1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ScanGauge II - A/F sensor

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by PJED, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. Jan 30, 2008 at 7:02 PM
    #1
    PJED

    PJED [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Member:
    #4447
    Messages:
    5
    Vehicle:
    01 4x4 V6
    I just got a ScanGauge II and am trying to get the data off of my Bank 1 Sensor 1 A/F sensor. The codes from SGII's web site are not working or something else is going on. Bank 1 Sensor 2 codes work. Has anyone else tried this. It seems to work on a friends T-100, just not on my 01 Taco.
    I have been getting a P1135 code so I changed the B1 S1 sensor but am still not getting any readings at all from the SGII on the new sensor. Bad wiring? I get 13 volts from the sensor wires.
    Also, if anyone else has any other cool tricks with the SCII please pass them on.

    Cheers!
     
  2. Jan 31, 2008 at 2:46 AM
    #2
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,669
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    Trying to understand what you were explaining.....and/or progression.

    You couldn't get any readings from the B1 S1 off your SGII
    You had a P1135 trouble code
    You changed the B1 S1
    You still can't get any readings from the B1 S1 off the SGII

    If this is accurate ...
    After you installed the new B1 S1 - has the trouble code come back or no?
    If you didn't get any readings on the SGII before the new B1 S1 was installed and you're still not getting them now, I wouldn't blame it on the new B1 S1 or the installation. Drive it around a bit - if the code doesn't come back, then you're probably good. As for the SG II readings....it's probably just a fluke and its having trouble communicating or getting the information from the computer.
     
  3. Jan 31, 2008 at 7:28 AM
    #3
    PJED

    PJED [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Member:
    #4447
    Messages:
    5
    Vehicle:
    01 4x4 V6
    Janster, thanks for your reply. You are understanding perfectly. No check engine light yet. I have only driven it a few miles though. Should come on today if it is going to. I was trying to jump the gun and see if anyone else has tried using the SGII to get the sensor data to see if this IS just a fluke. I got a little worried when the new sensor still did not give any readings. I will give it at least until the SGII gives me the "Ready" message and post back with saying it must be a fluke.
     
  4. Jan 31, 2008 at 3:20 PM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,669
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    Your scangauge gave you a computer code before the check engine light came on? That's pretty cool.

    I'm still learning to play with this scangauge myself. Neat gadget and definately come in handy. I haven't messed with any O2 sensor stuff (yet).

    Good Luck! I hope it works out for ya!
     
  5. Jan 31, 2008 at 8:10 PM
    #5
    Spyder327

    Spyder327 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1677
    Messages:
    204
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 X-Runner
    Aquamist 2D meth/water injection kit, URD Exhaust, DT Long Tube Headers, Hood Struts, and lots of other miscellaneous stuff...
    Scanners are capable of reading soft codes (codes they do not trigger a CEL right away but are stored in the computer). Most codes work on a 2-trip detection logic, which means when the computer sees it once, it stores the code but waits for the same condition to happen again before triggering the CEL. Since scantools read what is stored in the ECU, they can see all that.
     
  6. Feb 1, 2008 at 2:07 AM
    #6
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,669
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    That's really cool! I didn't know it'd look for 'soft codes'
    It's worth checking that screen once in awhile just to see what's going on.

    :thumbsup:
    All the more reason I'm glad I bought the SGII.
     
  7. Feb 1, 2008 at 7:10 AM
    #7
    PJED

    PJED [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Member:
    #4447
    Messages:
    5
    Vehicle:
    01 4x4 V6
    The SGII only gave me the code after the engine light came on. Maybe sooner, but I did not check then. Also, I tried the SGII on a friends 03 taco and it also did not give any S1B1 info. Maybe I will try programming different codes to see if I can get it to work. Now I am just curious.
     
To Top