1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tekonsha Prodigy Brake Control

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by K5423, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. Oct 19, 2009 at 5:37 PM
    #1
    K5423

    K5423 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Member:
    #21828
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Mesa,AZ.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Double cab V6 SR5 TRD Offroad
    K&N air filter
    Just ordered one and for the life of me can't decide on a good spot to mount it.Drilling holes in the dash of my 2010,just the thought makes me cringe.Any innovative ideas on a good mounting(maybe with no drilling)spot for this controller?
     
  2. Oct 19, 2009 at 5:46 PM
    #2
    Tacoyota

    Tacoyota senile member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Member:
    #20028
    Messages:
    2,966
    Gender:
    Male
    North of Cali, South of Canada
    Vehicle:
    08 4wd
    4.56 gears, rear trutrac,DT header, 235/85r16 Duratracs, 2nd filter pulled, inter.wipers, Cruise control, Factory alum. whls/winter tires(2nd set), Afe pro Dry-S , Dumbo eared flaps cut down.
    could it be placed in the little bin below and to the right of the steering wheel? On my truck (manual) the parking brake goes there, looks wide enough, dunno 'bout the depth.
     
  3. Oct 19, 2009 at 8:37 PM
    #3
    bdo

    bdo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22062
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I put mine in the little tray to the right. I have an auto. I put the bracket on the bottom of the tray, so the ears face up. Then I mounted it with the tray pulled out, drilled enough holes to cut access for the harness in back, and that was it. The screws that came with it stick out a little though, so you can grind them down, get a washer or whatever. It works great in this position..

    My reasoning is I can at least get a new tray for relatively cheap if I ever need to put it back to stock!
    -brad

     
  4. Oct 21, 2009 at 10:19 AM
    #4
    yhiki

    yhiki Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Member:
    #21237
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    This is where I mounted mine. Unit was mounted ofset in the bracket so controler is level.

    [/url][/IMG]
     
  5. Oct 21, 2009 at 12:53 PM
    #5
    Zac808

    Zac808 Custom User Title

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Member:
    #22040
    Messages:
    2,819
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zac
    Viva Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD DC SB 4x4
    In my sig
    I used heavy duty velcro above the cup holders. I take it on and off depending on which trailer I'm towing.
     
  6. Oct 21, 2009 at 5:22 PM
    #6
    K5423

    K5423 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Member:
    #21828
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Mesa,AZ.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Double cab V6 SR5 TRD Offroad
    K&N air filter
    Please post pic again.
     
  7. Oct 21, 2009 at 5:28 PM
    #7
    dw77x

    dw77x Those are not my pants

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Member:
    #15755
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    SE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma Sport LB
    5100's all 4 corners (front at 2.5"), rear tsb springs with 1.5" AAL, 265/70/17 General Grabber AT2's
    I screwed mine onto the little cubby where the park brake is on a manual. I hate to drill holes but at least it is a easily replaceable part.
     
  8. Oct 21, 2009 at 6:32 PM
    #8
    yhiki

    yhiki Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Member:
    #21237
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    repost of pic

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Oct 21, 2009 at 6:33 PM
    #9
    dw77x

    dw77x Those are not my pants

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Member:
    #15755
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    SE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma Sport LB
    5100's all 4 corners (front at 2.5"), rear tsb springs with 1.5" AAL, 265/70/17 General Grabber AT2's
     
  10. Oct 21, 2009 at 7:16 PM
    #10
    K5423

    K5423 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Member:
    #21828
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Mesa,AZ.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Double cab V6 SR5 TRD Offroad
    K&N air filter
    I have a 6 speed with the pull out parking brake.I'm thinking i'll mount it under the steering wheel........maybe.Shows up at my doorstep tomorrow.
     
  11. Oct 24, 2009 at 3:44 PM
    #11
    K5423

    K5423 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Member:
    #21828
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Mesa,AZ.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Double cab V6 SR5 TRD Offroad
    K&N air filter
    Well........here it is installed with the only logical place I could think of:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Oct 26, 2009 at 5:19 AM
    #12
    rachunter

    rachunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Member:
    #7234
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    West Virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Off-Road
    XM Radio,Access Lorado Tonneau, Ventshades, Tinted Windows, Destination A/T's , Moto Metal wheels and lots of Liquid Glass
    I mounted mine on the little door that swings open on the left. It is very easy to unhook and take out when not in use.
     
