1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

stock air pressure sensor on custom wheels?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by pse1cam, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. Jun 18, 2012 at 1:11 PM
    #1
    pse1cam

    pse1cam [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Member:
    #43068
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    pse1cam
    idaho
    Vehicle:
    2010 tacoma SR5 trd
    procomp 6" stage 1
    i am getting a 6" lift put on Wednesday. my new tires and wheels will be nitto mud grapplers and xd spy, 33/12.5/18. when i ordered these i did not have the air sensors installed. will my stock air pressure sensor i have on my truck work with these new tire/wheels?
     
  2. Jun 18, 2012 at 1:12 PM
    #2
    evh5150

    evh5150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Member:
    #75109
    Messages:
    456
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eddie
    Auburn,Ma
    Vehicle:
    2010 D/C S/B V6 6 Speed
    Bilstein/5100 combo from Toytec. LR UCA's.1.5 AAL's Full audio upgrade.Pioneer 8400, JL Audio subs. All Boston Acoustic pro speakers, and a Kenwood XRS 5 amp. Grillcraft, Smittybuilt stainless steps. Debadged. Soon 17x8 ATX Ledge wheels w/285/70/17 BF Goodrich
    don't bother unless you are going to run em year round
     
  3. Jun 18, 2012 at 1:17 PM
    #3
    Raddbus

    Raddbus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Member:
    #59529
    Messages:
    373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Russell
    Santa Maria
    Vehicle:
    TRUE BLU TACO
    Illuminated 4X4 switch, 3" lift,
    I just got new rims installed without the sensors, they are useless. sometime the light comes on and sometimes it doesn't. I didn't and wouldn't pay to have them put on.
     
  4. Jun 18, 2012 at 1:27 PM
    #4
    Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    22,381
    Gender:
    Male
    They will work with the after market wheels.
     
  5. Jun 18, 2012 at 2:12 PM
    #5
    pse1cam

    pse1cam [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Member:
    #43068
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    pse1cam
    idaho
    Vehicle:
    2010 tacoma SR5 trd
    procomp 6" stage 1
    thank you everyone, now i just have to decide whether to have them installed for $125 or not. i am having the work done @ the dealership, i don't know if they will even let me leave without them.
     
  6. Jun 18, 2012 at 2:17 PM
    #6
    Sje1124

    Sje1124 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Member:
    #45564
    Messages:
    5,028
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2010 DBL Cab TRD OR 4x4
    Just a few
    I have the sensor in my aftermarket wheels/ tires and they work fine
     
  7. Jun 21, 2012 at 7:22 PM
    #7
    jprovence

    jprovence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Member:
    #69099
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Albany
    Vehicle:
    11' Tacoma TRD
    Stock
    Just had some wheels and tires put on last night, and the tire guys transferred them over without any hassle. All works fine. Id rather have them then not. I like to know if I got a leak on the trail or something.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top