1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Step by Step, How to Spray Paint with quality results.

Discussion in 'General Automotive' started by ERMB, Nov 9, 2015.

1. Nov 9, 2015 at 11:58 AM
    ERMB

ERMB [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2002 Land Cruiser
    Step by Step, How to Spray Paint with quality results.

I've had a few people ask me what steps were involved in painting my cap and bumper so I thought I'd put together this thread to help people who are attempting to paint or repaint parts of their truck.
    For the record, I would like to state that I am not a professional automotive painter, and I'm sure some of the things I have listed are not something a seasoned painter would do. These are just steps I took when I worked on some of my bigger paint projects that yielded pretty good results.

If you have information to add or think I should remove anything from my process please let me know and feel free to post suggestions as well as paint work you've done! I did not seem to find any threads like this so hopefully this will become beneficial to someone out there.....

I did lots of research on how to use the products as well as practiced my technique on other items and projects leading up to this one. Hopefully you can find this helpful as well.
    I watched some YouTube videos on how to paint a car, but I found this video on the
    Automotive Touch Up site to be the most helpful.

Materials:

Low tack masking tape 1/2in and 1in.
    Newspaper or masking paper to cover windows
    Tack cloth