1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

SOMEONE HELP ME

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by jerris, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. Feb 10, 2011 at 1:48 PM
    #1
    jerris

    jerris [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Member:
    #25332
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jerris
    utah
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab, 6 inch fabtech 35 duratrac
    6 inch lift, 35 inch duratrac's
    IS THERE A INLINE FUEL FILTER ON A 2007?
     
  2. Feb 10, 2011 at 1:52 PM
    #2
    jerris

    jerris [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Member:
    #25332
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jerris
    utah
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab, 6 inch fabtech 35 duratrac
    6 inch lift, 35 inch duratrac's
    THAT IS WHAT I THOUGHT IS IT REPLACEABLE?
     
  3. Feb 10, 2011 at 1:53 PM
    #3
    SmilingMark

    SmilingMark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Member:
    #44711
    Messages:
    310
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Ogden, UT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    Color matched grill w/ grillcraft. BHLM and Morimoto Mini HID's Debadged.
    Sure it's REPLACEABLE.

    Just change the fuel tank.
     
  4. Feb 10, 2011 at 1:55 PM
    #4
    SalemCBR

    SalemCBR Oregon's #2 TW rep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Member:
    #49623
    Messages:
    2,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    04 DC Elock PreR
    Deck plate, all time auxillary, black billet, xeon bulbs, sockmonkey decals, and lots of back to black.
    Just the news you wanted to hear! ..... What are the symptoms of the problem?
     
  5. Feb 10, 2011 at 2:58 PM
    #5
    jerris

    jerris [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Member:
    #25332
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jerris
    utah
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab, 6 inch fabtech 35 duratrac
    6 inch lift, 35 inch duratrac's
    there are replacment filters for the pump. but my truck just has a way rough idle and almost dies my dash lights flicker like they dont have power and my mileage has dropped like 100 miles a tank in the last couples months leads me to believe im not getiing the fuel i need also seems to have a lack of power.
     
  6. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:01 PM
    #6
    jjew18

    jjew18 the Nightman cometh!

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Member:
    #17315
    Messages:
    6,250
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Alliance Airport
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner SR5
    Added extra awesomeness to its original awesomeness.
    That sucks!

    ^^^ I know this is in no way valuable input, but it does suck!
     
  7. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:02 PM
    #7
    SmilingMark

    SmilingMark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Member:
    #44711
    Messages:
    310
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Ogden, UT
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    Color matched grill w/ grillcraft. BHLM and Morimoto Mini HID's Debadged.
    This could be any number of things, sure, fuel pump and filter, but also: Clogged injectors, dirty air filter, fouled plugs, bad timing, compression leaks, the list goes on.

    Lights flickering don't make sense to me though, but then there are brighter bulbs in the chandelier on this board who maybe can chime in and explain it. (Pun intended. :) )
     
  8. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:04 PM
    #8
    Leggo

    Leggo slow is smooth, and smooth is fast.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Member:
    #47805
    Messages:
    2,420
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Newton,Ma.
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD Sport AC 4x4 MGM
    Kenwood HU,Infinity Kappa speakers (x4), Infinity reference tweeters(x2),10" Kicker sub, Box by Subthump, Infinty Five channel amp,DVD anytime bypass, DTRL Mod, Xtang trifecta, Fogs anytime Mod, Bed Mat,Westin running boards, Console vault, Maglite mod, Weathertechs,Autopage remote starter, Power tailgate lock, HID Bi Zenon, Hella Supertones,Rain guards,Rear leaf TSB,Steering shaft TSB, Fisher Homesteader plow, 886 reverse lights mod, Redline Hood struts, Hankook Dynapro ATM LT265/70R17, power sliding rear window, Auto dimming/on anytime Bed lights, Blue Sea fuse panel & 100amp Breaker, de- badged,Rear headrest's removed, imMrYo mirror relocation,Homeroshi grill
    no check engine light?
     
  9. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:05 PM
    #9
    jjew18

    jjew18 the Nightman cometh!

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Member:
    #17315
    Messages:
    6,250
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Alliance Airport
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner SR5
    Added extra awesomeness to its original awesomeness.
    The lights flickering I don't believe is related to your fuel problem, sounds more like a failing alternator, but that does not explain the crummy gas mileage.
     
  10. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:06 PM
    #10
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    mmm,i think if the fuel filter was clogged your mileage would increase
     
  11. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:08 PM
    #11
    Leggo

    Leggo slow is smooth, and smooth is fast.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Member:
    #47805
    Messages:
    2,420
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Newton,Ma.
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD Sport AC 4x4 MGM
    Kenwood HU,Infinity Kappa speakers (x4), Infinity reference tweeters(x2),10" Kicker sub, Box by Subthump, Infinty Five channel amp,DVD anytime bypass, DTRL Mod, Xtang trifecta, Fogs anytime Mod, Bed Mat,Westin running boards, Console vault, Maglite mod, Weathertechs,Autopage remote starter, Power tailgate lock, HID Bi Zenon, Hella Supertones,Rain guards,Rear leaf TSB,Steering shaft TSB, Fisher Homesteader plow, 886 reverse lights mod, Redline Hood struts, Hankook Dynapro ATM LT265/70R17, power sliding rear window, Auto dimming/on anytime Bed lights, Blue Sea fuse panel & 100amp Breaker, de- badged,Rear headrest's removed, imMrYo mirror relocation,Homeroshi grill
    My 03,v-6. did something similar. It was the mass airflow sensor. I had a check engine light showing a code present. Dealer did not warranty it under drive train.
     
