1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Techstream Tips and Tricks

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Totall4285, Mar 10, 2019.

  1. Mar 28, 2020 at 4:37 PM
    #61
    Skydvrr

    Skydvrr IG: @kalopsianick

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    Member:
    #229889
    Messages:
    10,690
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Gilbert, AZ
    Vehicle:
    Black '17 OR
    I just got trchstream up and running! (Hopefully)
     
    JaCado, Amanelot and tonered like this.
  2. Apr 5, 2020 at 5:48 PM
    #62
    Wayon

    Wayon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2020
    Member:
    #320445
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    B.C. Canada
    Vehicle:
    2013 Silver Streak DCLB
    Pretty much stock for now. . .
    Does TS work on a 2013? I have it, and it's up and running, but I can't do anything.
     
    tonered likes this.
  3. Apr 10, 2020 at 8:53 PM
    #63
    stiles88

    stiles88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Member:
    #253552
    Messages:
    734
    Gender:
    Male
    Seattle (Bothell WA)
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cement TRD OR, 2008 FJ
    Just wanted to say thank you to @tonered for the download. I just changed a few things that I should have changed almost two years ago when I bought my truck!
     
    tonered and Amanelot like this.
  4. Apr 11, 2020 at 7:52 AM
    #64
    woodshampoo

    woodshampoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Member:
    #240794
    Messages:
    148
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2018 DC OR 4x4
    FINALLY!!! I have it running on a MacBook Air with VMWARE. Used an old Win XP VM I used to use with my VAG-COM and old Passat. Question now is I don't think I have all the menus others seem to have access to. 18 TRD OR w/Tech Package so no Auto Climate, etc, just the safety stuff.

    I don't see the Health Check, etc. I'm hoping to really make sure the dealer did the TSB's they "said" they did. I have issues with driving in the 40MPH range, and the surging feeling around the 1K to 1.2K RPM mark. They reset the ECU at one point to relearn, but that didn't really do much.

    Basically I don't intend to poke around TOO much (yet I guess), outside of the chimes, blinkers, etc. But I will admit, I nerded out a bit like @tonered about the TPMS and exacting tire pressure. My son will too.

    So if anyone has any additional info, I'm all ears. I've been searching but no luck just yet, but also wanted to thank all for the files and setup instructions!
     
    tonered likes this.
  5. Apr 11, 2020 at 8:42 AM
    #65
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    23,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Sorry, but I have no info on 2nd Gens. If you find out more please let me know. There is some good info at obdii365.com. Might be a good place to start?

    You're welcome! Enjoy the options.

    As long as you have a connection to your truck, you should have access to all the items noted toward the end of the owners manual for customizing. Of course, your particular options affect that.

    I think the health check is an online component that would need a subscription? You want to stay away from the online stuff.

    I do not know of there is a function that will list TSBs installed other than the ECU calibration levels. You could look at you vehicle info and history at toyota.com or ask a dealer to print your service records?
     
  6. Apr 11, 2020 at 8:47 AM
    #66
    sgirt

    sgirt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Member:
    #290514
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    Vehicle:
    2016 Sand Tacoma
    I am using the same setup with mine. I only have Macs, so running Vmware on the mac using Windows 7. Tech stream works perfectly through it. Programmed my TPMS, Turned off Seat belt chimes. Great stuff!



     
    tonered likes this.
  7. Apr 11, 2020 at 9:16 AM
    #67
    woodshampoo

    woodshampoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Member:
    #240794
    Messages:
    148
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2018 DC OR 4x4
  8. Apr 11, 2020 at 10:16 AM
    #68
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    23,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    Good question about the health check. I was assuming it was an online thing. It might not be?

    Are you using V12 or V14. That link talks about V12. It is only go up to 2017s. V14, linked in my signature is good through the 2020s.
     
    TeecoTaco likes this.
  9. Apr 11, 2020 at 10:19 AM
    #69
    TeecoTaco

    TeecoTaco Liberty Biberty

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Member:
    #211739
    Messages:
    8,652
    SW Ontario
    Vehicle:
    16 Taco DCSB TRD Sport 6MT
    Modified the level of gas in the tank
    I would say it's an online thing only...there is no dynamic dataset that comes with the download as it would be obsolete as soon as the next TSB is released.
     
    JaCado and tonered like this.
  10. Apr 11, 2020 at 10:25 AM
    #70
    woodshampoo

    woodshampoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Member:
    #240794
    Messages:
    148
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2018 DC OR 4x4
    Interesting, I'm using v14 from your link. SO how are people flashing TSB's with TechStream?

    Not a huge deal, things work, I can connect, so I figure it's at least MOSTLY working. Going to keep playing around with a few reinstalls, etc. and see how things go. The beauty of VM's!
     
  11. Apr 11, 2020 at 10:42 AM
    #71
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    23,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    That is the TW secret sauce. We meed to wait until the software is posted somewhere. For the ECU flash, that was the MT update thread among other places.

    Hopefully you can get it working.
     
