1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

The Starlink Super Mega/BS Thread

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by PzTank, Feb 24, 2021.

  1. Feb 24, 2021 at 6:11 PM
    #1
    PzTank

    PzTank [OP] Stuck In The Well

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    2,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob.
    5/2/21 Update - See evolving Q/A section below

    The time has come, is Starlink the future or just some novelty??

    This thread’s for sharing info, talking about the system and helping each other out as we get them.

    RESOURCES:
    https://satellitemap.space/#

    Google your town/city for specific coordinates.


    QUESTIONS/ANSWERS

    • Can you use Starlink with an aftermarket router?
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2021
  2. Feb 25, 2021 at 2:34 AM
    #2
    06Tacooo

    06Tacooo Earth Czar

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Member:
    #173140
    Messages:
    429
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Earth
    39° 14' N / 83° 13' W
    Vehicle:
    06 Off Road Access Cab Indigo Ink Pearl
    Michelin Defender LTX M/S2, ABS kill switch, Tech Deck, Mirror riser, Ride-Rites
    I signed up a while back, waiting on the gear.. they say this summer sometime.. Starlinks's already 60 miles north of here. Now I read they have problems with the Falcon rocket.
    There's an app for iphone that will show you the best dish location. Don't know if it will work until they get my particular sat up and running. This thing has a high upfront cost, hope it works.. nothing else does out here.. too many trees, hills. I'll be mounting it on a slab of concrete under the sod.. so it doesn't walk away, and so I can deal with the snow/ice without heaters.. most pics show the dish pointing close to straight up. They say heat generated by the electronics will keep the dish clear. There are utube vids that show temp of the dish on a cold day. Looks like it would work.
    Really need a reliable connection via something. There's ATT fiber 250' down the road.. they won't install it.. they can't/won't even fix our land line. I can't rely on HughesNet voip.. especially for 911. They need more ground stations. Wifi cellphone and Starlink connection should be reliable enough, IF they have enough ground stations up front.






    <Location
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2021
    My Name is Rahl and PzTank [OP] like this.
  3. Feb 25, 2021 at 3:22 AM
    #3
    mac84

    mac84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Member:
    #224346
    Messages:
    344
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma TRD Sport 4WD MGM
    I got my email to go ahead and put my $99 down but have not yet. After 21 years the electric co-op says they are coming and should finally have broadband to us by the end of the year.

    people who have good broadband likely take it for granted but it's really needed in so many areas.... it's like we are on the other side of the moon.

    Trying to decide if Starlink will really be available and if it will work like they say so I'll keep tuned in.
     
  4. Feb 25, 2021 at 3:52 AM
    #4
    06Tacooo

    06Tacooo Earth Czar

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Member:
    #173140
    Messages:
    429
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Earth
    39° 14' N / 83° 13' W
    Vehicle:
    06 Off Road Access Cab Indigo Ink Pearl
    Michelin Defender LTX M/S2, ABS kill switch, Tech Deck, Mirror riser, Ride-Rites
    My electric co-op has been promising for years.. aintgunnahappen. Starlink is now talking 300Mbps in the future sometime. I would be glad to have anything reliable, consistant 20Mbs or better.. in other words, useable.
    Internet availability/useability has been an issue since it was born. It's revenue driven, so they go for the big population centers, discard the rest of us, even though they've been mandated to get it out to the people who need it. Look what happened when covid hit. Kids can't go to school online, if there's no decent service to use. Wake up Amurica!
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2021
  5. Feb 25, 2021 at 4:54 AM
    #5
    PzTank

    PzTank [OP] Stuck In The Well

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    2,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob.
    Yeah, I was thinking of holding off putting the $99 down.

    The “first come first serve” started to really bug me. Then I read SpaceX was opening up pre-registration internationally and I didn’t want to be boxed out.

    If I can find it, I’ll post it here but there’s some articles talking about the capacity (number of clients) for Starlink. It wasn’t mind blowing.

    I’d encourage anyone on the fence to send the $99 now to get on the list. It’s refundable if you bail when the time comes.
     
    06Tacooo likes this.
  6. Feb 25, 2021 at 5:35 AM
    #6
    My Name is Rahl

    My Name is Rahl President of the Taco-Obsessed fanclub!

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Member:
    #258370
    Messages:
    18,920
    First Name:
    Rahl
    Deep in the heart of Suckeye country.
    Vehicle:
    '02 DCSB Lunar Mist
    I'm in northeast central Ohio, and it hasn't made it to where I live yet. I keep checking, though.
     
    06Tacooo and PzTank [OP] like this.
  7. Feb 25, 2021 at 6:01 AM
    #7
    ralfnjan

    ralfnjan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Member:
    #161984
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    I just got my "available soon" notice from Starlink.
    Hardware
    CA$649.00
    Service
    CA$129.00 /mo
    Shipping & Handling
    CA$65.00
    Est. Tax
    CA$92.82
    Due Today
    CA$129.00

    Currently with a fixed wireless provider, 10Mbps download (always 15 or more), unlimited data for $85/mo. No problems with service, so I think I'll stick with it.
     
