1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sony XNV-770BT Install in 2007 double cab

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by kistnerme, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. Dec 25, 2010 at 5:53 PM
    #1
    kistnerme

    kistnerme [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18472
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport
    I'm installing in my 2007 double cab on Monday. Double DIN, Tom-Tom GPS, with Sirius external module. Has anyone installed one of these units?

    I've been through the forums and found a lot of good advice and information but still have questions. Where is a good place to mount the Sirius modules? Do you have to hook up the power supply cord to the Sirius module or can both get power form the head unit through the bus cable and connect cable (pin 1 is labled battery)? Can the Sirius be received through the head unit sat antenna or does it require a separate antenna?

    Where is the best place to run the backup camera cables into the cab? Any other suggestions or help is appreciated.
     
  2. Dec 25, 2010 at 7:44 PM
    #2
    Black Sheep

    Black Sheep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Member:
    #45032
    Messages:
    298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Black Dbl Cab TRD T/X Pro
    6" Pro Comp Suspension lift with Pro Comp leveling kit, Bilstein 5100's, Full leather interior with seat heaters, Go Rhino step bars, Sony XNV-770BT Head Unit with NAV, DVD, XM and Blutooth, Tonopro toneau cover, Tinted windows, Black mesh grille, Projector headlights with HID lows, HID fogs, Crystal Eyes rear LED taillights, Weathertech mats front and rear
    That is the same unit that I had installed in my 2011 and I love it. I did not do the install. I had a local shop take care of it becasue I know that owners. They did a fantastic job. I had the XM module installed since I have a package with them from my last car. They put a small antenna on the corner of the roof. The tom-tom module will be in the dash so you can get to it for updating purposes. Instead of a hookup for an ipod, since I do not own one, I had the USB port run out the open button under the heater controls. That is for laying music from my memory stick. Also, if you have an ipod or phone capable of bluetooth, you can stream music straight to the radio in the "BTAudio" mode.

    You will love it. The dvd is also awsome. The first movie I put in was Transformers II and it sounded like Optimus and Megatron were fighting in my back seat. But, after your install, you are probably going to want upgraded speakers. I am having mine installed in 3 weeks when my leather package is going in all at the same shop.

    If you have any questions about the unit, I might be able to answer them. I had mine installed within 2 weeks of driving the new truck off the lot in October of this year.
     
  3. Dec 26, 2010 at 8:24 AM
    #3
    kistnerme

    kistnerme [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18472
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport
    Thanks, I picked up several ideas from your post. Which leather are you going with?
     
  4. Dec 26, 2010 at 9:17 AM
    #4
    Black Sheep

    Black Sheep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Member:
    #45032
    Messages:
    298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Black Dbl Cab TRD T/X Pro
    6" Pro Comp Suspension lift with Pro Comp leveling kit, Bilstein 5100's, Full leather interior with seat heaters, Go Rhino step bars, Sony XNV-770BT Head Unit with NAV, DVD, XM and Blutooth, Tonopro toneau cover, Tinted windows, Black mesh grille, Projector headlights with HID lows, HID fogs, Crystal Eyes rear LED taillights, Weathertech mats front and rear
    I got the Katskins leather package. The colors I went with are dark graphite on outside panels, light grey on inside panels and black accent stitching. I am even having a logo embroidered into the headrest.

    The speakers I picked out are Powerbass. They are going to run me $390 installed. That is 2 - 6x9 (front), 2 door tweeters and 2 - 6 1/2 in rear. I didn't go with an amp because I am not trying to blow out the windows, just get a crisp clear great sound. Also, I had the steering wheel controls installed during the head unit intall.
     
  5. Jan 11, 2011 at 5:42 PM
    #5
    novataco

    novataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7953
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    NOLA
    Vehicle:
    06 Sport V6 auto
    Aries bull bar, Lund grill screen, blackened h/l, Weathertech plastic all over, Access LE tonneau, window tint, tube steps, DF-Toy aux adapter, cig plug always on, console vault, hitch step, 1700 watt in-cab inverter and dual battery (in-progress), Delta bike hitch mounts
    Just installed mine. Nice unit, and I know what you mean about the sound when playing a dvd. The picture is crisp and rich, and the sound is better than in my living room, with all six speakers so closely surrounding you. I tapped the green parking brake wire from the HU into the ground wire with a quick splice connector, and the DVD plays full time, even when driving. No need for any of the parking brake mods that require a toggle switch of an improvised relay. Here's my install:

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/audio-video/133081-sony-xnv-770bt-install-complete-almost.html

    One question on the install. Was it necessary to run that reverse sensor wire to the tail light, or will it detect the wires from my camera that will be tapped into the reverse tail light? Also, what is the speed sensor wire for?
     
