1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

stock stereo question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by colinb17, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. Jan 31, 2008 at 5:58 PM
    #1
    colinb17

    colinb17 [OP] If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    18,585
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    so, i assume it's like this in all of the 2nd gens...but just in case it isn't, in the 07, on the stock stereo, there is a button that says "text" on it...i'm guessing that the function of that is to show the name of the song that is playing?

    so my question is, is that what it's really for, and if so, how do you get the function to work?
     
  2. Jan 31, 2008 at 6:01 PM
    #2
    eborgie

    eborgie Mean Big Brother

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Member:
    #3118
    Messages:
    3,295
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Norton, MA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra CrewMax
    the stereo will recognize certain text embedded on the CD. If you hit the button it shows the CD name and hit it again and it shows the track name
     
  3. Jan 31, 2008 at 6:04 PM
    #3
    PatheticJoe

    PatheticJoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2943
    Messages:
    299
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport - Access Cab
    You have to put a CD in there that has "CD Text" on it, then the your good to go.
     
  4. Jan 31, 2008 at 6:09 PM
    #4
    colinb17

    colinb17 [OP] If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4127
    Messages:
    18,585
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Colin
    Lusby, MD
    Vehicle:
    '07 TRD Sport 4x4
    Build thread in sig...
    sweet, i guess none of my current CDs have that. is there a way to tell if a cd has that when you're buying it?
     
  5. Feb 1, 2008 at 4:14 PM
    #5
    maverick491

    maverick491 Towing Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1462
    Messages:
    1,108
    Gender:
    Male
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 Access Cab, TRD off road, 6 cyl, 6 spd
    Activator III brake controller, Extang Fulltilt toneau, Factory bed mat, Extra D-rings in the bed, 2ndary air filter removed, Garmin Ique GPS, Eco-2, AFE Pro Dry-s filter, USASPEC PA12-toy, Pioneer 3-way speakers, SG II on Blendmount, Gulf States Alarm added.
    Not sure if there is a way to tell if a store bought CD has text or not, but through the USA spec pa-12toy ipod interface, the text button shows the text info from the Ipod.

    Also, if you burn a cd from your MP3s on your computer, that should carry the text information as well, atleast mine do.
     
  6. Feb 1, 2008 at 4:17 PM
    #6
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,093
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    usually they are labeled as "enhanced" cd's at the stores
     
  7. Feb 3, 2008 at 1:22 PM
    #7
    kevinkay

    kevinkay Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Member:
    #4554
    Messages:
    13
    St. Charles, IL
    Vehicle:
    2008 Double Cab TRD
    Many FM stations broadcast extra info, usually the Artist and Song, sometimes a little advertising for themselves. All of my "new" cars since the late 1990's have had this. This is the 1st one that you have to push a button to get the info and (unfortunately) it goes back to the non-helpful description of the FM frequency after about 20 seconds. If the FM station is broadcasting RDS info, there will be a little MSG note in the upper right corner.

    BTW, if anyone knows how to KEEP the RDS text on the screen, please let me know.
     
  8. Feb 3, 2008 at 2:03 PM
    #8
    maverick491

    maverick491 Towing Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1462
    Messages:
    1,108
    Gender:
    Male
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 Access Cab, TRD off road, 6 cyl, 6 spd
    Activator III brake controller, Extang Fulltilt toneau, Factory bed mat, Extra D-rings in the bed, 2ndary air filter removed, Garmin Ique GPS, Eco-2, AFE Pro Dry-s filter, USASPEC PA12-toy, Pioneer 3-way speakers, SG II on Blendmount, Gulf States Alarm added.
    Do you have the JBL radio?

    I know that stations here in the Philadelphia market do broadcast RDS info, and that some Toyota radios pick it up (my mother's 05 Solara), but my non-JBL 6 disc radio in my 07 taco does not display the RDS info.

    To answer your question, I don't think there is a way to keep the RDS info up, or atleast I still have not figured out how to keep RDS info up for longer than the 20 seconds or so on her radio.
     
