1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Scangauge II: Transmission Temp

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by billyjoe, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Mar 22, 2010 at 5:54 PM
    #1
    billyjoe

    billyjoe [OP] Taco Fever - I've got it bad!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Member:
    #24710
    Messages:
    358
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    13 DCLB V6 4WD LTD
    Extang Trifecta Tonneau
    With all the recent hoopla over the "Aeroforce Intercepter" being able to read Transmission Temp in our Tacos, I thought I would prod the ScanGauge II people to make good on their unfulfilled promise to do the same. Here's the email I sent them (suggestions@linear-logic.com):

    Hello,

    I am currently evaluating 3 different competing scan-tool products: Scangauge II, DashHawk and the Aeroforce Interceptor.
    Of particular importance to me is the ability to monitor the temperature of my transmission. I own a 2005 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 4.0L V6 w/5spd AT.

    I like the features, interface and packaging of the Scangauge II best. However, the SG2 does not appear to be able to read Transmission Temperature of any Toyota, let alone my vehicle. This is puzzling since the Aeroforce Interceptor has no problem displaying this parameter. In fact, the Interceptor will display both AT Temps (yes, there are 2) on my truck.



    As an active forum member of TacomaWorld.com, I can assure you numerous members (including myself) would purchase your product if it could simply display this one additional parameter. I believe it would be well worth your while to look into obtaining the codes necessary to display this value(s) through your XGauge feature.

    Sincerely,

    (full name)
    (phone number)
    (email address)
     
  2. Mar 22, 2010 at 10:16 PM
    #2
    Manlaan

    Manlaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Member:
    #30054
    Messages:
    1,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Riverton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2002 XtraCab SR5 V6 4x4 Black
    See Signature
    You can program the trans temp into the scangauge. At least it works on my 02. Will probably work on your 05.

    I'd have to look it up to be certain, but I think its correct.

    TXD: 686AF101B4
    RXF: 044105B40000
    RXD: 2808
    MTH: 00090005FFD8
     
  3. Mar 22, 2010 at 10:28 PM
    #3
    billyjoe

    billyjoe [OP] Taco Fever - I've got it bad!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Member:
    #24710
    Messages:
    358
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    13 DCLB V6 4WD LTD
    Extang Trifecta Tonneau
    Appreciate the effort, but, the 1st gen Tacos use PWM protocol to communicate and yes, you can indeed read trans temp with a Scangauge II for 04 & earlier years.

    The 2nd Gen Tacos (05+) use the CAN protocol. Currently, no one has been able to get a ScanGauge II to read (using CAN) trans temp of an 05+ successfully using the XGauge feature. Theoretically, it's just a matter of knowing the correct codes...
     
  4. Mar 22, 2010 at 10:53 PM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    Good Luck....

    Myself and several other people went through this with Scangauge years ago. E-mailing them, telephone calls, etc. They actually were telling us..... "We're working on it" and "It's being beta tested"

    I didn't even buy a scangauge yet and I was waiting for them to have the tranny temps available.

    Well.........It never happened. They said, "Toyota isn't allowing us the access codes we need to get the data out of the computer" (or something like that).

    Kinda pissed me off....they strung us along for 6 months or more telling us they were working on it and testing it, then .....dropped the bomb on us - OH, we're sorry.
     
  5. Mar 22, 2010 at 11:53 PM
    #5
    billyjoe

    billyjoe [OP] Taco Fever - I've got it bad!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Member:
    #24710
    Messages:
    358
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Richmond, VA
    Vehicle:
    13 DCLB V6 4WD LTD
    Extang Trifecta Tonneau
    Ya , well that's just a load of BULLSH*T! :eek: Again, the guys that came up with the Aeroforce Interceptor claimed they simply paid Toyota for these codes and Toyota provided them the documentation. So, obviously, the ScanGauge guys are just too cheap to pay for this info. :cool: Stupid decision considering they could easily make it up in increased sales...
     
  6. Mar 23, 2010 at 6:20 AM
    #6
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    That's the answer I got two years ago.

    We have no idea how much Toyota charged for the information - but I'm guessing it was A LOT of money.

    Cheap or not - Scangauge is not gonna pay Toyota for the information unless they're absolutely sure they'll get that money back AND make a profit after getting that money back. Obvioiusly, it was a business decision on their part.

    That's OK.....because if Scangauge can't get it done, the other companies will. Personally, if someone else came up with a similar unit with the extra bells & whistles, ease of install, and inexpensive.... I'd buy it and sell my Scangauge. No big deal.
     
  7. Jun 20, 2010 at 12:11 PM
    #7
    Barnone

    Barnone Guest

    What automatic transmission fluid temps are you getting with your ScanGuage II on your first gen? Will the SGII read the AT temp on my 2002 2.4l?
    Thanks
     
  8. Jun 26, 2010 at 9:36 AM
    #8
    blazze2005

    blazze2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Member:
    #29594
    Messages:
    932
    Gender:
    Male
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma Pre-Runner Sport
    Fuel Off-Road Octane Wheels,Yokohama Geolander ATS 265/65/17.Grillcraft,Borla Exhaust,Truxedo Lo Pro Tonneau Cover,Pop n Lock Tailgate Security,Custom Wet Okle TRD Seat Covers,Catch-All Matts,Gatorback Belt,Shorty Antenna,Toyota Bed Matt,Sirius Radio,Vent Sades,20% Lumar Window Tint
    Well whatever Aeroforce paid Toyota for the information was too much...

