1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stop Lights

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Chachie, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. Jan 21, 2010 at 8:48 AM
    #1
    Chachie

    Chachie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    Idk if I am the only one with this issue but there are a few lights around where i live that no matter how long i sit there in my taco, the light wont change(usually the turn lane). Anybody else have this issue?
     
  2. Jan 21, 2010 at 8:53 AM
    #2
    Danosabre

    Danosabre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Member:
    #24388
    Messages:
    1,042
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Gardner,Ma
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Off Road
    Extang Trifold bed cover,DDM 55W 6000k HID, maglight, Vent visors
    Not unless I'm on my motorcycle... then I'll sit there about a minute then run it.
     
  3. Jan 21, 2010 at 8:53 AM
    #3
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,897
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Is there a piezo sensor in that lane?
     
  4. Jan 21, 2010 at 8:55 AM
    #4
    Zac808

    Zac808 Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    It's maybe because your lifted 6". There are certain sensors in some lanes that use magnets to sense if there is a vehicle. I know when I had my gixxer there was a light near my house that never worked for me. A buddy of mine told me to call NDOT(NevDepofTrans) and have them adjust the sensor. So I met w/ NDOT on that street, put my bike in the lane and the adjusted it to sense when a motorcycle was at the light.

    Since your lifted 6", I'm thinking that there is not enough magnetic pickup.
     
  5. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:03 AM
    #5
    Chachie

    Chachie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    Thats what i was thinking too. I sat there the other night and waited while the light went through 3 cycles before i ran it(it was 11pm so 3 cycles took about a minute). It seems like a lot of areas around me are actually shutting the lights off (blinking red) after 10pm.
     
  6. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:06 AM
    #6
    Zac808

    Zac808 Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    You can try and call the DOT in your area. Keep in mind, they mind not help you because your truck is modified. But I would give it a shot. I've been to a few states where after 10pm it blinks red. If they did that in Vegas, the boozies would blow right through it and there would be a lot more accidents.
     
  7. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:09 AM
    #7
    Chachie

    Chachie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    Haha, ya ill bet. I think ill just live with it. 1, there is a side street that is 100yds up the road that goes to the exact same destination, and 2, dealing with ca DOT or caltrans is more pain than its worth. lol
     
  8. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:15 AM
    #8
    Zac808

    Zac808 Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    6" lift trumps working stop lights IMO. LOL.
     
  9. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:21 AM
    #9
    Chachie

    Chachie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    Hell yes it does. I realized just how grateful i am of my lift when all the roads to and from my house were under 1-2' of water yesterday morning. The thing that took the longest was waiting for all the cars ahead of me to turn around. lol
     
  10. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:43 AM
    #10
    cohrmundt

    cohrmundt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Member:
    #25201
    Messages:
    638
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cullen
    TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    2006 TRD SPORT 4X4
    4.88 nitro gears, Detroit rear, Projector headlights, Relentless Fab custom bumpers and sliders, 6" Pro Comp suspension, all pro leafs, 37x13.5x17 toyo open country tires, method racing wheels, Flowmaster exhaust w/cutout, DTLT headers, K&N CAI, URD MAF calibrator, grillcraft grill with 30" and 20" led bars behind, windshield mounted 50" led bar, Infinity 6x9 speakers, Custom box w/MTX 7500 10"sub, MTX 1200 watt amp, blue led gauge cluster and radio mod, URD short shifter, fiberwerx fenders
    I have this same problem as well, most of the time in turn lanes. It has got to be because of the lift on my truck. I have also had this problem in some gated apartment complexes in my area. I pull up to the gate and it doesnt sense my truck, i then have to wait on somebody, or walk through the gate and type in the code and run back to my truck to make it through before it closes again. lol
     
  11. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:46 AM
    #11
    Chachie

    Chachie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    Haha and our trucks are just about identical. Maybe they are just hatin on the speedway blue.
     
  12. Jan 21, 2010 at 9:47 AM
    #12
    astral

    astral On my second taco now....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28482
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2011 TX PRO
    I seem to remember someone having a fix for this for motorcycles, some kind of device that helps trip the sensor.... I wonder if it would work for trucks.
     
  13. Jan 21, 2010 at 10:09 AM
    #13
    Rhino8541

    Rhino8541 I like ze best!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Member:
    #25638
    Messages:
    959
    Gender:
    Male
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma TRD Sport
    Check out my build thread.
    I've never had this problem in my truck afaik, but I have noticed it on my bike. Maybe the crappy lights around here in general are to blame, they suck no matter what vehicle you are in. They will stay green at parts of the intersection that have no cars!
     
  14. Jan 21, 2010 at 10:14 AM
    #14
    Chachie

    Chachie [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Member:
    #28047
    Messages:
    1,849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Nor Cal
    Vehicle:
    '06 TRD OR, 4x4, Auto, 6" Fabtech, 35's
    Locker mod, Anytime fog mod, always 400w mod.
    Ya this light has been around for a while. So im guessing that its just the combo of the lifted truck and old sensor. iirc i saw something like a magnet dongle or something on JCWhitney that was supposed to fix this issue.
     
To Top