1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sanity Check - 2012 Regular Cab Base Backup Camera Mod

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by SixtyDashOne, Aug 5, 2016.

  1. Aug 5, 2016 at 12:23 PM
    #1
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
    hey guys.. I want to install a backup camera in my tailgate handle of my Regular Cab. which has no pre-wired anything for a backup camera, I made up a little drawing as to how I think its wired, and just want somebody to check my wiring and see if it makes any sense, thanks!


    camera.jpg
     
  2. Aug 5, 2016 at 12:29 PM
    #2
    mahaloTaco

    mahaloTaco TcBob's BFFL

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Member:
    #158370
    Messages:
    3,321
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Max
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    13 RC 4x4 S/C'd lockers 4.88's Airflow Snorkel McNeil Glass
    Sup dude, I don't think our head units are able to display any live camera feeds in the radio.

    I have the camera installed (by me) in my 2013 RC 4x4 Tacoma. I tried tapping into reverse lights, I tried the pin method on the back of the radio. I tried it all. this guy (I forgot his name)-Tacoprerunner XX or something did the rear view camera in the rear view mirror. I have the temp/compass in my mirror already so I didn't want to go that route.
     
  3. Aug 5, 2016 at 12:37 PM
    #3
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
    Hello. As per the drawing, it states that its a pioneer aftermarket touchscreen
     
    jmaack likes this.
  4. Aug 5, 2016 at 12:43 PM
    #4
    ExplorHer

    ExplorHer Question Authority

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Member:
    #185889
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Near Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2016 AC, 4cyl, 5MT, 4x4, SRUP with some junk.
  5. Aug 6, 2016 at 4:10 AM
    #5
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
    Interesting. I originally thought that might be the case, but i wasnt sure

    Any other input fellers?
     
  6. Aug 8, 2016 at 6:11 AM
    #6
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
  7. Aug 16, 2016 at 4:47 AM
    #7
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
    last try before I scrap this idea, haven't found much else online :(
     
  8. Aug 16, 2016 at 7:34 AM
    #8
    LivinLoud

    LivinLoud Miller Latte Advocate

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Member:
    #150354
    Messages:
    2,448
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    TJ
    Western mass
    Vehicle:
    2017 Sport DCSB Barcelona Red
    265/70R17 BFG KO2 on mayhem wheels, pro grille, 5100s wrapped in 887s, Icon AAL, KC 30”
    @Blais03 help this dude out. I know you did yours differently
     
  9. Aug 16, 2016 at 8:11 AM
    #9
    Blais03

    Blais03 Guess I'll bring a spare wheel bearing...

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Member:
    #169518
    Messages:
    4,251
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Easthampton MA
    Vehicle:
    '08 Reg. Cab 4WD 5-speed
    No prob @LivinLoud. My cameras signal goes through the RCA to the radio. The cameras power wire goes to the reverse light power wire. the ground wire can be grounded to any ground (i used the reverse light ground wire) and thats all there is! i didnt have to screw around with a reverse signal gear wire inside the truck. My radio (also a pioneer touch screen) automatically goes to the back up camera when the camera gets power (when reverse lights are on it gets power). Also, Make sure your camera is in the correct RCA input on the radio. if your reverse lights are on the camera should be on. Hope this helps.
     
  10. Aug 16, 2016 at 8:25 AM
    #10
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
    Well thank you for the reply. Appreciate it. I guess i am just a little confused of how the radio "knows" when the car is in reverse? The rca cable carries a video input, no signals. There IS a reverse wire on the pioneer head unit harness, but since my regular cab has no reverse camera on it from the factory, it was never hooked up and is just hanging there hehe. Hence the confusion
     
  11. Aug 16, 2016 at 8:31 AM
    #11
    Blais03

    Blais03 Guess I'll bring a spare wheel bearing...

