1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

spedo

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by krzfastest2010, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. Dec 12, 2010 at 1:47 PM
    #1
    krzfastest2010

    krzfastest2010 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Member:
    #42894
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    01 sr5 v6 lifted
    Hey guys last night I was driving down the pass and my spedometer started goin crazy. my first thought was somthing was shorting out beacuse it was raining so hard there was standing water every where. and now my spedometer works on and off.
    What are your thoughts on this?
     
  2. Dec 12, 2010 at 6:30 PM
    #2
    TacomaJPP

    TacomaJPP To secure peace, is to prepare for war

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Member:
    #47218
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    East TN
    Vehicle:
    03 4WD TRD XTD Cab
    Snugtop Camper Brushguard
    Our trucks use cables...correct? If it's a cable, then the water probably shouldn't affect it. Maybe it's just going out.
     
  3. Dec 12, 2010 at 7:01 PM
    #3
    Miata Tech

    Miata Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Member:
    #46999
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Lawrence, KS
    Vehicle:
    2002 4X4 SR-5 TRD
    ChaseCam Video System, Optima YellowTop, ScanGauge II, Heated Drivers Seat, Sirius Satellite Radio, K&N Drop In, E-Locker Guard, Extang Black Max Tonneau , Streamlight Stinger, All Synthetic Fluids, USA-Spec iPhone Interface, Gentex Auto Dimming Compass/Temp Mirror
    I don't know about earlier models, but from 2001 on, Tacoma's have electronic speedometers. It could be a poor connection at the speed sensor or the sensor itself could be failing. It could also be a poor connection at the IC,a failure of the IC printed circuit board or a bad speedometer head. I would check the connection at the transmission speed sensor first and if that doesn't help pull the IC and check those connections. If you have access to a scan tool you can use it to see how fast the ECM thinks the truck is going. Here is the wiring diagram for the speedometer circuit.
    Hope this Helps
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Dec 12, 2010 at 9:55 PM
    #4
    Flash1034

    Flash1034 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Member:
    #45429
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2003 SR5 TRD 4x4 Extracab 3.4 liter
    None
    As a side note, is there a way to adjust the speedo on a 2003? Mine seems to read slow.

    Thanks,

    Flash
     
  5. Dec 12, 2010 at 10:51 PM
    #5
    Digiratus

    Digiratus Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Member:
    #34006
    Messages:
    13,741
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Roaming the PNW
    Vehicle:
    The RedHead
    2002 XtraCab TRD 4x4 Auto Trans With Lots of Mods King Extended Travel COs Camburg Uniball UCAs Alcan Custom 8-Leaf Rear Spring Packs Fox 2.0 Resi Rear Shocks FrankenFab Rear Shock Relocate All-Pro U-bolt Flip w/Timbren bumps Toytec 1" Extended Shackle 4.88 Nitro Gears ARB Front Locker ARB Twin Compressor 15x8 D Window Steelies 33" BFG KM2s Limited Edition Relentless Front Bumper Smittybilt X2O 10K Winch Rugged Ridge 3" LED Pods w/Amber covers Mini D2S Projectors XB35 Ballasts + 4500K Bulbs Badland Sliders FrankenFab Tire Carrier Swingout bumper w/kitchen BudBuilt Front & Bellypan Skids BAMF Rear Diff Skid Whynter 65 qt. Fridge/Freezer CVT Mt Bachelor RTT Badland Custom Bed Rack GM 140 amp alternator Dual Northstar 24F AGM batteries BlueSea 7622 ML-ACR Battery controller Peak DBI Dual Battery Voltage Monitor Magnaflow 18" Muffler Braided Steel Brake Lines AFE Pro Dry S air filter ScanGauge II OBDII Scanner Kenwood TM-71A Dual Band Ham Radio Larson 70CM/2M Antenna Uniden 520xl CB radio 3' Firestik Adjustable tip antenna Pioneer DEH-P9400BH HU Alpine Amps & Type R components (F) and coaxials (R) Wet Okole Seat Covers Weathertech Digital Liners Deck Plate Mod 1" Diff Drop Carrier Bearing Drop
    Do you have a tach in your dash? Is it behaving erratically too? What about the odometer? From '98 on, the data to the dash is all electronic. Fly by wire. No rotating cable any more.



    Because there is no cable, there is no way to correct for error.
     
  6. Dec 13, 2010 at 3:07 PM
    #6
    TacomaJPP

    TacomaJPP To secure peace, is to prepare for war

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Member:
    #47218
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    East TN
    Vehicle:
    03 4WD TRD XTD Cab
    Snugtop Camper Brushguard
    Couldn't you actually adjust with a scangauge or something by "altering" your tire size factor?
     
