1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

stock head unit with aftermarket subs question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Jamiedubs, Oct 7, 2014.

  1. Oct 7, 2014 at 8:44 PM
    #1
    Jamiedubs

    Jamiedubs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136065
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego CA
    Vehicle:
    14 Taco off road
    First: Yes I did search for this related topic and did not find anything. Found a few things close but not exactly.


    Second:
    I have a 2014 stock tacoma with touch screen dash unit (not navigation) I love the unit, blue tooth works great, and it syncs up perfectly with my phone so I don't really want to swap it out.

    I know how to wire the sub and amp, and speakers in the doors, question is about the head unit. I have been told by friends that there is a kit you can use to adapt your stock head unit to amp outputs with a remote wire. Has anyone done this? If so, did you find it easy to do? And did you have to tap into the steering wheel control wiring (I doubt it but just asking).
     
  2. Oct 8, 2014 at 5:49 AM
    #2
    Wheelspinner

    Wheelspinner Coco Customs

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Member:
    #107741
    Messages:
    4,311
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    '13 4x4x4cyl
    Intrested to find this out too.
     
  3. Oct 8, 2014 at 6:41 AM
    #3
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    21,992
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
    I think what you are looking for is a LOC (line out connector). Taps into the speaker level outputs and provides an RCA and remote turn-on, along with some other tuning bits. I think one model is called CleanSweep. Might also post this in the Audio forum for input.
     
  4. Oct 8, 2014 at 7:04 AM
    #4
    357sig

    357sig Donut king

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Member:
    #31343
    Messages:
    52,321
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    dough boy
    donut shop
    Vehicle:
    Gold digger
    Correct! Or also called a really converter.
    Problem you might run into is trying to find the speaker wires behind the radio. Not really hard. Most of them are color matched.
     
  5. Oct 15, 2014 at 5:29 PM
    #5
    immski

    immski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Member:
    #133221
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Omaha, NE
    Vehicle:
    SR5 4X4 4 Cyl
  6. Oct 16, 2014 at 4:32 AM
    #6
    Lurkin

    Lurkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Member:
    #17497
    Messages:
    21,992
    First Name:
    Rod
    Pearland, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5 DC
  7. Oct 16, 2014 at 4:53 AM
    #7
    mbrogz3000

    mbrogz3000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Member:
    #65009
    Messages:
    1,087
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2020 Toyota 4Runner Limited
    Lots of info in the audio forum -

    To provide some basic guidance - As you turn up the volume on the stock head unit, the bass frequencies will automatically get reduced to nothing to prevent distorition and damage to the speakers. The stock head unit is tuned to operate only with the cheap stock speakers. That said, you cannot simply use cheap $10-$20 LOCs from the stock speaker level lines.

    Audiocontrol has some better LOCs that use frequency summation to flatten the source curve, however everyone that has one installed in the tacoma complains about pops and clicks and other noise.

    The only LOC that looks worthwhile at least to me is the JBL Cleansweep, which is about $300 - Cleansweep has an automatic calibration process you perform on install which flattens the source curve. A flat source curve is what you want to provide as input into your amps, otherwise you'll be missing certain frequencies from your music as you turn up the volume. At $300 however, you might want to start looking into aftermarket head units to achieve the same audio source quality.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014
  8. Oct 16, 2014 at 9:30 AM
    #8
    immski

    immski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Member:
    #133221
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Omaha, NE
    Vehicle:
    SR5 4X4 4 Cyl
    Ok. Thanks for the info. I may try the clean sweep. I really want the stock head unit. I am willing to try with this LOC first then see the results and later try the clean sweep. Thanks again.
     
  9. Oct 16, 2014 at 9:33 AM
    #9
    skootx

    skootx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #128066
    Messages:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Erie, CO
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tacoma TRD Off Road Double Cab Short Bed
    Icon Stage 1 Shocks & coils Deaver AAL Light Racing UCA's PAC SNI-35 line output converters, miniDSP, Rockford Fosgate R600X5, Rockford Fosgate Punch P3 P3SD210, Helix Blue B62C speakers, HELIX Blue B5X 5 speakers G4 Elite Fold A Cover Rear Diff Breather Relocation
    Check out the link in my sig. I did the exact same thing but used a miniDSP instead of clean sweep.
     
  10. Oct 19, 2014 at 3:10 PM
    #10
    Friedtacolover

    Friedtacolover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Member:
    #137481
    Messages:
    1,561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis
    Ontario, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB Off Road 4x4
    my build tread: https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/socal-no-shame-poser-build.513084/
    Dont waste your time with hi low converter. See my post about adding subwoofer to jbl system. All you need is a "add-fuse" low profile mini fuse for your remote wire in #4 fuse spot and an amp that has hi level input like a fosgate. No rca are needed.

     
  11. Oct 19, 2014 at 3:13 PM
    #11
    Friedtacolover

    Friedtacolover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Member:
    #137481
    Messages:
    1,561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Travis
    Ontario, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB Off Road 4x4
    my build tread: https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/socal-no-shame-poser-build.513084/
    Sold.

    I have an accubass loc2 for sale for 50$ notmally 80$ if anyone wants it. One of the best loc out there. I just used my high level inputs so never opened this.

     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014
  12. Oct 21, 2014 at 10:04 PM
    #12
    Jamiedubs

    Jamiedubs [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Member:
    #136065
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego CA
    Vehicle:
    14 Taco off road
    Thanks!
     
  13. Oct 21, 2014 at 10:36 PM
    #13
    012TacoDeAsada

    012TacoDeAsada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Member:
    #121760
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    West Whittier
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma MGM
    Icon all around,sick nicks fab front bumper..bfg a/t 275 80 17 on konig counter steer x,all pro rear bumper,5k hid,3k fog lights,rockford fosgate sound system on stock stereo,tints
    Also look into the Rockford fosgate 3sixty rbld.it's a converter that also gives you a remote out so you just plug into left and right high level outputs ..pretty easy..I used to run it before I got a sound processor..
     
  14. Oct 22, 2014 at 8:21 AM
    #14
    manethon

    manethon TTAS

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Member:
    #114161
    Messages:
    3,580
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Toronto
    Many
    RF 360 bld is a nice unit
     

Products Discussed in

To Top