  6. Jan 11, 2011 at 6:30 PM
    #6
    Black Sheep

    Black Sheep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Member:
    #45032
    Messages:
    298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Black Dbl Cab TRD T/X Pro
    6" Pro Comp Suspension lift with Pro Comp leveling kit, Bilstein 5100's, Full leather interior with seat heaters, Go Rhino step bars, Sony XNV-770BT Head Unit with NAV, DVD, XM and Blutooth, Tonopro toneau cover, Tinted windows, Black mesh grille, Projector headlights with HID lows, HID fogs, Crystal Eyes rear LED taillights, Weathertech mats front and rear
    [One question on the install. Was it necessary to run that reverse sensor wire to the tail light, or will it detect the wires from my camera that will be tapped into the reverse tail light? Also, what is the speed sensor wire for?[/quote]

    This I am not sure of. The installer that put mine in did not want to mess with the existing backup camera. So, I just stayed with the picture in the mirror. I would love to find someone to hook this up to the head unit. But, from talking to others that have done thi, the picture is distorted due to the screen being a widescreen. I guess it stretches things out.
     
  7. Jan 11, 2011 at 9:29 PM
    #7
    novataco

    novataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7953
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    NOLA
    Vehicle:
    06 Sport V6 auto
    Aries bull bar, Lund grill screen, blackened h/l, Weathertech plastic all over, Access LE tonneau, window tint, tube steps, DF-Toy aux adapter, cig plug always on, console vault, hitch step, 1700 watt in-cab inverter and dual battery (in-progress), Delta bike hitch mounts
    This I am not sure of. The installer that put mine in did not want to mess with the existing backup camera. So, I just stayed with the picture in the mirror. I would love to find someone to hook this up to the head unit. But, from talking to others that have done thi, the picture is distorted due to the screen being a widescreen. I guess it stretches things out.[/quote]

    I think you can control the aspect ratio in the menu somewhere. I know you can for DVD's, so maybe you can for the external camera? Just a thought, but at least you have a backup camera already. If I had one already I would not feel compelled to alter it. It has a rather limited, but handy use, that the rear view mirror probably serves just fine.
     
  8. Jan 16, 2011 at 1:19 PM
    #8
    kistnerme

    kistnerme [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18472
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport
    I think that you have to connect the head unit backup wire to get the picture on the screen. I connected mine but haven't installed the camera yet. The screen gives me a "careful - look where you are going" type of message on the screen when I put the transmission in reverse. I'm hoping that when the camera is installed that I'll have a picture. I followed the instructions that I found posted on this forum for which wires to tap into for the reverse sensing and speed wires.
     
  9. Jan 17, 2011 at 9:05 AM
    #9
    novataco

    novataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7953
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    NOLA
    Vehicle:
    06 Sport V6 auto
    Aries bull bar, Lund grill screen, blackened h/l, Weathertech plastic all over, Access LE tonneau, window tint, tube steps, DF-Toy aux adapter, cig plug always on, console vault, hitch step, 1700 watt in-cab inverter and dual battery (in-progress), Delta bike hitch mounts
    The shop that was installing my alarm did the steering wheel controller and the backup camera install for me since they already had the dash apart. He did tap that reverse wire into the truck reverse wire, sying he was pretty sure it was needed so the unit would know to switch to the backup camera input.

    The speed sensor we did not hook up. I think it is to assist the gps when you can't get a gps signal. He said they generally leave that wire alone when installing the newer units since the gps reception is so good. He said it often causes error readings in the ecu and more trouble than worth. My gps has worked flawlessly so far.
     
  10. Feb 12, 2011 at 7:07 AM
    #10
    Soon

    Soon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18496
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Where did you have the gps antenna installed, on the dash as the installation guide recommend?

