1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Temporary leveling kit until proper upgrade

Discussion in 'Suspension' started by Jason07Blue, May 17, 2020.

1. May 17, 2020 at 5:28 AM
    Jason07Blue

Jason07Blue [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Jason
    Springfield, MO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Blue Tacoma 4x4
    2" leveling kit, moto metal wheels with -12 mm offset with Milestar 275/70 17 ATs
    Hey y'all
    So I'm really new at all this truck mod stuff, and try to do my research without pestering folks, however I'd like to get your opinions on some things. I just leveled my truck to accommodate larger tires, and am a little concerned about the spacers. When I installed them on the coils I noticed it required me to turn the strut assembly 180° which cocked it back toward the rear of the truck. This didn't look right to me, so rather than force the struts back toward the LCA, I simply swapped the struts from R to L. Is this going to be a problem? Mind you, the leveling kit is temporary, I plan to upgrade to Bilstein 5100 adjustable when I have the money. I'd further like your suggestions for that mod, e.g. everything I'll need to get to maintain my current ride height provided by this 2 inch leveling kit. Oh yeah, the strut assemblies I have on the truck are KYB, and they are side specific, which is the cause of my concern about switching them from L to R.

2. May 18, 2020 at 11:34 AM
    gunpup

gunpup Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Nate
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB Trd OR / 2001 DCSB SR5