1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

storage under the radio & power outlet addition

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TAC1, May 22, 2012.

  1. May 22, 2012 at 7:28 PM
    #1
    TAC1

    TAC1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Member:
    #56594
    Messages:
    2,303
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Petros "Peter" AGE: 43
    Miami, Florida
    Vehicle:
    DCSB 4.0 Auto PreRunn
    FRONT: OEM PreRunner coils, 5100's @ .85, MaxTrac Spindles, 1/4" Taco lean spacer. ground to fender base: LF & RF: 40"'s hub to fender base::::: LF & RF: 25"'s REAR: 2012 OEM 3/1 leafs, Wheelers 3 leaf AAL, 2" Tapered steel block. Bilstein F4-BE5-B110-T5 ground to fender base: LR & RR: 41"'s hub to fender base::::: LR & RR: 26"'s All mud flaps trimmed 4"'s shorter.
    Hello,

    I have an '08 Prerunner SR5 DC with the 4.0. I only have 2 power outlets in the lower section of the dash. I am interested in installing a 12v power outlet in the little plastic square to the right of the radio & one in the plastic panel behind the center console. Is there a power wire that I can tap to supply power to these 2 outlets & not damage anything or do I have to find a power source in the fuse block under the dash on the drivers side?

    Also, if anyone is running a similiar set up aftermarket radio, do you have any ideas on what to put in that space?

    Thanks:D

    http://i1056.photobucket.com/albums/t379/TACRUN1/Photo1043.jpg
    http://i1056.photobucket.com/albums/t379/TACRUN1/Photo1042.jpg
     
  2. May 22, 2012 at 7:29 PM
    #2
    tostidos

    tostidos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Member:
    #48149
    Messages:
    4,766
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Apple Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 LT 6spd
    you might be able to run off one of the 12v plug wires
     
  3. May 22, 2012 at 7:31 PM
    #3
    tostidos

    tostidos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Member:
    #48149
    Messages:
    4,766
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Apple Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 LT 6spd
    now for the center console you will probably have to run a power wire to it. I dont there is anything down that way
     
  4. May 23, 2012 at 10:59 AM
    #4
    Ostrichsak

    Ostrichsak Don't taze me bro!

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Member:
    #76327
    Messages:
    8,654
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jer
    Northern Colorado, USA
    Vehicle:
    Supercharged '10 Tacoma 4x4 TRD
    TRD Supercharger + too much stuff to list. Click sig pic
    Have you considered tapping off of one of the wires for the existing plugs? :D
     
To Top