    I thinking of mounting it on the top right part of my windscreen, what do you think?
     
  11. Feb 12, 2011 at 10:09 AM
    #11
    novataco

    novataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7953
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    NOLA
    Vehicle:
    06 Sport V6 auto
    Aries bull bar, Lund grill screen, blackened h/l, Weathertech plastic all over, Access LE tonneau, window tint, tube steps, DF-Toy aux adapter, cig plug always on, console vault, hitch step, 1700 watt in-cab inverter and dual battery (in-progress), Delta bike hitch mounts

    No. That antenna can stay under the dash. It works fine there. Its magnetic, and I simply stuck it on top of the head unit and I have not had a problem. It doesn't even need to be oriented in any specific direction. Sometimes before I start driving the gps is not sure which direction my truck is pointing, but once I start moving it figures it out.
     
  12. Feb 12, 2011 at 10:22 AM
    #12
    novataco

    novataco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7953
    Messages:
    377
    Gender:
    Male
    NOLA
    Vehicle:
    06 Sport V6 auto
    Aries bull bar, Lund grill screen, blackened h/l, Weathertech plastic all over, Access LE tonneau, window tint, tube steps, DF-Toy aux adapter, cig plug always on, console vault, hitch step, 1700 watt in-cab inverter and dual battery (in-progress), Delta bike hitch mounts
    Now that I see some other owners of this unit, I have to ask you: WTF is up with that lame interface Sony designed? Several huge problems:

    1. ipod menus....you have to scroll page by page to get to an artist, and each page takes forever. Its more dangerous than driving with your eyes closed. I am tired of listening to artists whose name starts with "A" through "C". And, if you select an artist, you can't go up one level to continue scrolling where you left off, you have to start at the beginning. Have you ever seen a design more thoughtless and asinine????

    2. phone menus: A.You have to touch three different screens to get to the phone dialer...its buried so far down in the menu. B. you can't spell part of a person's name. You touch one key and it goes to that letter, then you have to start scrolling, and on top of that, they are out of alphabetical order (some names starting with "He..." come up before some names starting with "Ha..." for example). C. It only accepts 300 contacts from your phone, but I have 500, but I cannot pick and choose which ones to accept, and it randomly accepts contacts and leaves out others, through no rhyme or reason.

    3. The Tom Tom is advertised as being able to update POI's and traffic cameras, yet when you register the device, it says those features are not available. My city is adding traffic cameras, the list of cameras is incomplete, and I am supposed to be able to report new camera locations and share them with the Tom Tom community. But Tom Tom says those features are not available. I don't understand why a base level Tom Tom can do this, yet a flagship $1000.00 unit has limited, scaled down functionality that is falsely advertised.

    I love the Tom Tom navigation and all the features and quality of the unit, but this thing was not thought out at all before it was put to market. I wish I could get a software/firmware upgrade to resolve this crap. I would not recommend the unit because of the lame interface.
     
  13. Jul 4, 2014 at 9:19 AM
    #13
    brackish

    brackish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Member:
    #122026
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    frank
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner

    I'm starting an install on a double DIN HU with back up camera capability. I can't find an answer to the question above. MY 2007 Has never had a camera, so no wiring installed. What is the routing for the RCA input cable from the license plate camera to the HU?
     
  14. Jul 4, 2014 at 4:48 PM
    #14
    watchdog

    watchdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Member:
    #74590
    Messages:
    159
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    jim
    nanuet n.y.
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma
    Rims and tires , exhaust , stereo , Bhlm ,Changed carpet to black from grey. toytec ultimate lift kit. Allpro front bumper and light bar. In process of blacking out interior. Otrattw switches, black vinyl armrest mod, clazzio leather seat covers with heaters, flowmaster dual exhaust, hornblasters train horns,
    Ran mine along frame and through grommet under seat and into cab. Grounded my reverse lead so I can turn an camera anytime. I have kenwood head unit.
     
  15. Jul 6, 2014 at 4:55 AM
    #15
    brackish

    brackish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Member:
    #122026
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    frank
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner
    Hey thanks, found the bundle and the grommet, looks like the grommet on my '07 comes up under the threshold, drivers side door, then maybe on to the kick panel, does that sound right?
     
To Top