  7. Dec 13, 2010 at 5:32 PM
    #7
    Digiratus

    Digiratus Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Member:
    #34006
    Messages:
    13,741
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Roaming the PNW
    Vehicle:
    The RedHead
    2002 XtraCab TRD 4x4 Auto Trans With Lots of Mods King Extended Travel COs Camburg Uniball UCAs Alcan Custom 8-Leaf Rear Spring Packs Fox 2.0 Resi Rear Shocks FrankenFab Rear Shock Relocate All-Pro U-bolt Flip w/Timbren bumps Toytec 1" Extended Shackle 4.88 Nitro Gears ARB Front Locker ARB Twin Compressor 15x8 D Window Steelies 33" BFG KM2s Limited Edition Relentless Front Bumper Smittybilt X2O 10K Winch Rugged Ridge 3" LED Pods w/Amber covers Mini D2S Projectors XB35 Ballasts + 4500K Bulbs Badland Sliders FrankenFab Tire Carrier Swingout bumper w/kitchen BudBuilt Front & Bellypan Skids BAMF Rear Diff Skid Whynter 65 qt. Fridge/Freezer CVT Mt Bachelor RTT Badland Custom Bed Rack GM 140 amp alternator Dual Northstar 24F AGM batteries BlueSea 7622 ML-ACR Battery controller Peak DBI Dual Battery Voltage Monitor Magnaflow 18" Muffler Braided Steel Brake Lines AFE Pro Dry S air filter ScanGauge II OBDII Scanner Kenwood TM-71A Dual Band Ham Radio Larson 70CM/2M Antenna Uniden 520xl CB radio 3' Firestik Adjustable tip antenna Pioneer DEH-P9400BH HU Alpine Amps & Type R components (F) and coaxials (R) Wet Okole Seat Covers Weathertech Digital Liners Deck Plate Mod 1" Diff Drop Carrier Bearing Drop
    The ScanGauge does allow the user to add or subtract an "adjustment" (a percentage) to compensate the results it displays. You would have to know how much the speedometer is off, then input that into the SC as a percent change number.

    For instance, going from a 31" diameter tire to a 32" is about a 5% change (in revolutions/mile).

    [​IMG]
    from the online tire size calculator

    I used this example because it is what was true for my situation. In my case, what was interesting is that after going to 32"s, the Garmin GPS showed my speedo was reading exactly what the GPS said for speed. :eek: What this indicates is that the speedo was under reporting from the factory with the stock wheel/tire combo.

    I have since read that stock speedometers are allowed to be under by up to 5% but not over.
     
  8. Dec 13, 2010 at 6:15 PM
    #8
    krzfastest2010

    krzfastest2010 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Member:
    #42894
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    01 sr5 v6 lifted
    where the hell is the speed sensor on the tranny? cant find it
     
  9. Dec 13, 2010 at 6:28 PM
    #9
    Miata Tech

    Miata Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Member:
    #46999
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Lawrence, KS
    Vehicle:
    2002 4X4 SR-5 TRD
    ChaseCam Video System, Optima YellowTop, ScanGauge II, Heated Drivers Seat, Sirius Satellite Radio, K&N Drop In, E-Locker Guard, Extang Black Max Tonneau , Streamlight Stinger, All Synthetic Fluids, USA-Spec iPhone Interface, Gentex Auto Dimming Compass/Temp Mirror
  10. Dec 13, 2010 at 6:30 PM
    #10
    krzfastest2010

    krzfastest2010 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Member:
    #42894
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    01 sr5 v6 lifted
    though that was it. THANK YOU
     
  11. Dec 14, 2010 at 5:23 PM
    #11
    TacomaJPP

    TacomaJPP To secure peace, is to prepare for war

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Member:
    #47218
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    East TN
    Vehicle:
    03 4WD TRD XTD Cab
    Snugtop Camper Brushguard
    Just a suggestion, but if it needs to be replaced, I would highly recommend replacing it with a genuine Toyota.

    Just my experience, I replaced (in a pinch) the reverse light switch and bought one from Advance Auto and it wouldn't work. It was dimensional wrong and wouldn't work. Thankfully I had already ordered one online and didn't have to wait long. I was in a big hurry for it because my bass boat has trailer brakes and it needs to receive a signal (via reverse lights) to disengage the brakes when backing up.
     
  12. Dec 14, 2010 at 7:49 PM
    #12
    Miata Tech

    Miata Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Member:
    #46999
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Lawrence, KS
    Vehicle:
    2002 4X4 SR-5 TRD
    ChaseCam Video System, Optima YellowTop, ScanGauge II, Heated Drivers Seat, Sirius Satellite Radio, K&N Drop In, E-Locker Guard, Extang Black Max Tonneau , Streamlight Stinger, All Synthetic Fluids, USA-Spec iPhone Interface, Gentex Auto Dimming Compass/Temp Mirror
    X2
     
  13. Dec 16, 2010 at 12:34 PM
    #13
    krzfastest2010

    krzfastest2010 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Member:
    #42894
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    01 sr5 v6 lifted
    the code my truck is displaying is the speed sensor A, Does that mean there are two sensors?
     
To Top