  12. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:14 PM
    #12
    jerris

    jerris [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Member:
    #25332
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jerris
    utah
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab, 6 inch fabtech 35 duratrac
    6 inch lift, 35 inch duratrac's
    k so no there is no check engine light, i have a k&n cold air that is clean i clean it every oil change i have changed my plugs less then 10000 miles ago and when my lights flicker is when i am stopped at a light and it feels like the truck is going to die then the rpm bounce up also. about the same time this happened my fuel gauge was having issues sometimes took a day or more to move up to full after i filled up.

    i have also ran sea foam through did nothing
     
  13. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:19 PM
    #13
    jerris

    jerris [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Member:
    #25332
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jerris
    utah
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab, 6 inch fabtech 35 duratrac
    6 inch lift, 35 inch duratrac's
    mileage issue and power loss from electrical and fuel gauge not moving?
     
  14. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:26 PM
    #14
    jjew18

    jjew18 the Nightman cometh!

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Member:
    #17315
    Messages:
    6,250
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Alliance Airport
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner SR5
    Added extra awesomeness to its original awesomeness.
    x2 yeah, the computer or electrical can even cause misfires and other mechanical problems
     
  15. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:30 PM
    #15
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,148
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    K&N + oiled/cleaned every oil change = oiled MAF.

    OP, Clean the MAF with a good electronic cleaner, and get back to us if that helps.
     
  16. Feb 10, 2011 at 3:38 PM
    #16
    jerris

    jerris [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Member:
    #25332
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jerris
    utah
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab, 6 inch fabtech 35 duratrac
    6 inch lift, 35 inch duratrac's
    i was gonna try that and try and clean the throttle body. i will this weekend and get back to ya thanks
     
  17. Feb 15, 2011 at 2:53 PM
    #17
    jerris

    jerris [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Member:
    #25332
    Messages:
    47
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jerris
    utah
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab, 6 inch fabtech 35 duratrac
    6 inch lift, 35 inch duratrac's
    K so i cleaned the MAF and the throttle body. Throttle body was black as can be. Deffinetly not gonna die at stop lights idle is was high i can get to 20 mph in about 150-200 yrds just idling seemed high but not sure.
     
  18. Feb 15, 2011 at 5:14 PM
    #18
    MushyB

    MushyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Member:
    #14242
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    MA/CT
    Vehicle:
    05 Taco TRD Off-Road
    idle will be high upon startups... what is your rpm at operating temp?
     
  19. Feb 15, 2011 at 7:32 PM
    #19
    TacoAlaMode

    TacoAlaMode Mr. Midlife Crisis

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Member:
    #32558
    Messages:
    2,256
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    10 DC LB MG 4X4 TRD Sport
    Icon Ext Coilover, Demello RockCrusher Sliders, Full tint 360', WeatherTech Floor liners and rainguards, Debadged, In Cabin 110 with 400w anytime, Diff breather mod, leaf squeak mod,
    May want to pull the battery and let the computer relearn.
     
  20. Feb 15, 2011 at 8:21 PM
    #20
    Leggo

    Leggo slow is smooth, and smooth is fast.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Member:
    #47805
    Messages:
    2,420
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Newton,Ma.
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD Sport AC 4x4 MGM
    Kenwood HU,Infinity Kappa speakers (x4), Infinity reference tweeters(x2),10" Kicker sub, Box by Subthump, Infinty Five channel amp,DVD anytime bypass, DTRL Mod, Xtang trifecta, Fogs anytime Mod, Bed Mat,Westin running boards, Console vault, Maglite mod, Weathertechs,Autopage remote starter, Power tailgate lock, HID Bi Zenon, Hella Supertones,Rain guards,Rear leaf TSB,Steering shaft TSB, Fisher Homesteader plow, 886 reverse lights mod, Redline Hood struts, Hankook Dynapro ATM LT265/70R17, power sliding rear window, Auto dimming/on anytime Bed lights, Blue Sea fuse panel & 100amp Breaker, de- badged,Rear headrest's removed, imMrYo mirror relocation,Homeroshi grill
    throttle body was black. Sometimes the Idle Air Control Motor gets covered with carbon and sticks open a bit causing a high idle condition. If that is not happening, a vacuum leak could cause the high idle. usually sets an o2 lean code. Reboot the computer by pulling the neg bat. cable for at least ten minutes. the fuel filter is one of the last things I would look at because it's a pain in the ass and not meant to be changed very often. Get a pressure gauge on the fuel line after the regulator, I am not sure what is in spec. but that could give you similar symptoms without setting a code if not in spec. If none of the above are it, I would throw it at the dealer, they can try a new ECM easily and box it back up if that was not it. Good luck!
     
To Top