1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

switch mounting.....

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by cole47, May 9, 2009.

  1. May 9, 2009 at 11:47 AM
    #1
    cole47

    cole47 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Member:
    #10400
    Messages:
    1,131
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cole
    Hickory NC
    Vehicle:
    Ray of Sunshine
    lift, wheels, tires
    Does anybody know where i can mount more switches on my 1st gen double cab??? i alrede have 2 switches in the aux. spots under the ash tray, and the spot above the clock is where my CB mic is.....im looking to install some small lights on my rear bumper for some extra sight while backing at night. where can i mount more switches???? im not rele looking to do a whole lot of cutting but i will if i have to.
     
  2. May 10, 2009 at 7:58 AM
    #2
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,136
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    (1) You can swap out the clock for a switch installation.

    (2) If it were me, I'd install the switch on the center console, so I could flip it while my hand is in the vicinity shifting into reverse.

    (3) It's also pretty common to mount new switches on the lower left dash panel.
     
  3. May 10, 2009 at 12:57 PM
    #3
    monoman

    monoman Time to get dirty!

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8607
    Messages:
    990
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Exotic, San Jose, Cal.
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tacoma Dbl Cab 4X4
    I installed one for my back up lights here.....or, you can put one or two by the cup holders....

    PICT0069.jpg
     
  4. May 10, 2009 at 1:06 PM
    #4
    Ridgerunner

    Ridgerunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5269
    Messages:
    3,616
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2001 prerunner doublecab limited
    2001 with; cat-back twin exhaust,elbow mod, Westin bullbar with Hella550's, Snugtop XTR camper shell, TRD off-road 2x4-black beauty.
    [​IMG]
    See that green light between the steering wheel on the dash? That is an actual switch zone provided factory. That little square panel pops out and you can drill a hole onto it, mount a switch and pop it right back in.
    Thats the switch for my hellas:)
     
  5. May 10, 2009 at 1:08 PM
    #5
    tigerfan00

    tigerfan00 BECAUSE INTERNETS!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5966
    Messages:
    37,189
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Dunkin Donuts
    Vehicle:
    02 TRD 4x4
    i dont have the location avail. that ridge posted...my airbag switch and 4way flashers are up in that area...
     
  6. May 10, 2009 at 3:45 PM
    #6
    cole47

    cole47 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Member:
    #10400
    Messages:
    1,131
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cole
    Hickory NC
    Vehicle:
    Ray of Sunshine
    lift, wheels, tires
    thanks for the input guys i think imma put it where monoman put his....i have my cb mic mounted where the green your green switch is ridgerunner
     
To Top