1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

speedometer change with bigger tire?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by cantac09, May 3, 2009.

  1. May 3, 2009 at 9:58 PM
    #1
    cantac09

    cantac09 [OP] Official TW Igloo Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Member:
    #16501
    Messages:
    7,397
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hugh Jass
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    tundra
    stock
    I am going to change my tires from a 265/70/16 to a 285/70/17 and i was wondering how much my speedometer is going to change and if it is worth getting re-calibrated
    thanks:)
     
  2. May 3, 2009 at 10:00 PM
    #2
    bajamoon

    bajamoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Member:
    #13269
    Messages:
    5,953
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    STEVE
    Whittier
    not sure how much, i did the same thing and really did not notice much when i drive by the signs that say your speed, not worth recalibrating.
     
  3. May 3, 2009 at 10:00 PM
    #3
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,132
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    At 60 mph, you will be going just over 62 mph.......Not worth it IMHO.
     
  4. May 3, 2009 at 10:17 PM
    #4
    cantac09

    cantac09 [OP] Official TW Igloo Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Member:
    #16501
    Messages:
    7,397
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hugh Jass
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    tundra
    stock
    ok thanks for your help guys
     
  5. May 3, 2009 at 10:20 PM
    #5
    afd23a

    afd23a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Member:
    #9483
    Messages:
    1,838
    Gender:
    Male
    The Dynamo of Dixie
    Vehicle:
    05 Access Cab 5 Lugger
    Factory Fog Lights, Removed Secondary Air Filter, Metra Ipod Adapter, Int Wiper Stalk, Wet Okole's, URD Short Shifter, Scanguage II w/Blendmount, Fat Bob's 2.75" spacer lift, ARE topper, SP Performance Pads & Slotted Rotors, 4.10 gears
    I asked the dealer about having the speedo re-calibrated. They said there is no such adjustment, however there are devices that claim to do it. The ones I've seen are kind of pricey for the speedo being off by only 3-5 mph at 60. I wouldn't spend my money on one.
     
  6. May 4, 2009 at 9:29 AM
    #6
    Rocketball

    Rocketball If The World Didn't Suck, We'd All Fall Off

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Member:
    #14869
    Messages:
    1,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Westminster, MD
    Vehicle:
    08 Speedway Blue DC Sport 4x4
    Pioneer head unit, PAC steering wheel control modual, Hard wired Sirius radio, Hard wired radar detector, Hella Supertone horns, Blacked out badges, Smoked Tails, BHLM (color matched Speedway Blue), T-Rex Eyelids, Black Powder Coated Billet Grill, Color Matched Engine Cover, Lund in channel vent visors, FJ Cruiser wheels, Leer 100XQ shell, OEM bed mat, Piezo beeper for locking doors, Tinted front side windows, Black Westin bull bar, Aires tube steps, Mini Maglite Mod, D-Cell Maglite Mod, Weathertech Digifit Floor Mats
    If your truck is like mine, your already going slower than the speed on the gauge is showing.

    I recently went on a road trip to pick up some goodies for my truck, and traveled a long distance on the PA Turnpike. They had the portable speed guns set up at a couple of places, and every one of those showed me going 2-3 MPG slower that the gauge was actually reading.

    I now have 265/70R17's and my actual MPH is right on what the gauge shows.
     
  7. May 4, 2009 at 11:32 AM
    #7
    cantac09

    cantac09 [OP] Official TW Igloo Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Member:
    #16501
    Messages:
    7,397
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hugh Jass
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    tundra
    stock
    i have never had my truck clocked before but even if it is only 2-3 kms over that shouldnt be a big dealer like the others guys told me
     
  8. May 4, 2009 at 11:32 AM
    #8
    cantac09

    cantac09 [OP] Official TW Igloo Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Member:
    #16501
    Messages:
    7,397
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hugh Jass
    Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    tundra
    stock
    but thanks i have never heard of that before
     
To Top