1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tap into stock audio wiring to amplify?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Tacoman97, Mar 17, 2020.

  1. Mar 17, 2020 at 5:12 PM
    #1
    Tacoman97

    Tacoman97 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Member:
    #131880
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    andrew
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2018 Calvary blue TRD PRO
    ok so im about to upgrade my sound system and for now im only doing speakers and im gonna amplify them. my questions is, is there any way to tap into the stock wiring or maybe the back of the head unit to amplify that, that will go to all the speakers?
     
  2. Mar 17, 2020 at 5:19 PM
    #2
    2BeersPlease

    2BeersPlease Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Member:
    #208304
    Messages:
    5,240
    Gender:
    Male
    You'll find your answer pretty quickly if you search for it. I did.
     
  3. Mar 17, 2020 at 5:36 PM
    #3
    Tacoman97

    Tacoman97 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Member:
    #131880
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    andrew
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2018 Calvary blue TRD PRO
    yea well i have to say, the search tool on this forum sucks...... ALOT.
     
    Skydvrr and Doobfucious like this.
  4. Mar 17, 2020 at 5:41 PM
    #4
    rnish

    rnish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129450
    Messages:
    4,826
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    Pro Suspension (Bilstein), OME Dakar (med), armor
    What you need to do depends on what you currently have. If you are lucky you have a “line out“ of the headunit and a “line in“ on the new amp.
     
  5. Mar 17, 2020 at 5:47 PM
    #5
    Tacoman97

    Tacoman97 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Member:
    #131880
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    andrew
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2018 Calvary blue TRD PRO
    well i have a stock head unit, do u know if they have a "line out" ?
     
  6. Mar 17, 2020 at 7:04 PM
    #6
    Ronzio

    Ronzio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Member:
    #245114
    Messages:
    2,693
    Gender:
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    17 DCSB TRDOR
    Tacoman97 [OP] and shane100700 like this.
  7. Mar 17, 2020 at 7:45 PM
    #7
    Dr. Emmett Brown

    Dr. Emmett Brown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Member:
    #275320
    Messages:
    1,796
    I used to think so too, but you'll get used to it. It's hard to explain how to use it. Basically it's keywords.
     
    Doobfucious and shane100700 like this.
  8. Mar 18, 2020 at 2:03 PM
    #8
    Tacoman97

    Tacoman97 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Member:
    #131880
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    andrew
    new york
    Vehicle:
    2018 Calvary blue TRD PRO
    thank u kind sir
     
  9. Mar 18, 2020 at 2:22 PM
    #9
    RX1cobra

    RX1cobra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Member:
    #293789
    Messages:
    877
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    19 OR
    Get either a Kicker Key or Alpine Power Pack. I have the power pack and it's powered by the stock wiring. Adds a solid amount of kick. The search here does suck but you can search the forum in google.

    Type into google what you want to search... Something like "add amp 3rd gen site:www.tacomaworld.com" right into google. Google will return results only from TacomaWorld.... also works for any other website.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top