1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

SPARE TIRE TPM

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by TWTaco, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:12 PM
    #21
    eccracer104

    eccracer104 O.G. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5854
    Messages:
    11,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 4x4 TRD OR AC
    Lol just don't run a tpms in the spare, use your eye balls and a good ol' fashioned pressure gauge to check it once in awhile.
     
    tonered likes this.
  2. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:13 PM
    #22
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,212
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    Meh? It makes new tires and rotations a lot easier and shops cannot charge you for TPMS Service since there is none.

    What sucks is 10yrs-ish down the road when the sensors are all toast.
     
    Freegolf and shakerhood like this.
  3. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:17 PM
    #23
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    I just hate that dam light on all the time!
     
  4. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:18 PM
    #24
    eccracer104

    eccracer104 O.G. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5854
    Messages:
    11,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 4x4 TRD OR AC
    The light would only be on if a tire were low. I'm not following your issue here
     
    tonered likes this.
  5. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:18 PM
    #25
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,212
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    What light?
     
    shakerhood and eccracer104 like this.
  6. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:19 PM
    #26
    nudavinci64

    nudavinci64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Member:
    #116533
    Messages:
    1,757
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    San Mateo, CA
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OffRoad 4x4
    Money Pit....
    2nd gen I believe can support 2 sets. ie: winter vs summer for example. I have a tpms installed in my spare and it supports all 5. I have heard the 3rd gen does not.
     
  7. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:19 PM
    #27
    golfindia

    golfindia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Member:
    #228000
    Messages:
    312
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes.
    Vehicle:
    2017 4x4 access cab AT
    Techstream is the only way to fly for remapping TPMS. Would be very simple to add a 5th in the spare.
     
  8. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:20 PM
    #28
    nudavinci64

    nudavinci64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Member:
    #116533
    Messages:
    1,757
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    San Mateo, CA
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OffRoad 4x4
    Money Pit....
    what is this Carista app? Interesting
     
  9. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:20 PM
    #29
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    I have 4 new TPM's in but not programmed yet i was waiting on the spare . So my light has been on for a while. I am just going to use a regular stem on the spare. Just have to program new TPM's and light should go out!
     
  10. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:21 PM
    #30
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,212
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    Sorry, but no. TS does show a 5th slot, but the Taco does not process it.
     
    shakerhood likes this.
  11. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:22 PM
    #31
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,212
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    Can I google that for you? Sure:
    https://caristaapp.com

    Ah. That is a different thang.
     
    eccracer104 likes this.
  12. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:23 PM
    #32
    golfindia

    golfindia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Member:
    #228000
    Messages:
    312
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes.
    Vehicle:
    2017 4x4 access cab AT
    I realize that. You just hook up and remap when you use the spare. You can't look at it all the time. If that's the goal, yeah, sorry.
     
    tonered likes this.
  13. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:23 PM
    #33
    knayrb

    knayrb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Member:
    #32473
    Messages:
    1,410
    Gender:
    Male
    Somewhere in the square states
    Vehicle:
    2010 Dbl-Cab Off-Road
    Pure stock
    No TPM sensor in my 2010 spare. Related: I'm wondering how long the batteries on these go.
     
  14. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:24 PM
    #34
    eccracer104

    eccracer104 O.G. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5854
    Messages:
    11,986
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 4x4 TRD OR AC
    My 2007 taco tpms sensors lasted about 8-9 years
     
    knayrb and tonered like this.
  15. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:24 PM
    #35
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    I just didnt want the spare to keep the warning light on if it didnt have a TPM,like my 07 had
     
    tonered likes this.
  16. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:25 PM
    #36
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,212
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    I get you now. Yeah, TS is neato. Also, it is not the only way any longer. Carista as mentioned above.
     
  17. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:26 PM
    #37
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    Lets get this clear if i program the 4 tires on the truck and the spare does not! have aTPM sensor it will not affect the warning light correct?
     
    tonered likes this.
  18. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:27 PM
    #38
    tonered

    tonered Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    5,212
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Vehicle:
    2017 BR ACLB Sport 6MT
    Debadge, Dechrome, 7r41lbr34k3r knob, MeSo switch panel and V4s, Functional Skewp
    Yes. You got it. The system only recognizes four sensors at one time.
     
    shakerhood and eccracer104 like this.
  19. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:29 PM
    #39
    TWTaco

    TWTaco [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #172601
    Messages:
    1,874
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    STUFF!
    Great that clears it up!
     
    tonered likes this.
  20. Dec 5, 2018 at 1:29 PM
    #40
    hx989

    hx989 Church of @ODNAREM - Pacific Northwest Chapter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Member:
    #177349
    Messages:
    3,321
    PNW
    That's because of the ECU which has only 4 "slots" for tire pressure readings. Second gens (at least thru 2011) have 5 total.
    That means in 3rd gens your ECU can only ever monitor 4 tires max. I'm not sure though if you could put a monitor into the spare (in case you wanna do 5 tire rotations) and use an app like Carissa or whatever - I'm not familiar with it - to delete one sensor ID and add the one from the spare that's now being used.
     
    tonered likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top