1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Subwoofer to factory radio?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by SPiTFiReMV, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. Feb 21, 2014 at 9:40 AM
    #1
    SPiTFiReMV

    SPiTFiReMV [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #122655
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nate
    Cape Cod
    Vehicle:
    05 SR5 A/T DCSB 4x4
    aFe Stage 2 Intake
    I have a 2005 Tacoma with factory radio A51810. Found out that it doesn't have RCA for adding a subwoofer. Is there an adapter or a way to splice that end into the factory radio? If I get a new radio I'll have to do a lot of extra wiring because I'll need an adapter for the steering wheel controls. Gets expensive and tedious.

    ****UPDATE****
    PAC SNI-35 Adjustable 2-Channel Line Out Converter
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001EAWS3W/

    I'll update if it works
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
  2. Mar 31, 2014 at 11:40 AM
    #2
    AJGIL

    AJGIL New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Member:
    #125914
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    A.J.
    san antonio, tx
    Vehicle:
    double cab 2 wheel drive Tacoma
    235 75r15 tires on 15'' konig wheels
    yes, that will work. However, if you are putting in a subwoofer you clearly want better sound. Going with an aftermarket head unit is the way to go. Spend some decent money. Higher end head units should have the wiring to make your steering wheel controls work.
     
  3. Apr 1, 2014 at 4:35 AM
    #3
    SPiTFiReMV

    SPiTFiReMV [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #122655
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nate
    Cape Cod
    Vehicle:
    05 SR5 A/T DCSB 4x4
    aFe Stage 2 Intake
    Thanks. The device did work. However, something in the factory head unit burned out when trying to get the remote wire from the amp to work. I now have a new head unit and all is up and running. I was hoping to keep the original look, but it just became too complicated.
     
  4. Apr 1, 2014 at 9:55 AM
    #4
    2013TacoLTD

    2013TacoLTD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Member:
    #116560
    Messages:
    237
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dennis
    Mckinney, TX
    Vehicle:
    13 Tacoma Limited V6 4X2
    Radio On Mod, Complete new stereo with 10" subs, Truxedo bed cover, GT-MAT through doors and rear cab.
    Same thing happened to mine. I am not mad though, the new deck was a huge upgrade.

    What deck did you install?
     
  5. Apr 2, 2014 at 5:52 AM
    #5
    SPiTFiReMV

    SPiTFiReMV [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Member:
    #122655
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nate
    Cape Cod
    Vehicle:
    05 SR5 A/T DCSB 4x4
    aFe Stage 2 Intake
  6. Apr 2, 2014 at 6:02 AM
    #6
    CowboyTaco

    CowboyTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Member:
    #41928
    Messages:
    1,325
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD Sport
    Ironman Lift w/ Dakar Leaf Pack, Relentless Rock Sliders, AllPro IFS Skid Plate, WeatherTech Floor Liners and LampGards.
    The line level adapter worked very well when I added a subwoofer to a car that had a Bose sound system. I can't imagine that it wouldn't work the same on a non-Bose system.

    Just in case anyone searches for this in the future.
     
To Top