1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Rigid lights switch to OEM style switch

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Parker93, Jan 5, 2020.

  1. Jan 5, 2020 at 2:23 PM
    #1
    Parker93

    Parker93 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Member:
    #279257
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Parker
    Utah
    I just put some ditch lights on my truck from rigid lights. They have the three wire connector to a rocker switch that illuminates when the lights are on. I’m kind of a novice when it comes to wiring and fuses and anything like that. But I just ordered a CH 4x4 switch that will go in one of the blank OEM slots. Does anyone know a simple easy way to wire the new switch? Thanks in advance for the help

    image.jpg
    image.jpg
     
  2. Jan 5, 2020 at 2:40 PM
    #2
    rnish

    rnish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129450
    Messages:
    4,821
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    Pro Suspension (Bilstein), OME Dakar (med), armor
    Did the lights come with a relay if so should be the same as the stock switch. If not then you can install a relay with the new switch. If you don’t want to install a relay then you need to be sure the ditch lights do not exceed the rating of the new switch.
     
  3. Jan 5, 2020 at 8:21 PM
    #3
    Parker93

    Parker93 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Member:
    #279257
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Parker
    Utah
    Gotcha. Like I mentioned before I don’t really know much about this stuff. I’m not 100% sure what a relay is and what it does and how to add it ha ha. So any specifics on how to make it work would be much appreciated.
     
  4. Jan 5, 2020 at 8:26 PM
    #4
    Shellshock

    Shellshock King Shit of Turd Island

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Member:
    #170338
    Messages:
    15,493
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD OR MT QUICKSAND
    You connect the 3 wires from the harness to the 3 wires on your switch leads (wire 3 Red 2 is unused)
     
  5. Jan 5, 2020 at 8:35 PM
    #5
    Shellshock

    Shellshock King Shit of Turd Island

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Member:
    #170338
    Messages:
    15,493
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD OR MT QUICKSAND
    This is from the rigid instructions for my duallys.

    image.jpg
     
  6. Jan 5, 2020 at 10:01 PM
    #6
    WormSquirts

    WormSquirts Armageddon

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Member:
    #172583
    Messages:
    1,411
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Braeden
    BC
    Vehicle:
    SWB 2006 DCLB
    I would wire the two red wires on the ch4x4 switch together. One is technically for your dash illumination, but if you're not comfortable with wiring, you can just wire the two red ones together and have both switch LEDs come on when the button is pressed.

    Edit:
    Yours should go
    Switch - lights
    Black - black x2
    Red X2 - red/black
    Green - red
     
  7. Jan 5, 2020 at 10:11 PM
    #7
    computeruser6

    computeruser6 Nuclear Janitor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Member:
    #152306
    Messages:
    1,965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dirk
    Escondido
    Vehicle:
    2008 Regular Cab Tundra
    King 2.5 coilovers Nitto Exo Grapplers
    The CH4x4 switch is a solid-state switch that is only designed to pass a maximum of 3A. If the harness from Rigid is just for ditch lights it probably did not come with a relay. It would be easier to get a different harness than re-wire the one from Rigid (here's one example).
     
  8. Jan 5, 2020 at 10:15 PM
    #8
    4x4Runner

    4x4Runner Now with more Oi Vey! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    24,106
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Not north, not south, not west, mostly east
    Vehicle:
    1WD
    nuttin fancy
    I would highly recommend a relay be installed along with the lights. The aftermarket switches aren’t designed to take that much current running through them.

    This.
     
  9. Jan 5, 2020 at 10:34 PM
    #9
    windsor

    windsor Just a guy

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Member:
    #145322
    Messages:
    6,500
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Myrtle Creek OR
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tacoma Super Duty
    Canopy, fitted seat covers.
    Rewire it. If relay is put under the dash, plain relay will be fine. If relay is put in engine compartment, use a weatherproof relay.
    Relay wiring diagram. If 5 wire relay, cap 87a wire with marine heat shrink, or remove wire entirely. If 4 wire relay, this step is not needed.
    downloadfile-9.jpg
     
  10. Jan 5, 2020 at 10:39 PM
    #10
    Shellshock

    Shellshock King Shit of Turd Island

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Member:
    #170338
    Messages:
    15,493
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD OR MT QUICKSAND
    All my rigid lights have come with relays :notsure:

    but yes, if there isn’t one, get one.
     
  11. Jan 5, 2020 at 10:44 PM
    #11
    tedusmc1345

    tedusmc1345 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Member:
    #309338
    Messages:
    331
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    ted
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tacoma Sport 4x4
    You should install a relay or inline fuse. Always you can get wiring harness from Amazon for 12.99 with remote control
     

Products Discussed in

To Top