1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Switch Pros are cool, but....

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by MunchTIME, Jan 17, 2019.

  1. Jan 17, 2019 at 8:39 AM
    #1
    MunchTIME

    MunchTIME [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Member:
    #252340
    Messages:
    591
    SD, CA
    I really like the idea of the switch pro, having all aux systems grouped together and isolated with a slick interface. I've just been hesitant to get one since the cost is a bit prohibitive and I'm only planning on running 4 aux systems (at least for now).

    I was looking into creating a relay/switch controller with a raspberry Pi and a touch screen, which could be done relatively easily, but would likely cost about 200-250 in materials. When I started looking for parts on Amazon, I found this:

    https://www.amazon.com/Suitech-Univ...0739R9SQT/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

    Basically, the Chinese light bar equivalent of a switch pro. Has anyone run one of these? If it works as advertised this may make more sense than setting up an aux fuse block, relays, and additional switches definitely more sense than me creating one from a Pi.
     
  2. Jan 17, 2019 at 8:43 AM
    #2
    MunchTIME

    MunchTIME [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Member:
    #252340
    Messages:
    591
    SD, CA
    Also, would still need to run relays for higher powered systems, and the ground and power wires seem a bit small...
     
  3. Jan 17, 2019 at 8:46 AM
    #3
    whatstcp

    whatstcp Professional incoherent spammer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #261584
    Messages:
    4,512
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Fontana, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Regular Cab 2.7l 4x4
    Kings w/superbumps front, 5125s HD Dakars & Hydros rear
    I don't have the suitech, but I have the Chinese copy of the suitech and have no complaints. A bit cheaper too. A few things to keep in mind are that it's a universal system whether from suitech or not and so it needs trimming and splicing here and there, it's not a plug and play. Also the amount of amps it can push isn't quite up there with switchpros. Taps out at around 40amps overall.

    https://www.ebay.com/ulk/itm/163083141484
     
  4. Jan 17, 2019 at 9:04 AM
    #4
    MunchTIME

    MunchTIME [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Member:
    #252340
    Messages:
    591
    SD, CA

    Where'd you end up sticking the panel? to the left of the steering wheel?
     
  5. Jan 17, 2019 at 9:12 AM
    #5
    whatstcp

    whatstcp Professional incoherent spammer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #261584
    Messages:
    4,512
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Fontana, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Regular Cab 2.7l 4x4
    Kings w/superbumps front, 5125s HD Dakars & Hydros rear
    Like stated above, you can find it cheaper elsewhere besides suitech or s tech. Same system(probably cheaper components), just branded and sold at a premium. If you only plan on running a few led bars, ditch lights, rear led pods, etc. then it'll be more than fine. If you plan on running on board air or another high powered aux system then rethink this path. If you do go with the suitech/s-tech/ebay there are also options for mounting it. Here is a custom bracket from S tech to mount the relay/fuse box near the brake fluid reservoir where there are two factory threaded holes. You can also get the S tech 3d printed switch panel mount in the factory location to the left of the steering wheel.

    I'm a second gen just being nosy in the 3rd gen section. So I just used double sided tape to mount mine to a flat surface.

    Screenshot 2019-01-17 at 09.00.48.jpg
    Screenshot 2019-01-17 at 09.01.08.jpg
     
  6. Jan 17, 2019 at 8:16 PM
    #6
    paranoid56

    paranoid56 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Member:
    #83443
    Messages:
    3,042
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    14 double cab taco
    remember the cheap one isnt a canbus setup like switch pro. the switch pro can do so much more then the cheap setup. now, if you dont need any of that, then the other option is great. just two totally different things
     
    MunchTIME [OP] and whatstcp like this.
  7. Jan 18, 2019 at 11:08 AM
    #7
    MunchTIME

    MunchTIME [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Member:
    #252340
    Messages:
    591
    SD, CA
    Right you get to combine switches and inputs, the strobes and flashes and more. I'm just looking for a cleaner way than adding a bunch of individual push toggle switches and their wiring. I've been looking at a 12v 100-150A relay wired to ignition power as signal controlling power to a 6 circuit blue sea fusebox, which would again control relays that power individual systems. Or... I just get this and that takes care of it all.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019

Products Discussed in

To Top