  9. Feb 3, 2008 at 2:07 PM
    #9
    kevinkay

    kevinkay Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Member:
    #4554
    Messages:
    13
    St. Charles, IL
    Vehicle:
    2008 Double Cab TRD
    I believe (according to the manual, yes I read it) only the JBL (which the manual calls it Type 3) has the TEXT button, and therefore the only one that displays RDS.
     
  10. Feb 3, 2008 at 2:16 PM
    #10
    maverick491

    maverick491 Towing Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1462
    Messages:
    1,108
    Gender:
    Male
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 Access Cab, TRD off road, 6 cyl, 6 spd
    Activator III brake controller, Extang Fulltilt toneau, Factory bed mat, Extra D-rings in the bed, 2ndary air filter removed, Garmin Ique GPS, Eco-2, AFE Pro Dry-s filter, USASPEC PA12-toy, Pioneer 3-way speakers, SG II on Blendmount, Gulf States Alarm added.
    They all have the text button, my non JBL 6 disc, even the single CD radio. I guess it is just the JBL that can receive the RDS signals.

    Can anyone else confirm this for me, just so I know if I need to take it in for a warranty radio.
     
  11. Feb 3, 2008 at 5:22 PM
    #11
    L_Jackson

    L_Jackson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Member:
    #2093
    Messages:
    450
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2007 Black Sand Pearl PreRunner Acce
    Tinted Windows, Tow Hitch, 3" Toytec Lift, American Racing Outlaw II Wheels, Cooper Discoverer 33's, Aries Bull Bar w/ (2) 5" Lights, Nerf Bars, Fog Lights as DTR Lights, Roll Bar w/ (4) 5" Lights, Sony Speakers, 2 Extra Tie Downs
    colinB17, you could be like me, and most of the cd's you have are too old..... None of my johnny cash, waylon, or led zepplin cd's have txt, but like maveric said, when you burn one on your cd it shows up..... kinda crappy tho cuz it doesn't scroll, you only get the first 10 characters or whatever......

    example:
    if you have 10 songs on your cd by red hot chilli peppers, instead of seeing "red hot chilli peppers - californication" scroll, every song will say "Red Hot Chil" and that's it. i think it should scroll the whole length of the title myself, but that is my take on it.
     
  12. Feb 3, 2008 at 5:27 PM
    #12
    maverick491

    maverick491 Towing Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1462
    Messages:
    1,108
    Gender:
    Male
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    07 4x4 Access Cab, TRD off road, 6 cyl, 6 spd
    Activator III brake controller, Extang Fulltilt toneau, Factory bed mat, Extra D-rings in the bed, 2ndary air filter removed, Garmin Ique GPS, Eco-2, AFE Pro Dry-s filter, USASPEC PA12-toy, Pioneer 3-way speakers, SG II on Blendmount, Gulf States Alarm added.
    press and hold the text button, and it will scroll. Of-course it won't continue to scroll. It'll go through once and then go back to "Red Hot Chil"

    I agree with you it should keep scrolling, but I haven't figured out the mod for that yet, but I'm working on it. LOL.
     
  13. Feb 3, 2008 at 6:01 PM
    #13
    L_Jackson

    L_Jackson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Member:
    #2093
    Messages:
    450
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2007 Black Sand Pearl PreRunner Acce
    Tinted Windows, Tow Hitch, 3" Toytec Lift, American Racing Outlaw II Wheels, Cooper Discoverer 33's, Aries Bull Bar w/ (2) 5" Lights, Nerf Bars, Fog Lights as DTR Lights, Roll Bar w/ (4) 5" Lights, Sony Speakers, 2 Extra Tie Downs
    gettin off topic here sorry, but this why i LOVE this forum!!!!! i had no idea you hold the text and it would scroll!!! it is awesome how some of know some stuff and others know diff. but together we are "know it all's":D

    it really is an awesome thing to have such a great place to go to with all these diff. questions and some of us have been there done that and we can help each other......

    all heil tacoma world!!!!
     
To Top