  13. Oct 26, 2009 at 5:55 PM
    #13
    K5423

    K5423 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Member:
    #21828
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Mesa,AZ.
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma Double cab V6 SR5 TRD Offroad
    K&N air filter
    Anyone notice after installing the prodigy that your brake characteristics changed? My brakes were very touch sensitive,after I plugged in the prodigy and with no trailer hooked up now I have to press down real hard on the pedal to stop.I unplugged the controller and still the same.It's like the computer changed how sensitive my brake pedal is now.Does this make sense or am I going insane?
     
  14. Oct 27, 2009 at 4:20 AM
    #14
    rachunter

    rachunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Member:
    #7234
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    West Virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Off-Road
    XM Radio,Access Lorado Tonneau, Ventshades, Tinted Windows, Destination A/T's , Moto Metal wheels and lots of Liquid Glass
    I have not noticed any change and I have been using mine for about 3 years now.
     
  15. Oct 27, 2009 at 6:17 AM
    #15
    msaniac

    msaniac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15896
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Clemson, SC
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC 4x4 TRD Sport Longbed
    LED Bed Lights, Prodigy P3 Brake Controller, K&N Air Filter, Viper 5901 Alarm, Kenwood 9140 Headunit (Sirius/GPS/Backup Camera)
    I mounted mine in the little recess underneath the cigarette lighters. I haven't had any trouble with it. It is a P3 though. I decided to put it here so I can see it easily as well as reach it. If I were to put it where the others were I would hit it with my knees due to my driving style.
     
  16. Apr 14, 2010 at 6:08 PM
    #16
    roy826

    roy826 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Member:
    #25738
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prerunner TRD Sport DC
    Finally got around to installing my brake controller. I took a slightly different approach. I still used the bin to the right since it can be easily replaced. Only I felt it was a bad angle according to the instructions. So I used a rubber shim on the left side facing forward to bring the device horizontal with the front of the truck. Not 100% horizontal but better than simply mounting the thing flush with the panel. I also used the pocket. I like the idea of removing it when not in use and plus a thief won't be eying it. The trucks plug was easy to locate. The wiring was super easy. I don't have a trailer yet that uses trailer brakes but hopefully that will change come this weekend when I go look at a 18' Coachmen blast 150 toy hauler I plan on buying.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    No interference with my leg as far as I can tell. now if I were 5' tall and had the seat all the way up yes it might become an issue. BTW that is a GSXR rubber fairing grommet I used for a spacer.:D Perfect fit.
     
  17. Apr 14, 2010 at 6:26 PM
    #17
    diggerbuzz

    diggerbuzz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Member:
    #32513
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    buzz
    ohio
    Vehicle:
    10 Tacoma TRD OFFROAD SR5
    TRD exhaust tip , toyota bed mat , uws low pro tool box , wet oke seat covers front & rear
    I have a P3 and I mounted it in the cubby right of the wheel also. i had to trim the removable they though. I priced the tray in case i wanted to replace it later it is around $30 at the dealership so not a big deal and drilled up into the dash where you will never see the holes unless you are laying on your back looking up.
     
  18. Jun 19, 2012 at 9:29 PM
    #18
    SkiprJohn

    SkiprJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Member:
    #80979
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    Shell
    I have a 2000 4x4 and the only place I could seem to fit it without running into it with my long legs was where the ashtray was. I removed the ashtray and the steel bracket for the P2 bolted right up to where the ashtray was without drilling holes. I saved all the pieces from the ashtray just in case I want to return it to original.
    Now I'm having a heck of a time figuring out which wire on the brake switch to tap into with the red wire from the P2. Not any room to do a test and barely enough room to pull the plug on the switch.
    kind regards,
    John
     
  19. Sep 28, 2012 at 10:05 AM
    #19
    DenisSeattle

    DenisSeattle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Member:
    #64298
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
  20. Sep 28, 2012 at 12:51 PM
    #20
    badger

    badger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Member:
    #70102
    Messages:
    774
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    I have mounted and moved mine. It now lives between the cig lighter and power port, just far enough down to clear the shifter (6 spd). You need to be able to read the controller and also to reach the manual over ride. None of the low mounting options allowed that.
     
To Top