1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

speed detector wire

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 06TRDbama, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. Nov 28, 2007 at 7:41 PM
    #1
    06TRDbama

    06TRDbama [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Member:
    #2784
    Messages:
    51
    Maryville, TN
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    I got my eclipse navi/dvd unit in recently, and everything worked out great, but i cant find the damn speed sensor wire. i have seen several people say its the purple with white stripe in the black plug under the fuse box or behind the glove box, but i can not narrow it down. i can see several purple/white wires, but only one black plug below the fuse box and it doesnt seem to have the right number of pins. behind the glove box, there is ABSOLUTELY NO slack in the wires to splice into....any help/pics/suggestions? thanks guys
     
  2. Nov 28, 2007 at 7:52 PM
    #2
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,758
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
  3. Nov 28, 2007 at 7:56 PM
    #3
    MotoXFreeStyle61

    MotoXFreeStyle61 Displaced Texan

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1616
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5 4Cyl, Access Cab, 5
    Black Head Light Mod, Tacoma All Weather Mats, ScanGauge II, Tonnaeu Bed Cover, 40% Tint, Added Fog Lights, 600W x 1 Alpine MRP-M650 Amp, Alpine 10" Type-R SWR-1022D Sub, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Day Time Running Lights, K&N Drop In Air Filter (oiled), Westin Bullbar (Black Powder), Alpine IVA-W505 w/Nav, JL Audio 6.5" Front Speakers, Toyota SR5 Seat Covers, 2.5" Toytec Spacer
    I think thats a question to take up with pb2themax , I know that he has an Eclipse Nav/DVD unit. Hope that helps.
     
  4. Nov 28, 2007 at 8:00 PM
    #4
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,758
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    Speed Sense purple/white fuse box, black 13 pin plug, pin 5

    Note: Also found at the ECM behind the glove box, second plug from the bottom, pin 8

    this will work for any headunit requiring a speed wire
     
  5. Nov 28, 2007 at 8:27 PM
    #5
    06TRDbama

    06TRDbama [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Member:
    #2784
    Messages:
    51
    Maryville, TN
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    thanks for the replies guys but i have seen that stuff many times...i was hoping for a little more insight. has anyone else had the problem? like i said, there is only one black plug near the fuse box and it has like 8 or 9 pins...everything behind the glove box is extremely tightly wrapped up...i will give it another look tomorrow..thanks again
     
  6. Nov 29, 2007 at 2:39 PM
    #6
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,758
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    find the second plug from the bottom behind the glove box, pull it out, and then just use a vampire tap on that wire. may need to cut back some tape/protectant to get some room to tap it.
     
  7. Nov 29, 2007 at 7:30 PM
    #7
    06TRDbama

    06TRDbama [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Member:
    #2784
    Messages:
    51
    Maryville, TN
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    thanks man...i didnt think of actually disconnecting any of these plugs..the reverse wire was easy and didnt require it. worked like a charm..
     
  8. Nov 29, 2007 at 7:32 PM
    #8
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,163
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    What's the point of connecting it to the speed wire? Navigation purposes?
     
  9. Nov 29, 2007 at 8:09 PM
    #9
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,758
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    it helps the detailing of the NAV and w/ my n1, it has a setup for digital gauges on screen, so it'll give u the mph down to the tenth.

    EDIT: for the pioneers, its not a necessity, but it helps
     
  10. Nov 29, 2007 at 8:20 PM
    #10
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,163
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I figured you could use the GPS for that.
     
  11. Dec 3, 2007 at 8:06 AM
    #11
    06TRDbama

    06TRDbama [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Member:
    #2784
    Messages:
    51
    Maryville, TN
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    yea its not a necessity with any of them i dont think, but makes it more accurate, plug mine gives me a "check speed pulse wire" message every now and then
     
  12. May 22, 2011 at 5:38 PM
    #12
    EvilBetty

    EvilBetty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Member:
    #1409
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Kansas City, MO
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 Access Cab
    Visor CD Holder
    Having trouble finding this damn wire.

    Reverse Light red/white + driver kicker pannel, gray 12 pin plug, pin 1

    Speed Sense purple/white fuse box, black 13 pin plug, pin 5
    *Also found at the ECM behind the glove box, second plug from the bottom, pin 8.

    Fuse Box:

    I see a Purple / White Stripe wire in a black plug but it doesn't look to be in PIN 5?! It looks like it's in the very bottom right pin of the black plug on the left.

    [​IMG]

    Alternate location behind glove compartment, on ECU.

    Which one is the ECU? (white or black box)

    Which one is the second plug? The second including the empty socket?

    If the black one then I do see a purple / white coming out of the plug second from the bottom. Is this it?

    [​IMG]

    I think I've got to the red /white stripe wire found behind the kicker panel.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Aug 24, 2011 at 1:15 PM
    #13
    hcoulby

    hcoulby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Member:
    #62193
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Barry
    Baltimore
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Were these wires the right ones? I want to make sure before i butcher my baby.
     
  14. Aug 24, 2011 at 1:48 PM
    #14
    lbridges

    lbridges Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52434
    Messages:
    403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Indialantic, FL
    Vehicle:
    '11 PreRunner SR5
    The wire in the first pic for the speed (VSS) wire is correct, personally verified on a 2011 double cab. Haven't hooked up a reverse wire.
     
  15. Aug 26, 2011 at 8:44 AM
    #15
    EvilBetty

    EvilBetty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Member:
    #1409
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Kansas City, MO
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 Access Cab
    Visor CD Holder
    My speed sensor is not working (bad bite I think) but the reverse wire is working perfect.
     
  16. Aug 27, 2011 at 12:07 PM
    #16
    fbconvert

    fbconvert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55535
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma Double Cab TRD Sport
    Brought this wreck back from the dead, killed it, then revived it, still going strong.
    Not sure if this would be helpful but I snapped this picture of the speed sensor wire I had to run to my amp after I upgraded my head unit. My original post here.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Apr 13, 2012 at 5:52 PM
    #17
    EvilBetty

    EvilBetty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Member:
    #1409
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Kansas City, MO
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 Access Cab
    Visor CD Holder
    The purple / white stripe wire behind the drivers side fuse panel is DEFINATELY not the speed sensor wire on a 2005 v4 Access Cab. 3rd attempt this time I soldered the wire and still nothing. Lastly I hooked up a multimeter and was getting at most 50 millivolts from it and it never wavered driving around the block.

    I don't have a JBL system and my wires don't look like that last picture above. There are tons of purple/white wires behind the glove compartment.

    The Tacoma service manual for 05/06 talks about some yellow/red wire, but I don't see that either. WTF!?

    http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/ileaf/06toyewd/06toypdf/ewd/2006/tacoma/h/em01d45.pdf
     
  18. Apr 13, 2012 at 6:24 PM
    #18
    EvilBetty

    EvilBetty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Member:
    #1409
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Kansas City, MO
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 Access Cab
    Visor CD Holder
  19. Apr 14, 2012 at 1:41 PM
    #19
    EvilBetty

    EvilBetty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Member:
    #1409
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Kansas City, MO
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 Access Cab
    Visor CD Holder
    Ok so that is it... It's the purple / white stripe wire. Not the solid purple wire just above it.

    Thanks!
     
  20. Apr 15, 2012 at 6:58 AM
    #20
    fbconvert

    fbconvert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55535
    Messages:
    391
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tacoma Double Cab TRD Sport
    Brought this wreck back from the dead, killed it, then revived it, still going strong.
    Yeah in that picture I photoshopped a solid purple wire and then didn't say anything about it being purple with white stripes. I can see how that would be confusing. Glad everything worked out for you at least.
     
To Top