1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Samsung Vibrant: WiFi Question!

Discussion in 'Technology' started by TRDSport2006, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. Nov 9, 2010 at 8:36 PM
    #1
    TRDSport2006

    TRDSport2006 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18392
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    02 Corolla
    I'm going to buy a used (but practically brand new) Samsung Vibrant. I called T-Mobile asking if I ABSOLUTELY need a data plan to have this phone. I usually use WiFi with my unlocked iPhone, and it doesn't charge me for anything. The sales rep told me even in order to use the WiFi feature, I would need a data plan because it senses the use of internet through WiFi. Is this true? Or is it just a scheme to get me to pay more money a month?
     
  2. Nov 9, 2010 at 9:21 PM
    #2
    enigma429ad

    enigma429ad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Member:
    #41215
    Messages:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Olive Branch, MS
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner SR5 DC LB
    just a scheme. there's even apps to shut off data access if you aren't on wifi.
     
  3. Nov 9, 2010 at 9:25 PM
    #3
    ChompsterTacoma

    ChompsterTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Member:
    #36975
    Messages:
    233
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chompster
    Fresno,Ca
    Vehicle:
    TRD offroad 4x4
    Bone Stock
    ^^true dat!! Wifi does not need plan. Just stick a sim card in and your good to go.
     
  4. Nov 9, 2010 at 9:48 PM
    #4
    TRDSport2006

    TRDSport2006 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18392
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    02 Corolla
    Sweet, I did a little reading and it seems to be just a money making scheme. I'm picking one up this week, thanks. :)
     
  5. Nov 9, 2010 at 9:48 PM
    #5
    CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,864
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
    i work for pda support for tmo. you'll be fine without the data plan. but no data = no google. so no market apps.
     
  6. Nov 10, 2010 at 5:13 PM
    #6
    TRDSport2006

    TRDSport2006 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18392
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    02 Corolla
    I can't even use wifi for android market?
     
  7. Nov 10, 2010 at 6:31 PM
    #7
    CopDoctor

    CopDoctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30474
    Messages:
    1,864
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 335i
    BMS Intake, JB4 chip, Plastidip everywhere
    no sir. i remember back in the day of the g1 there was a root hack that allowed you to log in via wifi, but haven't seen one for the vibrant (haven't looked)
     
To Top