1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Running Multiple Off-Road Lights off the same relay

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by acdronin, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. Jun 20, 2012 at 11:12 PM
    #1
    acdronin

    acdronin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    I have one set of KC's outfitted with 130 watt halogens running off of one relay, it's not wired to the headlight circuit at all, it's completely separate. My Question is, I have another set of lights that are going to be re-fitted with 130 watters and can i run all four off of the same relay (and therefore, the same switch)?

    EDIT: I am thinking of running a new hot wire from the relay to the second set, I am not going to daisy-chain them.
     
  2. Jun 21, 2012 at 12:09 AM
    #2
    Hii

    Hii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Member:
    #70286
    Messages:
    218
    Gender:
    Male
    HIDs FTW
    would only use 140watts for all 4 lights and be brighter

    Pulling 520 watts on 1 switch and adding that all to your battery is a huge load.
     
  3. Jun 21, 2012 at 12:11 AM
    #3
    Hii

    Hii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Member:
    #70286
    Messages:
    218
    Gender:
    Male
    That's a little more than 43 amps... Hope you're planning on stepping up your alternator if you're going to be running (4) 130w lights
     
  4. Jun 21, 2012 at 12:39 AM
    #4
    Twistedfreedom

    Twistedfreedom welcome to the incredibuild

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Member:
    #63386
    Messages:
    8,807
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    incredibuild in progress
    modded the F*ck out
    I run 6 100w lights, use separate relays trust me unless you like electrical fires.
     
  5. Jun 21, 2012 at 1:08 AM
    #5
    ProForce

    ProForce Thin Blue Line

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24205
    Messages:
    5,410
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    SoCal-Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 MGM TRD Sport DCSB 4.0 Auto 2wd
    Too many to list. See build page. Link in signature
    I didnt do the math, but if this is true about that being 43 amps, then no, 1 relay is not enough. A standard 5 pin automotive relay is rated for 40 amps max. I just installed offroad lights (2 led and 2 hid) on another members truck, each light pulls less than 5 amps each and I still used 2 relays.

    and what you said about daisy chain them... im a little confused by what your trying to say, but to clarify for you, you cant power both relays with 1 wire. You need 2 seperate power wires. Otherwise your wires will melt and ground out and fry your battery and lights, or just catch on fire.
     
  6. Jun 21, 2012 at 1:13 AM
    #6
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,061
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    No, you can't run the new lights off the same relay.

    You need a completely separate circuit for the new lights. Start with a fuse holder at the battery, run a new wire to a new relay, then wire your lights. Just like the existing set.

    You can run more than one relay off of the same switch though. There isn't any load running through the switch. A relay's trigger coil isn't going to pull more than half an amp.
     
  7. Jun 21, 2012 at 1:16 AM
    #7
    CayucosTacoma

    CayucosTacoma Just think outside the Yota

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Member:
    #74580
    Messages:
    4,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Luis Obispo/Santa Barbara CA
    Vehicle:
    1998 Tacoma, 4x4 5 Speed, V6
    Specs in the Build Thread
    I currently have 4 55w HID hella 500 and i used 2 relays. Each relay has its own ground, own draw from the battery and own leads to the lights. However you can run both trigger wires to the same switch. In your case i would use multiple relays
     
  8. Jun 21, 2012 at 6:24 AM
    #8
    acdronin

    acdronin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .

    I was referring to running the hot wires (load), all together to the relay.

    Thanks everyone for the responses, i kinda thought there should be a second relay. Since their is no load to the switch I can split that wire to go to both relays then I would assume.
    Hids would be nice, but not something I am getting into at the moment.
     
  9. Jun 21, 2012 at 6:33 AM
    #9
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,979
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You can use the switch as the trigger power for 2 relays. The load to the lights shouldn't be running through the switch, it should be fused power from the battery to the relay, then to the lights.
     
  10. Jun 21, 2012 at 6:34 AM
    #10
    acdronin

    acdronin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    Yep, that's how the existing pair is wired up.
     
  11. Jun 21, 2012 at 6:38 AM
    #11
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,979
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You're good to go then, just add the second relay and give the guy in front of you a sunburn on the back of his neck :thumbsup:
     
  12. Jun 21, 2012 at 8:06 PM
    #12
    acdronin

    acdronin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    lol, actually i want to read the thoughts in their heads
     
  13. Jun 22, 2012 at 9:41 AM
    #13
    Rellik01

    Rellik01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Member:
    #54920
    Messages:
    838
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Windermere, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Sport 4x4 White
    Bull Guard powder coated white, chrome aftermarket tail lights,Led interior lights, Factory roof rack, Bug deflector, Factory tow package, Garmin GPS, Viper 5901 alarm with auto start, Weather tech window wind deflectors, , 3" Tube steps powder coated white, CB Radio, Radio Scanner.
    How many lights can the battery and alternator power?
     
  14. Jun 22, 2012 at 9:46 AM
    #14
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,979
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    Quantity of lights has nothing to do with it, it's the number of amps that the system produces in excess of what's required to run the vehicle. That being said, I have no idea how much excess power the Tacoma produces.
     
  15. Jun 24, 2012 at 10:11 PM
    #15
    acdronin

    acdronin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    Thanks to everyone's input. I added the two extra' lights, now pushing four 130 watters off the same switch. I had the KC's rewired with 14 GA instead of 16 and I did the same to the new ones. I added a relay that has two hot blades for the lights and ran 14GA grounds as well. No wiring is hot and it's bright as hell.

    [​IMG]

    Btw, all the wiring is now neatly zip-tied together

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Jun 24, 2012 at 10:20 PM
    #16
    CayucosTacoma

    CayucosTacoma Just think outside the Yota

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Member:
    #74580
    Messages:
    4,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Luis Obispo/Santa Barbara CA
    Vehicle:
    1998 Tacoma, 4x4 5 Speed, V6
    Specs in the Build Thread
    Looks good. Glad you went with 2 relays
     
  17. Jun 24, 2012 at 10:20 PM
    #17
    acdronin

    acdronin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    Thanks! Me too
     
  18. Jun 24, 2012 at 10:22 PM
    #18
    CayucosTacoma

    CayucosTacoma Just think outside the Yota

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Member:
    #74580
    Messages:
    4,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Luis Obispo/Santa Barbara CA
    Vehicle:
    1998 Tacoma, 4x4 5 Speed, V6
    Specs in the Build Thread
    how bright are they compared to headlights?
     
  19. Jun 24, 2012 at 10:26 PM
    #19
    acdronin

    acdronin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    Stupid bright, i was facing a dark area and with the grillers on i turned on my brights, the only way i could tell my brights were on is that the brights had more lateral light than the grillers
     
  20. Jul 1, 2012 at 9:12 AM
    #20
    acdronin

    acdronin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Member:
    #47036
    Messages:
    19,686
    Gender:
    Male
    .
    Spoke to the dealership yesterday and talked about the power for these lights, they said the stock alternator (with tow package), puts out 130 amps. he said I should upgrade that to handle the heavier load of the lights.
     
To Top