1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Stove won't stop ticking(igniters)

Discussion in 'Garage / Workshop' started by Zac808, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:27 PM
    #1
    Zac808

    Zac808 [OP] Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    WTF?? My stove is possessed. About 10 mins after my wife got done cooking, the ignitors started ticking. I checked all knobs to make sure they are in the off position. Only way to stop the ticking is by turning off the circuit breaker. Which unfortunately powers the fridge as well:mad:. Anybody have this happen before? Any thought?
     
  2. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:31 PM
    #2
    Superx2

    Superx2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Member:
    #51552
    Messages:
    1,619
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Iowa
    how old is the unit?
     
  3. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:31 PM
    #3
    meeestirg

    meeestirg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43661
    Messages:
    1,414
    Gender:
    Male
    D15, CA
    to be safe turn off the gas ball valve when not in use. and unplug it if it has a cord. until you get it repaired.

    usually it means you have to clean the burners and some of the other little components. its it's an expensive stove you might have to hire someone
     
  4. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:33 PM
    #4
    Zac808

    Zac808 [OP] Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    7 years.

    Sent frum mobul fone soe don't freek out about my speling and grahmar. ;)
     
  5. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:39 PM
    #5
    Superx2

    Superx2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Member:
    #51552
    Messages:
    1,619
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    Iowa
    its possible that your knobs may be bad. i would shut the as off (to the stove) and unplug it from the wall when not in use.
     
  6. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:43 PM
    #6
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    I am an appliance repair technician by trade.:D More than likely, your wife either spilled something or cleaned the stove after using it. In doing so, some moisture has made it's way into the electrical switches that sit directly below the knobs that operate each burner. Unplug it, wait a day or two and then plug it back in. Usually when I get these types of service calls, the customer unplugs it, calls for service, I go out a couple days later and plug it back in and it works fine. Wait it out, save yourself some money, I doubt you hurt anything. Usually a gas cooktop just plugs into an outlet in the wall, should be no need to turn off a breaker. There is no need to turn off the gas either, unless you smell gas.
     
  7. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:51 PM
    #7
    Zac808

    Zac808 [OP] Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    Thanks. My stove is built in to the counter. I found the gas line inside the cabinets, but stove plug is no where to be found.

    Sent frum mobul fone soe don't freek out about my speling and grahmar. ;)
     
  8. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:55 PM
    #8
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Normally you should be able to see a regular power cord coming out of the bottom of the cooktop. Sometimes it's hard to see if there's a lot going on under there. Should be able to follow the cord to an outlet, or a wall box. Hopefully the didn't put the plug behind something else, like a built in oven.
     
  9. Aug 28, 2011 at 10:59 PM
    #9
    Zac808

    Zac808 [OP] Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    Im pretty sure its behind the built in oven.

    Sent frum mobul fone soe don't freek out about my speling and grahmar. ;)
     
  10. Aug 28, 2011 at 11:03 PM
    #10
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Maybe find another outlet and a heavy extension cord to use for a day or two to power the fridge till the switches dry out.
     
  11. Aug 28, 2011 at 11:08 PM
    #11
    Zac808

    Zac808 [OP] Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,816
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    U sir, are a genius.

    Sent frum mobul fone soe don't freek out about my speling and grahmar. ;)
     
  12. Aug 29, 2011 at 7:04 PM
    #12
    joes06tacoma

    joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Member:
    #28588
    Messages:
    3,056
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Not a genius, just deal with these things every day.:rolleyes:
     
To Top