1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ScanGauge II firmware update needed?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by mx07gt, Aug 11, 2019.

  1. Aug 11, 2019 at 6:24 AM
    #1
    mx07gt

    mx07gt [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Member:
    #294837
    Messages:
    10
    First of all let me introduce myself to the site. I've been on the hunt for a Tacoma for almost a year, and a week ago I finally found one that fit almost every need I was looking for (2014, low miles, 4x4, sport, shortbed, doublecab). So im the happy owner of a new (to me) Tacoma.

    I had this scangauge in my old commuter workhorse, but I bought it almost 7 years ago. Do I need to update the firmware for it to work properly with my Tacoma? The current firmware is 4.3.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. Aug 11, 2019 at 6:28 AM
    #2
    rnish

    rnish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129450
    Messages:
    2,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    Pro Suspension (Bilstein), OME Dakar (med), armor
    Try it without the update. The truck is 5 years old so relatively your Scangauge isn’t that out of date.
     
  3. Aug 11, 2019 at 6:39 AM
    #3
    mx07gt

    mx07gt [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Member:
    #294837
    Messages:
    10
    Waiting on the replacement cable to come in. I thought I'd ask to see if I could be proactive and send it in right away
     
  4. Aug 11, 2019 at 11:19 AM
    #4
    Muddinfun

    Muddinfun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Member:
    #216500
    Messages:
    4,420
    The only real thing you're missing is the ability to show TPMS pressures. Not a super big deal because it's a pain to switch between different things showing on the screen. I run 2 Scangauges. One has the latest firmware. The other does not. Here's a pic. I don't have all my sensors installed in this pic.



    IMG_2088.jpg
     
    mx07gt [OP] likes this.
  5. Aug 11, 2019 at 4:57 PM
    #5
    Shaggs

    Shaggs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Member:
    #73708
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2012 DoubleCab Long Bed 4x4 TRD Magnetic Gray
    I have never updated my scangauge II but always wanted the transmission temp sensor to read but have never been able to set the X gauge
     
  6. Aug 12, 2019 at 5:13 AM
    #6
    mx07gt

    mx07gt [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Member:
    #294837
    Messages:
    10

    Wow thanks for clarifying that. It would be nice to be able to read TPMS, but I'm not too concerned about it. I think I'd only do it if I decide to run two gauges like you.
     
    Muddinfun likes this.
  7. Sep 10, 2019 at 7:15 PM
    #7
    Shaggs

    Shaggs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Member:
    #73708
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2012 DoubleCab Long Bed 4x4 TRD Magnetic Gray
     
  8. Sep 11, 2019 at 4:56 AM
    #8
    DesertRatliff

    DesertRatliff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Member:
    #70618
    Messages:
    945
    Gender:
    Male
    Durango, CO
    Vehicle:
    Mas Tacos Por Favor
    IMHO I love the TPMS sensor read out on my SGII. I don't leave it on the display all the time but scroll through pushing the lower left button and read the tire pressure while I let the truck warm up a couple seconds in the morning. Once I get confirmation pressure is where I want it on all 4 tires, I don't need to scroll through again til the next day. Beats the monthly check I used to do with a pressure gauge and is way more accurate.

    For the record, I sent in an old SCII to Linear Logic. They updated the firmware, put it in a new case and shipped it back to me in a few days, all for around $25 if I remember right. Definitely worth it to have TPMS and tranny temp readout.
     
  9. Sep 11, 2019 at 6:12 AM
    #9
    MDub07

    MDub07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    Member:
    #232537
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    KS
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma AC 4WD SR5 SSM
    Their customer support is excellent based on my experience with them. Contact them and see if they can help. Forum member "Linear Logic LLC" has helped myself and others in the past.
    I had purchased a new Scangauge II from Advance Auto Parts in 2018 and it unfortunately was an older firmware model and needed an update to display the transmission temps.
    I posted about it here, they replied a short time later and instructed me to send an E-mail to XGauge@Linear-Logic.com
    They sent me a new unit with correct firmware with a prepaid label to return mine.
     
  10. Sep 13, 2019 at 2:54 PM
    #10
    ancient11

    ancient11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Member:
    #119094
    Messages:
    429
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    robert
    tallahassee
    Vehicle:
    2017 4x4 v6 auto
    Found these, and many more when on the scangauge websiteScreenshot_2019-09-13-17-51-03.jpg
     

Products Discussed in

To Top