  12. Apr 11, 2020 at 11:19 AM
    #72
    svermilyea

    svermilyea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Member:
    #261213
    Messages:
    927
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2018 Taco Sport (Cement)
    3in leveling lift (Coilovers and AAL) 285/65R18 tires 18" Fuel wheel/tire package Pro Grill, Morimoto XB LED Headlights, DD SS3 Pro Fogs Body Armor Front and Rear Bumpers Pioneer WC6600 head unit w/ OEM Audio + Reference 500 System with dedicated sub amp Meso signal lights, gas hole, led interior lights, ECT relocate, Chrome delete kits Meso Overhead Molle Rack, Seat Risers, Katzkin Leather seats (self installed and what a bitch it was VFTuned .....KDMax 6.0!
    First of all, Thank you to Totall4285 and Tonered for putting me on the right track to get my truck up to the current TSB. Without them, I would have had to take my truck into the Stealership and beg for them to update me.

    If you use the links below for garage forum, follow their directions for "thanks and reputation" and they will provide you with the activation codes for TS and the CUW master file you will need for programming:

    You can also find V14 and V15 TS software at http://garageforum.org/Forum-Toyota-Lexus The links will walk you though installation and activation of the software.

    They have the latest CUW calibration files http://garageforum.org/Thread-Toyota-Lexus-Reprogramming-Calibration-CUW-files that you will need to open to start start the TSB installation process.

    Note: When you activate the CUW file, TS will perform an automatic health check prior to downloading and installing the current TSB. It will tell you what TSBs are needed and will automatically install the correct TSB once you select install.
     
    C41n, Golo808, JaCado and 4 others like this.
  13. Apr 11, 2020 at 11:40 AM
    #73
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    23,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    You're welcome!

    Good information.

    :cheers:
     
    svermilyea likes this.
  14. Apr 11, 2020 at 11:47 AM
    #74
    woodshampoo

    woodshampoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Member:
    #240794
    Messages:
    148
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2018 DC OR 4x4
    Oh no, that's insane. I may go that route but in my searches I found a preconfigured OVA file for VirtualBox. Killed network connectivity to it (just in case), and tried it. Worked like a charm. I can run the health check to get the calibration ID's and such. So at least I know my hardware works, and can start down the right path. Thanks all, and BTW, the version I was able to get running was 12.20.024 but since I have a 2018, works for me I guess!
     
    svermilyea and tonered like this.
  15. Apr 13, 2020 at 2:36 PM
    #75
    PB FAB

    PB FAB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Member:
    #215942
    Messages:
    801
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR DCSB 4x4 v6

    Just got ver. 14.20.019 up and running on the new tuning laptop! Thanks @tonered

    PCM flash is working too.
     
  16. Apr 13, 2020 at 2:42 PM
    #76
    tonered

    tonered tacorider

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Member:
    #231055
    Messages:
    23,590
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    tony
    Lynnwood, WA
    You're welcome! :cheers:

    Enjoy it.
     
  17. Apr 13, 2020 at 2:55 PM
    #77
    Sunsetsearider

    Sunsetsearider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Member:
    #163850
    Messages:
    175
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCLB OR/1998 5 Lug
    Also adjustable by moving the seat back and forth.
     
    AKGSD, Skydvrr and lapoltba like this.
  18. Apr 13, 2020 at 6:55 PM
    #78
    Amanelot

    Amanelot Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Member:
    #260931
    Messages:
    1,803
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM TRD Sport DCSB
    I just ended up having my wife sit in truck. She did great. Fluid is all changed and no air bubbles
     
  19. May 1, 2020 at 10:23 AM
    #79
    Jcmartin11b

    Jcmartin11b Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Member:
    #230171
    Messages:
    243
    First Name:
    Justin
    Los alamos,NM
    Vehicle:
    17 Tacoma trd off-road
    Is this to get to 04B04 for being able to load ovtune? Im stuck on techstream where it wants mongoosepro mfc base off of what techstream it is. 14.20.019
     
  20. May 1, 2020 at 10:48 AM
    #80
    svermilyea

    svermilyea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Member:
    #261213
    Messages:
    927
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    East Tennessee
    Vehicle:
    2018 Taco Sport (Cement)
    3in leveling lift (Coilovers and AAL) 285/65R18 tires 18" Fuel wheel/tire package Pro Grill, Morimoto XB LED Headlights, DD SS3 Pro Fogs Body Armor Front and Rear Bumpers Pioneer WC6600 head unit w/ OEM Audio + Reference 500 System with dedicated sub amp Meso signal lights, gas hole, led interior lights, ECT relocate, Chrome delete kits Meso Overhead Molle Rack, Seat Risers, Katzkin Leather seats (self installed and what a bitch it was VFTuned .....KDMax 6.0!
    You will need to load the drivers for your current OBDII connector. I assume you are using the cable and orange OBDII connector from your OVT flash kit. Once you have the drivers loaded, select the that connector to be able to attache to the vehicle.
     
    C41n likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top