1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stock switch and location for ARB Compressor?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Col4bin, Apr 15, 2018.

  1. Apr 15, 2018 at 6:19 AM
    #1
    Col4bin

    Col4bin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Member:
    #249606
    Messages:
    955
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR Double Cab
    just about to transplant my ARB CKMTA12 compressor from my Vanagon in to the taco, using the Slee Mount. I’m not ready to do an sPOD or similar YET, so would love advice/imagery of a stock appearance compressor switch in a 3rd gen. I still have the stock ARB Carling switch but prefer not to use for a variety of reasons. Thank you!
     
  2. Apr 15, 2018 at 10:18 AM
    #2
    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT

    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT bearly famous

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Member:
    #187524
    Messages:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR 4X4 DCSB Quicksand
  3. Apr 15, 2018 at 11:12 AM
    #3
    Col4bin

    Col4bin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Member:
    #249606
    Messages:
    955
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR Double Cab
    Thanks, really appreciate that. Is there a write up that you have seen of the install? I haven’t touched a thing on the truck yet :/
     
  4. Apr 15, 2018 at 11:16 AM
    #4
    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT

    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT bearly famous

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Member:
    #187524
    Messages:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR 4X4 DCSB Quicksand
    I will look around. Where are you mounting it? I know some people are modifying the bracket so it fits up by the front radiator support as it takes up the space for a dual battery system.
     
    Col4bin [OP] likes this.
  5. Apr 15, 2018 at 11:20 AM
    #5
    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT

    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT bearly famous

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Member:
    #187524
    Messages:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR 4X4 DCSB Quicksand
  6. Apr 15, 2018 at 11:22 AM
    #6
    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT

    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT bearly famous

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Member:
    #187524
    Messages:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR 4X4 DCSB Quicksand
  7. Apr 15, 2018 at 11:27 AM
    #7
    crazysccrmd

    crazysccrmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Member:
    #181592
    Messages:
    4,230
    Gender:
    Male
    You don’t have to mount the switch in the truck if you aren’t using lockers. You can simplify the install by putting the switch next to the compressor. My switch is right next to the compressor under the hood and it makes sense because I have to open the hood anyway to plug in the air hose.
     
  8. Apr 15, 2018 at 11:37 AM
    #8
    SearArtist

    SearArtist Player Hater #001

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Member:
    #174151
    Messages:
    13,709
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR, 2006 GX 470 Unicorn
    Yes.
  9. Apr 15, 2018 at 11:39 AM
    #9
    Col4bin

    Col4bin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Member:
    #249606
    Messages:
    955
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR Double Cab
    Hasn’t thought of that...
     
  10. Apr 15, 2018 at 11:42 AM
    #10
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    851
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    I have the CH switches. Installing mine this afternoon on the slee bracket
     
    Col4bin [OP] likes this.
  11. Apr 15, 2018 at 12:52 PM
    #11
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    851
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    Here's a pic of the CH 4x4 ones installed in truck where the cubby was...

    20180415_124922.jpg
     
  12. Apr 15, 2018 at 7:55 PM
    #12
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    851
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    Another with the compressor physically installed. I need to finish the wiring properly. I somehow didn't get the right size heat shrink to do it correctly so I stopped. I'll get some and finish it later this week. I still need to mount and plumb the 1 gal ARB tank as well.

    20180415_154440.jpg
     
  13. Apr 15, 2018 at 8:07 PM
    #13
    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT

    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT bearly famous

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Member:
    #187524
    Messages:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR 4X4 DCSB Quicksand
    I would put a comp there but my second battery is in the way.

    Your engine bay is so clean! Wanna come clean mine? Also what's going on with that wiring along the upper edge of the firewall?
     
  14. Apr 15, 2018 at 8:56 PM
    #14
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    851
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    lol, the truck has <450mi on it. They arrive pretty clean! Just got it Friday.

    The wiring is for the compressor, locker solenoids and switches. I just loosely put it in so if I need to pull it here or there I can before I tighten it all down. The solenoids for the lockers are part of that as well (the two loose white connectors). I'll tie back the one I don't need for now (the rear), the other will be for the front locker.

    The cables in the package are too long for a Tacoma, which is expected since they are a generic kit. I have some inner tube I'll put it in when it's all set. You won't notice the excess is there for the main power cable. I'm planning on cutting the switch cable to reduce it's length (it's really long so you could probably install the switches most anywhere in the cabin). I might just leave it though. It's not really in the way.

    Anyway, I was planning on getting almost all of this done today, but didn't want to power it up without the switches properly installed. I'll get the right size heat shrink tomorrow. It won't take long to clean the cabling up though. It will take longer to solder the wiring.
     
    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT likes this.
  15. Apr 15, 2018 at 8:58 PM
    #15
    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT

    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT bearly famous

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Member:
    #187524
    Messages:
    1,575
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OR 4X4 DCSB Quicksand
    Makes sense. What sold you on the front locker? I am regearing soon and keep going back and forth if I want a locker...I haven't found a situation yet that a front locker would get me out of, and I'd rather an E-locker to match the rear end....but on the other hand, I'd certainly like to install it while I have everything pulled apart.
     
  16. Apr 15, 2018 at 9:19 PM
    #16
    ksj

    ksj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Member:
    #10907
    Messages:
    851
    Gender:
    Male
    Pacific NW
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    265/70-17 KO2
    Loose rock on wet mountain roads/trails. Not really rock crawling, but for having traction when needed when it's somewhat steep and there isn't a lot of road, or what's there is wet and almost freezing. Or just muddy from rain in the spring.

    As for air versus electronic, I'm sure they have gotten better, but the e-lockers did not have the greatest reputation for reliability. There are lots of arguments for and against on both sides, but I planned on installing a compressor anyway so...

    Edit - I forgot to mention the moss. It rains a lot here, and some mountain roads get little to no sun parts of the year. It can get very slippery.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
    BEAR_KNIFE_FIGHT likes this.
  17. Apr 26, 2018 at 4:47 PM
    #17
    Cudgel

    Cudgel “Tonka”

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Member:
    #214640
    Messages:
    3,152
    Gender:
    Male
    Live in: An Ocean of Plastic Trash
    Vehicle:
    2017 OR DCLB
    ICON8 Lift -285s. upTOPoverland rack.
    Sorry this just makes too much sense. Where’s the mod, fab or senseless vanity in that? But, seeing as the only thing holding me back from installing my air was that I have no more switch locations, I’ve decided you are brilliant!

     
  18. Oct 24, 2018 at 1:49 PM
    #18
    Col4bin

    Col4bin [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Member:
    #249606
    Messages:
    955
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR Double Cab
    pic of said switch and mounting would be awesome!
     
  19. Oct 24, 2018 at 2:10 PM
    #19
    crazysccrmd

    crazysccrmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Member:
    #181592
    Messages:
    4,230
    Gender:
    Male
    It’s the one that comes in the box and mounted next to the washer fluid bottle. I’m a few thousand miles from home right now so no pictures.
     
  20. May 29, 2019 at 7:13 PM
    #20
    derelique

    derelique Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Member:
    #199175
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 4x4
    ARB F/R Lockers 9500 Synthetic Wench
    Hey man, your truck looks great! Have you had any issues with the CH switches using the ARB compressor/locker?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top