    Because the Aeroforce Interceptor gauge still won't read Transmission Temp Parameters in my 2005 Toyota tacoma pre-runner:confused:
     
  9. Jun 30, 2010 at 5:47 PM
    #9
    Barnone

    Barnone Guest

    Just got my SGII today. Is there a sticky somewhere for the SGII?
    Thanks
     
  10. Jun 30, 2010 at 7:37 PM
    #10
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    A sticky?

    Just use the search button - top right side in the blue bar. Search Scangauge and you'll see lots of information.
     
  11. Jun 30, 2010 at 8:24 PM
    #11
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    A sticky for what? How to use it? RTFM! :D
     
  12. Jul 1, 2010 at 2:08 AM
    #12
    Manlaan

    Manlaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Member:
    #30054
    Messages:
    1,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Riverton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2002 XtraCab SR5 V6 4x4 Black
    See Signature
    Posted this a few times (even earlier today), but just to be thorough...
    These work on my 2002 with ATM so you should be good to go as well. I haven't found any others, but if anyone does, I'd appreciate it. Of course you can read the manual to add trip values to the gauge, etc.


    MAF (Mass Air Flow)
    TXD: 07 E0 01 10
    RXF: 04 41 45 10 00 00
    RXD: 28 10
    MTH: 00 01 00 01 00 00

    Trans Temp
    TXD: 68 6A F1 01 B4
    RXF: 04 41 05 B4 00 00
    RXD: 28 08
    MTH: 00 09 00 05 FF D8

    Horsepower
    TXD: 00
    RXF: 40 00 80 00 00 00
    RXD: 00 00
    MTH: 00 0A 00 17 00 00


    Oh, and for the continuing quest for 2nd Gen trans (and other things), there's two other products that may or may not work. They aren't cheap though. http://www.dashdaq.com/index.htm and http://www.edgeproducts.com/product...+(Fits+1996+and+Newer+OBDII-Enabled+Vehicles)

    Someone might want to contact one of them to see if they'll do it for you. They sure are pretty compared to the Scangauge, but not cheap at all.
     
  13. Jul 1, 2010 at 5:30 AM
    #13
    Barnone

    Barnone Guest

    Manlaan,
    Thanks for the info to add to my SGII. Going to do it in a few minutes.
     
  14. Jul 12, 2010 at 12:17 PM
    #14
    Barnone

    Barnone Guest

    Manlaan,
    The horsepower and mass air flow works on my 2002 2.4l auto but I can't seem to get the automatic transmission temperature numbers to work.
    Could it be because I have the 2RZFE?
    Thanks
     
  15. Jul 12, 2010 at 12:22 PM
    #15
    wiscdave

    wiscdave Lets Do It!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Member:
    #5392
    Messages:
    2,543
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Rock Warrior
    Past ride - 3" OME 885s&Shocks/ TSB 1.5AAL/ AX184 Rims 285 Firestone destination ATs/ 2 Shallow mount P310s in Supercrew Box - Punch 601s, Beefed up Hunter Brush guard, Tint, Fog light mod, AFE Drop in, AC and Fog light mods, scangauge
    Yeah, hard to really know the facts on that Aeroforce gauge and I wasn't sure where to mount it. All the trouble people had led me to buy the scangauge. And because of that I will copy that email and bitch to them to get with the program on the AT temp :D

    Email sent!
     
  16. Jul 12, 2010 at 12:36 PM
    #16
    epa4wd

    epa4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Member:
    #14828
    Messages:
    2,139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eduardo
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport
    Clazzio Seat Covers Extang Tri-Fold Soft Tonneau Cover TRD Skid Plate AMP Research Electric Steps 43% Llumar Security tint TRD Exhaust Fox 2.0 coilovers and rear shocks 16" TRD Fake Beadlocks Custom LED Cube mounts in foglight location TRD Pro Grill Wheelers progressive aal
    I don't think Aerofocetech had any issues beside the transmission temp (which I don't blame them) I had posted a list of parameters that work without any issues in their section of the Forum. The problem with the trans temp is that for some reason toyota has changed the parameter between most years on 2nd gen Tacomas, for example Todd got it working on my 09 Tacoma but the parameter that works on my 09 does not work on a 2010 he had on his shop :confused: and now 2011 are about to hit the dealers and who knows if it has changed again! I don't know what the hell toyota is doing. I'm guessing scangauge will go trough the same problems if they start trying to figure it out. :(
     
  17. Jul 12, 2010 at 12:40 PM
    #17
    brutalguyracing

    brutalguyracing BIG DADDY

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19000
    Messages:
    24,038
    Gender:
    Male
    F.U> GUYZ
    broken mods
    are you saying you got your scangaugeII to read the tran temp in an 09?
     
  18. Jul 12, 2010 at 12:45 PM
    #18
    epa4wd

    epa4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Member:
    #14828
    Messages:
    2,139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eduardo
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport
    Clazzio Seat Covers Extang Tri-Fold Soft Tonneau Cover TRD Skid Plate AMP Research Electric Steps 43% Llumar Security tint TRD Exhaust Fox 2.0 coilovers and rear shocks 16" TRD Fake Beadlocks Custom LED Cube mounts in foglight location TRD Pro Grill Wheelers progressive aal
    no sorry I got a Aeroforcetech gauge.
    Todd from Aeroforcetech got the trans temp working on my 09 with their gauge.
     
  19. Jul 12, 2010 at 2:07 PM
    #19
    Barnone

    Barnone Guest

  20. Jul 12, 2010 at 4:47 PM
    #20
    Manlaan

    Manlaan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Member:
    #30054
    Messages:
    1,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Riverton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2002 XtraCab SR5 V6 4x4 Black
    See Signature
    I remember seeing an alternative code for the trans temp, but it didn't work for me, so I didn't keep it. I dont remember where I found it though, so I'm really not much help at all. Sorry I cant be more help.
     
To Top