethargic [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Member:
    #7088
    Messages:
    28
    California
    Vehicle:
    '97 Forerunner, 3RZ, 5-speed
    Can I reuse them? A new set's a bit expensive. Any tips on checking them out such as measuring the length? Or, just buck up and buy a Fel-Pro set?

    Thanks,
    Kurt
     
  2. Jun 15, 2008 at 2:14 AM
    #2
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,254
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    I didn't know what those were and had to look it up....
    http://www.canadiandriver.com/articles/jk/040303.htm

    From what I'm seeing - and it makes perfect sense.... torque-to-yield bolts stretch to the appropriate torque value. They shouldn't be used again because they're already stretched and won't give you the proper torque the second time around.
     
  3. Jun 15, 2008 at 6:16 AM
    #3
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,148
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Janster is excatilly right! You have to bite the bullit and replace them. :)
     
To Top