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Member:
    #169518
    Messages:
    4,251
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Easthampton MA
    Vehicle:
    '08 Reg. Cab 4WD 5-speed
    when the RCA has a signal, the display automatically changes to the back up camera. Thats how mine works anyway and mine is also a pinoneer
     
  12. Aug 16, 2016 at 9:18 AM
    #12
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
    well I certainly hope that is correct! I can test it with the wires loose real quick and see how it goes,., thanks for the tips guys!
     
  13. Aug 16, 2016 at 11:39 AM
    #13
    Blais03

    Blais03 Guess I'll bring a spare wheel bearing...

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Member:
    #169518
    Messages:
    4,251
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Easthampton MA
    Vehicle:
    '08 Reg. Cab 4WD 5-speed
    If you have any problems let me know I can try to help.
     
  14. Aug 16, 2016 at 11:59 AM
    #14
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
    i appreciate your efforts to help a brotha!
     
  15. Aug 16, 2016 at 12:27 PM
    #15
    ExplorHer

    ExplorHer Question Authority

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Member:
    #185889
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Near Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2016 AC, 4cyl, 5MT, 4x4, SRUP with some junk.
    When there is no power going to the camera, the camera does not output video.
    So when you have the camera powered off the reverse lights, and you put your truck in reverse, then the camera powers up and outputs video to the head unit. The Pioneer senses video coming in from the RCA, and puts it on the screen.
     
  16. Aug 16, 2016 at 12:28 PM
    #16
    LivinLoud

    LivinLoud Miller Latte Advocate

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Member:
    #150354
    Messages:
    2,448
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    TJ
    Western mass
    Vehicle:
    2017 Sport DCSB Barcelona Red
    265/70R17 BFG KO2 on mayhem wheels, pro grille, 5100s wrapped in 887s, Icon AAL, KC 30”
    @SixtyDashOne Glad to help out, my brother ( @Blais03 ) did his differently than I did mine, as he was in the same situation as you with no factory camera. We both run pioneer touch screens, the only thing that may be a bit finicky, is when you hook up the parking brake wire to a switch, if you plan on trying to wire the head unit to play video while in motion. Pioneer units ask for a weird sequence of "on off on" to be able to view video. If you get to the point where you want to do that shoot one of us a PM or tag us in here!
     
  17. Aug 16, 2016 at 12:31 PM
    #17
    ExplorHer

    ExplorHer Question Authority

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Member:
    #185889
    Messages:
    632
    Gender:
    Male
    Near Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2016 AC, 4cyl, 5MT, 4x4, SRUP with some junk.
    I too recommend the bypass.
     
  18. Aug 16, 2016 at 1:03 PM
    #18
    Nickel

    Nickel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Member:
    #91659
    Messages:
    1,347
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Diego
    Rio Rancho New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2013 T/X TRD
    does turning tires to black wall out count? How bout added snug top rebel.
    You might want to run power to the camera from a switch also, so you could view the camera at any time, not just in reverse.
    I think you could turn it on either way with a relay that allows two inputs.
    Just an idea.
     
  19. Aug 16, 2016 at 1:15 PM
    #19
    SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Member:
    #24215
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Collegeville, PA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Double Cab TRD Sport
    Interesting. I have the pioneer parking brake wire wired to a switch, but i do not wish to engage the camera when moving. I just want it on as "normal" (when i go into reverse).
     
  20. Aug 16, 2016 at 2:59 PM
    #20
    LivinLoud

    LivinLoud Miller Latte Advocate

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Member:
    #150354
    Messages:
    2,448
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    TJ
    Western mass
    Vehicle:
    2017 Sport DCSB Barcelona Red
    265/70R17 BFG KO2 on mayhem wheels, pro grille, 5100s wrapped in 887s, Icon AAL, KC 30”
    Im sorry if my post was unclear, what i meant was when you are moving you could play videos (DVDs) if properly wired. I wasnt reffering to the backup camera. Otherwise you need to have the truck stopped, and do a parking brake sequence to make it properly play the videos (DVDs)
     

Products Discussed in

To Top