1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Switching to a cluster with a tachometer

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by SpeedoJosh, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. Nov 27, 2013 at 8:41 PM
    #21
    grovestreet

    grovestreet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Member:
    #83572
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    I am thinking it's 6 sparks vs 4
    that's why all aftermarket tach has a switch for 4/6/8 cylinders.


    For the OP
    Have you considered to buy an ultragauge?
    My instrument panel is just like yours and the ultraguage solved all my needs.
     
  2. Nov 27, 2013 at 8:57 PM
    #22
    offrdmania

    offrdmania Taco Wagon

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Member:
    #113684
    Messages:
    536
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Templeton, Ca
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma LX 4 banger
    I dont think the OP will respond. The thread is super old
     
  3. Nov 27, 2013 at 9:21 PM
    #23
    SpeedoJosh

    SpeedoJosh [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Member:
    #61730
    Messages:
    2,298
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access cab, Base, 4x4
    Haha. Yea. It's been awhile since I stated this. I have since made the swap to a 01+ cluster w/ a tach.

    Works great, and was pretty easy to swap once I got the right cluster. First one I got was from a 6cyl, so the RPMs were way off.
     
  4. Dec 2, 2013 at 1:19 PM
    #24
    wisconsin

    wisconsin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Member:
    #117401
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma California Spec
    OME Suspension,16" TRD Wheels,245/75R16 Nokian Rotiiva tires
    So, I ended up with two of the gauge clusters with tachometers, both of them are from 1998, and have the LCD odometers and black faces. I had no idea what engines they were from. My truck is a 2000, 2.7 liter, 4WD, 5 speed, 4.30 diffs, 31" tires. I took both clusters completely apart to see if any parts were different between them. All of the components were identical, except for the one part:

    The gauge clusters have a 'control module' that is a small circuit board - about 1.5" x 3". It is held into the back of the cluster assembly with two small philips screws. The printed circuit board plugs into this module with a black connector. The LCD odometer display also plugs into this circuit board. This board had different components on it (3 of the chips had different numbers) on the two that I looked at. By the way, this can be easily removed from the back of the gauge cluster without any disassembly.

    I put one of the clusters into my truck and went out for a test drive. I found that when my GPS speed was 60 mph, in 5th gear, the tach read 1,750 rpm's.

    I took the cluster out, and swapped the other control module into the cluster, and went out for another test drive. This time, at 60 mph on the GPS, in 5th gear, the tach read 2,350 rpm's

    This tells me that it is the 'control module' is the only component in the gauge cluster that is specific to either a 4 or 6 cylinder. The module I tried first was from a 6 cylinder truck, and the second one was from a 4 cylinder truck.

    I took some detailed pictures of the control modules and disassembly of the gauge cluster that I could post. Here are just a few of them:
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2013
    cruiserguy likes this.
  5. Dec 2, 2013 at 1:27 PM
    #25
    wisconsin

    wisconsin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Member:
    #117401
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tacoma California Spec
    OME Suspension,16" TRD Wheels,245/75R16 Nokian Rotiiva tires
    This is the V6 module labeled 06B. The 4 cylinder module was labeled 02F
    [​IMG]
    Left one is V6 - Right is 4 cylinder
    [​IMG]
    Top one is 4 cylinder - marked 017, and number 2 in corner
    Bottom one is V6 - marked 009, and number 6 in corner
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
    cruiserguy likes this.
  6. Dec 2, 2013 at 4:29 PM
    #26
    COMAtized99

    COMAtized99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Member:
    #25746
    Messages:
    1,846
    Gender:
    Male
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    99 DCLB v8
    The Bed is stock...
    A 4cyl Tacoma tach WILL work with a v8 Tundra engine... Ask me how I know....


    #postwhoreandIdontcare

    th_VIDEO0041_598b2c4ec158c7e26de532d454f6af8e4c7683c6.jpg
     
  7. Dec 12, 2013 at 1:27 PM
    #27
    Z U L A N

    Z U L A N Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Member:
    #118437
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    1998 Toyota Tacoma Reg Cab
    anyone know of a good site to find a 01-04 4cyl cluster?? Or just search ebay/junk-yards?
     
  8. Aug 3, 2018 at 3:57 PM
    #28
    baachor

    baachor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Member:
    #33250
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada City,CA
    Vehicle:
    2003 4x4 3.4l V6 5spd Extracab
    trying to figure out why my tach shows less RPMs...it is 03 V6 4x4...white with orange backlight

    what can be wrong? seems to me someone was going to dashboard as it is rattle (had to stick folded paper between board and window to make it stop lol)

    on picture going 60MPH on 4th gear tach shows only about 2300 RPMs!!:
    IMG_20180724_082340175_002.jpg
     
  9. May 12, 2019 at 5:10 PM
    #29
    zms987

    zms987 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Member:
    #276527
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zachary
    Vehicle:
    1999 Toyota Tacoma
    My Tachometer on my 99 Tacoma V6 5 speed reads high and the difference gets greater with higher RPMs. One thing i do know is it was originally manufactured as an American truck sold in the USA and has such been imported into Canada and is now in KM's. Is it possible that the wrong tachometer has been put in ? I know it is off because my live engine data says so. Any help would be appreciated thanks
     
    cruiserguy likes this.
  10. Jun 2, 2019 at 7:38 AM
    #30
    Hooks98tacoma

    Hooks98tacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Member:
    #264818
    Messages:
    1,427
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Georgia
    Vehicle:
    98 Tacoma 2.4
    Just thought about doing this swap in my 98. If I take the cluster out of an 01-04 it’s PnP into my 98? Simply want to gain a tachometer and have the white face gauges
     
  11. Jun 2, 2019 at 5:04 PM
    #31
    trdproven

    trdproven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Member:
    #43834
    Messages:
    108
    Gender:
    Male
    its possible that you may have a wrong tach or it could be faulty or something going on with your electrical. but here is the general rule if you are buying another tach

    4cyl tach if you have 4cyl so 2.4 and 2.7 works either way. V6 to V6
    98+ i believe is already digital, don't quote me, you can confirm by checking if there is a cable behind yours

    to remove, just take out all the panels from the middle console to drivers side. you will be able to tell when you are doing it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
    cruiserguy and Hooks98tacoma like this.
  12. Dec 12, 2019 at 10:39 AM
    #32
    Frank319

    Frank319 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Member:
    #306961
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Monterey County California
    do you know if it matters if the donor truck is an automatic, and the truck that is going to is manual?
     
    OG_Tacoma likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top