1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Spark plug power loss,please help!!!

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by TACOsupremacy, May 5, 2012.

  1. May 6, 2012 at 11:04 PM
    #21
    TACOsupremacy

    TACOsupremacy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63478
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gaven
    Aiea_Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    05taco
    Never satisfied
    Im pretty sure it in the right order..did do it one by one..and i cleaned my maf sensor about a week before doing the plugs
     
  2. May 6, 2012 at 11:06 PM
    #22
    TACOsupremacy

    TACOsupremacy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63478
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gaven
    Aiea_Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    05taco
    Never satisfied
    !!? I do have a maf cal..and a urd intake. Ive been having second guesses about removing it..i think it could be that too
     
  3. May 6, 2012 at 11:07 PM
    #23
    TACOsupremacy

    TACOsupremacy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63478
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gaven
    Aiea_Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    05taco
    Never satisfied
    Thanks i will try that first!!!!
     
  4. May 6, 2012 at 11:13 PM
    #24
    amaes

    amaes Cuz Stock Sucks

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Member:
    #17658
    Messages:
    7,733
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Chandler, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2011 FJ Built
    ICON Stage 6, RCI Skids, Blacked out
    I would try that. I have been in the truck with him before when it happens. Its only one the freeway when his truck does it but on the street its fine. It goes into like a safe mode and kills all power from the motor and we had to stop turn it off for a few and then it would be fine for a little while. It got wose the higher in elevation we went and through the hills when it was under high RPM.

    With your case it sounds more like a vacuum hose is off. That normally the issue when this happens.
     
  5. May 6, 2012 at 11:29 PM
    #25
    TACOsupremacy

    TACOsupremacy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63478
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gaven
    Aiea_Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    05taco
    Never satisfied
    Cant be any vacum hoses i checked like 3 times today..but we'll see
     
  6. May 6, 2012 at 11:31 PM
    #26
    Bishop2Queens6

    Bishop2Queens6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Member:
    #57944
    Messages:
    1,134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2009 DCSB MGM
    Afe CAI, Harsh Ride TSB, 3rd OEM HU, Revo 2's, more on the way...
    There is a super small vacuum hose that's easy to forget that goes behind the air intake assembly. I'm assuming you have an OEM intake so you're gonna have to pull a lot off when you changed the plugs.
     
  7. May 6, 2012 at 11:33 PM
    #27
    boshak

    boshak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37663
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2003 Manual 4x4 5VZ-FE
    OME 881's, Wheeler's 5-leaf pack, Bilstein 5100's
    Bet its something small affecting your fuel ratio...

    Dirty throttle body... Bad PCV valve.

    Good luck OP! Keep us updated.
     
  8. May 6, 2012 at 11:35 PM
    #28
    TACOsupremacy

    TACOsupremacy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63478
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gaven
    Aiea_Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    05taco
    Never satisfied
    No actually i have a URD intake, so theres alot of space to work on that side. Im sure there are no hoses lose or off i double checked and re checked again..
     
  9. May 6, 2012 at 11:50 PM
    #29
    Bishop2Queens6

    Bishop2Queens6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Member:
    #57944
    Messages:
    1,134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2009 DCSB MGM
    Afe CAI, Harsh Ride TSB, 3rd OEM HU, Revo 2's, more on the way...
    This can be a really dumb/obvious question, but were the correct coil packs and plugs placed into the correct cylinder...? Something so simple may be overlooked.
     
  10. May 6, 2012 at 11:53 PM
    #30
    boshak

    boshak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37663
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2003 Manual 4x4 5VZ-FE
    OME 881's, Wheeler's 5-leaf pack, Bilstein 5100's
    He said he did one plug at a time so he's pretty certain on the correct order.
     
  11. May 6, 2012 at 11:54 PM
    #31
    Bishop2Queens6

    Bishop2Queens6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Member:
    #57944
    Messages:
    1,134
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2009 DCSB MGM
    Afe CAI, Harsh Ride TSB, 3rd OEM HU, Revo 2's, more on the way...
    Maybe check the integrity of the plug itself, not only a loose connection, but a bent and/or dirty tab.
     
  12. May 6, 2012 at 11:58 PM
    #32
    boshak

    boshak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37663
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2003 Manual 4x4 5VZ-FE
    OME 881's, Wheeler's 5-leaf pack, Bilstein 5100's
    He swapped plugs twice :p
     
  13. May 7, 2012 at 12:23 AM
    #33
    TACOsupremacy

    TACOsupremacy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63478
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gaven
    Aiea_Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    05taco
    Never satisfied
    Plus isnt the length of the coil so short that it can only reach that plug? Well thats what it seemed like anyways, but yeah i did it one at a time and went thru two sets :mad:
     
  14. May 7, 2012 at 8:55 PM
    #34
    TACOsupremacy

    TACOsupremacy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63478
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gaven
    Aiea_Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    05taco
    Never satisfied
    Are you supposed to disconnect the battery before you change plugs?
     
  15. May 7, 2012 at 10:12 PM
    #35
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Thor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,841
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I never do.
     
  16. May 7, 2012 at 10:52 PM
    #36
    boshak

    boshak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Member:
    #37663
    Messages:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2003 Manual 4x4 5VZ-FE
    OME 881's, Wheeler's 5-leaf pack, Bilstein 5100's
    I don't. Did you take it to the shop? What's the verdict?
     
  17. May 7, 2012 at 11:02 PM
    #37
    Muscles

    Muscles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Member:
    #53665
    Messages:
    181
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    K&N Air Intake
    subbed, for when i attempt to change my plugs haha
     
  18. May 7, 2012 at 11:03 PM
    #38
    S.B.

    S.B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Member:
    #18838
    Messages:
    3,557
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    SD, CA Now in Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco 4x4 TRD OffRoad Rugged Trail
    SAW 2.0s, Wheeler's 3-leaf AAL, On Board Air, 255/85/16 Cooper Discover S/T, CBI Sliders, Built right UCAs, 6" Harbor Freight Lights (converted to HIDs), KC Slim Lights.
    Probably don't need to, but I live by the rule to disconnect the battery for anything electrical. I know after I mess with the plugs or MAF it dies out on me on the first crank and then the second time starting it runs like crap for like 30seconds. I would try disconnecting your battery for like an hour or so.
     
  19. May 8, 2012 at 12:24 AM
    #39
    TACOsupremacy

    TACOsupremacy [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Member:
    #63478
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gaven
    Aiea_Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    05taco
    Never satisfied
    Well when i took it the shop i told them everything whats going on. They checked everything, test drove it and it happened to them, all they did was disconnect the battery for a couple minutes then started her up again, then it ran fine after the first 5min. They told me by doung that your jus restting the ecu..i guess?? So hopefully tomorrow everything goes well
     
  20. May 8, 2012 at 12:55 AM
    #40
    06yoda

    06yoda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Member:
    #4326
    Messages:
    342
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tanner
    Point Loma, CA/ Emmett, ID
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab TRD OffRoad
    I thought one bank was supposed to have ngks and the other denso. I believe they are different length. You prob didn't tighten the plug itself Enough.
     
To Top