1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Rubber strips on access cab folddown seats

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by cappo, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. Feb 3, 2009 at 11:20 AM
    #1
    cappo

    cappo [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Member:
    #6153
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 TRD Off Road
    Anyone else having issues with the rubber strips on the fold down seats? This actually started peeling about 3 months from when I bought it.
    I asked the dealer to look at it when it was getting its 5k mile service. But they wanted to keep it all day in order to "look" into it.
    I haven't taken it back since I havent needed service. The strip wont stay down no matter what, keeps curling up.

    I know I can probably fix it with double sided tape, but just wondering if anyone has gotten the dealer to replace it.

    IMGP2157 (Small).jpg
     
  2. Feb 3, 2009 at 11:40 AM
    #2
    Krazie Sj

    Krazie Sj Resident Jackass

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9849
    Messages:
    13,686
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Power Serge
    LV-426 (Acheron)
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off Road 4x4
    Borla Catback Exhaust, Airaid Short Ram Intake, 285x75R16 Mickey Thompson MTZs, 16" Konig Countersteer rims, ARB Bumper, All Pro LT w/Walker Evan Shocks front and back, All Pro expedition leaf pack, 10,000lb Superwinch, Intake Manifold Spacer, Bed Rack with ARB RTT, Rotopack and Hi Lift mounted, Husky Liner mats and an air freshener from 1995.
    Wow, no. No issues here. Looks like that could be solved with proper application of a hair dryer and some Krazyglue/Epoxy.
     
  3. Feb 3, 2009 at 11:44 AM
    #3
    Camppentaco

    Camppentaco Mommy says I'm special

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Member:
    #12473
    Messages:
    248
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Camp Pen, Ca
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner SR5
    Duel Flowmaster, 265/75/16 BFG M/T MK2
    I'm not even sure that I have the rubber strips on my covers... Hmmmm :confused: Maybe it came after 06.

    If I do then I haven't had any problems with them.
     
  4. Feb 3, 2009 at 12:19 PM
    #4
    Dustin03

    Dustin03 The Cooler King

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9043
    Messages:
    271
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    Expeditionary vehicle in training.
    Old Man Emu 2.5" lift, brush guard (about to be changed), grey-wire mod, custom bed mounts for 4 jerrycans, custom survival box, maglite mount, KC Dayliters.
    x2. Looks like a perfect place for a skillful application of some epoxy.
     
  5. Feb 3, 2009 at 3:03 PM
    #5
    surfsupl

    surfsupl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4161
    Messages:
    8,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gregg
    WestCoast
    Vehicle:
    I DONT CARE IF IT'S A RE-POST
    Rear Diff Breather~ 5100's ~Fog Light Anytime~Tint~TRD Seat Covers~Weather Tech's~Pioneer H.U.~Lift~Eibach Springs~LED's......blah...blah...blah
    I don't have a problem w/mine. I think that's due to purchasing a husky liner for the back area of the cab. I think it was my 1st purchase after I brought the truck home. Use some gorilla glue on that and the get a husky liner. They are great.
     
  6. Feb 3, 2009 at 6:49 PM
    #6
    aaronk

    aaronk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5180
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2009 Dbl Cab V6 TRD
    I had one come loose. I had a big box of frozen goods on top of the rubber strip though and when I pulled the box off a bit of the strip came with. After it warmed back up a bit it stuck right back on and no problems since.
     
To Top