1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sat. radio help

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Crowe07rr, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. Dec 23, 2010 at 3:20 PM
    #1
    Crowe07rr

    Crowe07rr [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Member:
    #46749
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan
    North Carolina
    I got my truck and it has the sat/am button on the head unit and the antenna pre wired from factory but push the button and there is only am radio. i have heard you have to buy an additional part to get it to work but the other day i asked the dealership what i needed he said he thought 2010 and 11 was ready to go and didnt need anything and all would have to do is subscribe just wonderig if anyone knows from experience
     
  2. Dec 23, 2010 at 3:29 PM
    #2
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Do you have an antenna on the back of the roof?

    If so, all you need is the tuner and "fit kit" They will run you about $300 total.

    Here are the part numbers:
    Fit Kit: PT546-35090
    Tuner: 86180-0W031

    And attached below the install instructions. You don't even have to take the dash off. It took me about 30 mins to install.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Dec 23, 2010 at 3:30 PM
    #3
    Firetech

    Firetech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Member:
    #29474
    Messages:
    118
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ralph
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2010 SR5 Off Road
    No, you need the receive, controll unit and an extenion cable for the antenna. About 500 bucks more!
     
  4. Dec 23, 2010 at 3:34 PM
    #4
    Crowe07rr

    Crowe07rr [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Member:
    #46749
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan
    North Carolina
    yeah its on the roof from the factory. thanks for the help
     
  5. Dec 23, 2010 at 3:37 PM
    #5
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    What parts are you talking about exactly? I did mine for $300 using the two parts listed above.

    What do you mean by "receiver" and "control unit"?
     
  6. Dec 23, 2010 at 3:39 PM
    #6
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    No problem.
     
  7. Dec 23, 2010 at 4:16 PM
    #7
    JTanner

    JTanner Misplaced Texan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Member:
    #41958
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    Temecula, CA
    Vehicle:
    09 DC TRD OR MGM
    stock..for now
    I thought if you had it on the unit you were good to go, guess you learn something everyday. I have the JBL sys. and just had to activate. But even before activation you still have access to the 1 or 2 sat stations that just advertise the XM. Guess you are missing some parts... Tell the dealer you were mislead and are gonna need them to go ahead and throw those babies in there..lol.:D
     
  8. Dec 23, 2010 at 5:37 PM
    #8
    Crowe07rr

    Crowe07rr [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Member:
    #46749
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nathan
    North Carolina
    that would be nice afraid i dont have that luck on my side lol
     
  9. Dec 23, 2010 at 5:55 PM
    #9
    hendooman

    hendooman The Stroker Ace

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14421
    Messages:
    3,040
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO 4Runner
To Top