  8. Feb 25, 2021 at 6:25 AM
    #8
    PzTank

    PzTank [OP] Stuck In The Well

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    2,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob.
    Yikes on that tax up there :frusty:

    Kudos to your provider for over delivering. I’d make the same decision if I were in your shoes :thumbsup:
     
    06Tacooo likes this.
  9. Feb 25, 2021 at 6:29 AM
    #9
    ralfnjan

    ralfnjan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Member:
    #161984
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Ahh, but that tax gets me pot holed roads, postal service, snow plows mashing my mailbox and a competent military protecting us from any hostile neighbours. Oh, and 2 kidney stones care in the past 40 years. I'd be broke without it :)

    On edit: I hope that neighbour's comment doesn't get me in trouble...could be Greenland I'm talking about :)
     
    SR-71A, 06Tacooo and PzTank [OP] like this.
  10. Feb 25, 2021 at 9:06 AM
    #10
    mac84

    mac84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Member:
    #224346
    Messages:
    344
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma TRD Sport 4WD MGM
    All I've got is my mifi with Verizon and a 22gb data cap.
     
    ecoterragaia likes this.
  11. Feb 26, 2021 at 3:28 AM
    #11
    mac84

    mac84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Member:
    #224346
    Messages:
    344
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma TRD Sport 4WD MGM
    Man, us too. Everyone out here hits the same cell tower so you've got to hit it when the traffic is low.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2021
    ecoterragaia and 06Tacooo like this.
  12. Feb 26, 2021 at 7:14 AM
    #12
    PzTank

    PzTank [OP] Stuck In The Well

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    2,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob.
  13. Feb 28, 2021 at 11:32 AM
    #13
    crazysccrmd

    crazysccrmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Member:
    #181592
    Messages:
    4,655
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    21 Sport AC MT
    There's something fucky going on with mine. After the initial connection I haven't been able to get the Starlink router to work. The dish still looks like it's tracking even though the router isn't doing anything, not even broadcasting a wifi network. I plugged a cheap Linksys router into the black junction box and have full connection with internet (using it now) but the Starlink app says I'm disconnected.

    Screenshot_20210228-123019.jpg


    Here's proof it is actually connected and works with pretty good speeds too.

    Screenshot_20210228-123125~2.jpg Screenshot_20210228-123132~2.jpg Screenshot_20210228-122414~2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2021
    PzTank [OP] and My Name is Rahl like this.
  14. Feb 28, 2021 at 12:05 PM
    #14
    crazysccrmd

    crazysccrmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Member:
    #181592
    Messages:
    4,655
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    21 Sport AC MT
    Picture of the network speed off the xbox. I just finished playing a game of Call of Duty Warzone with no noticeable difference from my cable internet.

    PXL_20210228_194547320.MP.jpg
     
    PzTank [OP] and My Name is Rahl like this.
  15. Feb 28, 2021 at 12:08 PM
    #15
    My Name is Rahl

    My Name is Rahl President of the Taco-Obsessed fanclub!

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Member:
    #258370
    Messages:
    18,920
    First Name:
    Rahl
    Deep in the heart of Suckeye country.
    Vehicle:
    '02 DCSB Lunar Mist
    Is that latency an improvement?
     
  16. Feb 28, 2021 at 12:17 PM
    #16
    crazysccrmd

    crazysccrmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Member:
    #181592
    Messages:
    4,655
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    21 Sport AC MT
    No, the lower the latency the better. I just ran a connection test to the cable internet wifi which sits about a foot away from the Xbox (Starlink is about 15 feet away). Cable speeds are 118.95 download, 4.99 upload and 45ms latency.
     
    My Name is Rahl and PzTank [OP] like this.
  17. Feb 28, 2021 at 1:44 PM
    #17
    PzTank

    PzTank [OP] Stuck In The Well

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    2,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob.
    There’s a reboot option in the app, I’d give that a try if you haven’t tried it yet.

    Looks like there was an issue with the Android version of the app a while ago..


    Re: Latency. According to this, 100ms or lower is ‘acceptable for gaming’

    https://www.optimum.com/internet/what-latency
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2021
  18. Feb 28, 2021 at 2:05 PM
    #18
    crazysccrmd

    crazysccrmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Member:
    #181592
    Messages:
    4,655
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado Springs
    Vehicle:
    21 Sport AC MT
    The issue us the app doesn't even know I am connected to the Starlink network. I don't know if it relies on software in the Starlink router for those functions but neither reboot or stow will work as a result.


    Screenshot_20210228-150449.jpg
     
    PzTank [OP] likes this.
  19. Feb 28, 2021 at 2:17 PM
    #19
    PzTank

    PzTank [OP] Stuck In The Well

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43250
    Messages:
    2,966
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    New England
    Vehicle:
    ‘15 AC SR5 4X4 4.0 Auto
    ‘07 OR leather shift knob.
    I’d power cycle the phone..

    I’m a bit tied up due to lack of a system :D..

    Good Luck :thumbsup:
     
    crazysccrmd likes this.
  20. Feb 28, 2021 at 2:36 PM
    #20
    KactusJack

    KactusJack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238158
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Collettsville, N.C.
    Vehicle:
    2014 AC TRD Sport
    I put down my deposit for pre-order a week ago. Based on everything I've read, I'm excited to get the service, hopefully in a few months. I currently have 3Mbps DSL from AT&T. It's at least OK for most internet needs, but it's been going out a lot lately. Since AT&T has stopped selling the service, I think they are trying to get current customers to drop the service so they can get completely out of DSL.

    I've got a good view of the northern sky, and will be doing the Starlink install myself. It's actually pretty easy, from what I've seen online.

    crazysccrmd - I've read that the Starlink app will work only with the Starlink router, which you said isn't working for you.

    PzTank - In your questions, you say that Starlink gives you a modem, but your questions under that are about the Starlink router (which they also provide), not a modem.
     
    06Tacooo and PzTank [OP] like this.

Products Discussed in

To Top