1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tap Into Stock Transmission Temp Sensor for a Gauge?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Cheeto6182, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. Mar 31, 2010 at 8:44 PM
    #1
    Cheeto6182

    Cheeto6182 [OP] Cheeto

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1308
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean G
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma TRD Offroad DoubleCab
    JBA Headers, Custom Snorkel/Ram-Air Intake, Spal Electric Fan Conversion, TBS lol, Borla Exhaust, ToyTec Coilovers, Old Man Emu Rear Leafs, Bilstein 5100's, Alpine system (type R's), 4.56 Gearing, 285/75/R16, Bead Lock Rims, Bed Carpeting, SoftTopper, Ram Air intake Mod, URD MAF, Dash Dyno, One Piece Drive-Shaft Conversion, Bed Cubby Led Lights, 12,500 Lbs winch, Expediation bed racking system, Hella Lights, Custom front winch bumper
    I want to put a transmission temp gauge in but I don't want to drill into the fluid pan. I looked at a few diagrams and am left wondering why can't I just tap into the stock temp sensors with an after market gauge? Anybody know why I couldn't do this? I still need to do some more research on the schematics, but will somebody with sensor knowledge look at these pdf. Maybe we can find a way get a gauge without having to buy a full kit.

    EDIT:
    oops, I uploaded the wrong diagrams for this. turns out the temp sensors are completely inside this tranny. fuckle
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mar 31, 2010 at 9:42 PM
    #2
    DDD

    DDD Shine bright like a hymen

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Member:
    #14416
    Messages:
    2,254
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derek
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    It will be hard to find a aftermarket gauge that reads the stock sender. I am sure the sender resistance it not standard for aftermarket gauge companies such as Auto Meter.

    I think your best bet is to add a T into the line running to the oil cooler.3

    This is how I would do it.
     
  3. Mar 31, 2010 at 10:01 PM
    #3
    Cheeto6182

    Cheeto6182 [OP] Cheeto

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Member:
    #1308
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean G
    Denver, Colorado
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma TRD Offroad DoubleCab
    JBA Headers, Custom Snorkel/Ram-Air Intake, Spal Electric Fan Conversion, TBS lol, Borla Exhaust, ToyTec Coilovers, Old Man Emu Rear Leafs, Bilstein 5100's, Alpine system (type R's), 4.56 Gearing, 285/75/R16, Bead Lock Rims, Bed Carpeting, SoftTopper, Ram Air intake Mod, URD MAF, Dash Dyno, One Piece Drive-Shaft Conversion, Bed Cubby Led Lights, 12,500 Lbs winch, Expediation bed racking system, Hella Lights, Custom front winch bumper
    At this point I've pretty much looked at all options: inline, fluid pan, data reader (dashhawk, scangauge, interceptor) and one other cooler line variation using heat transfer. Just thought I'd try and come up with something new... but there's probably a reason nobody has done this yet lol. THANKS!
     
To Top