1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

sr5 temperature gauge

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by ColdSteelTiger, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. Oct 22, 2011 at 6:02 PM
    #1
    ColdSteelTiger

    ColdSteelTiger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Member:
    #65649
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    so since the sr5's do not have a temp gauge I was wondering if they come pre wired with the temp sensor so all I will have to do is install a mirror with a temp gauge in it or do i need a temp sensor as well?:confused:
     
  2. Oct 22, 2011 at 6:12 PM
    #2
    Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free 1983 - 2015... It was a good run

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    30,837
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    I think it's hit or miss. Another member said he was pre-wired with the thermometer but my 2007 SR5 does not have any of it.
     
  3. Oct 22, 2011 at 6:13 PM
    #3
    ColdSteelTiger

    ColdSteelTiger [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Member:
    #65649
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    oh ya I have a 2009
     
  4. Oct 22, 2011 at 10:04 PM
    #4
    MountainEarth

    MountainEarth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30519
    Messages:
    2,487
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD OR Access
    Leer 100XR Shell, BedRug mat - comfy sleeping, GT Covers microfiber seat covers, BFG All Terrains 265/70r16, Dashmat, Antennax 13" shorty antenna, Weathertech liners, Ultra Gauge, Avid Light Bar, PIAA 520 ATPs, one old dog
    Pull down the roof console. It's just a couple of screws inside the compartments. If you have a wire harness simply plugged into a plastic holder / dummy plug, then that should be the temp probe. You can then just buy the temp / compass cluster from the dealer, or off Craigslist or Ebay if available. Note that the 2009-2011 Tacos use a different plug than the 2005-2008s so temp / compass clusters from these years will not work in your 2009. The 2012s have the temp & compass in the mirror, but I don't know what kind of harness they use. It would be cool if they used the same probe / harness but I highly doubt it.
     
  5. Oct 23, 2011 at 12:45 AM
    #5
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    If you go to hacking one to work, please be aware that they changed the way that the temperature is reported to the compass/temp module in 2009. Probably the 2009 to 2012 models use the same signaling method, but I only recall people with 2009 and 2010 vehicles being able to swap their modules (and 2008-prior swapping with each other).

    A cheaper alternative is to use the intake air temp sensor and display it on the Scangauge. It reads (for me) between 5 and 10 degrees hotter than the outside temp.
     
  6. Oct 23, 2011 at 8:40 AM
    #6
    Tunngavik

    Tunngavik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Member:
    #24328
    Messages:
    1,967
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab SR5 4x4 5 speed 2.7l
    Fog lights with OEM switch - Heated mirrors with OEM style switch - Cab sound deadening - Lighted 4x4 switch - URD short shifter - Rear backup camera - 2012 rear view mirror (compass, outdoor temperature and backup video mirror) - Heated seats - 2014 Tacoma stereo install - Bluetooth with OEM steering wheel controls, Access roll-up tonneau cover
    The advice here is all correct. My addition is that if you have a 2.7l 4 cyl in the SR5 package that even though the outlet for the console is in the roof, you will need to use 2 wires and attach them to a temp. sensor you install at the front. If you have questions let me know.
     
  7. Oct 23, 2011 at 9:20 AM
    #7
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    Really? The HVAC system is supposed to use the exterior temp signal...I wouldn't think that would be an engine-dependent thing.
     
  8. Oct 23, 2011 at 10:12 AM
    #8
    myname150

    myname150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Member:
    #39827
    Messages:
    1,351
    Gender:
    Male
    x2 on the Scanguage.

    Especially if you're on the freeway, it's mostly accurate.
     
  9. Oct 23, 2011 at 8:19 PM
    #9
    Tunngavik

    Tunngavik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Member:
    #24328
    Messages:
    1,967
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab SR5 4x4 5 speed 2.7l
    Fog lights with OEM switch - Heated mirrors with OEM style switch - Cab sound deadening - Lighted 4x4 switch - URD short shifter - Rear backup camera - 2012 rear view mirror (compass, outdoor temperature and backup video mirror) - Heated seats - 2014 Tacoma stereo install - Bluetooth with OEM steering wheel controls, Access roll-up tonneau cover
  10. Oct 23, 2011 at 10:26 PM
    #10
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
  11. Nov 29, 2012 at 2:19 PM
    #11
    drewskie

    drewskie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Member:
    #38088
    Messages:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Burbank, CA.
    Vehicle:
    08 Prerunner 4 banger
To Top