1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Thule or Yakima Rack Attached to Factory Roof Rack??

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by wmflyfisher, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. Dec 14, 2012 at 12:33 PM
    #1
    wmflyfisher

    wmflyfisher [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18590
    Messages:
    869
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    PCB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Sport 4x4
    Does anybody here have this setup?? Trying to see what it would look like vs just a yakima alone.
     
  2. Dec 14, 2012 at 1:01 PM
    #2
    ST3VE

    ST3VE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,361
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    I have the Yakima roof rack. You have to check my pictures because I am on my phone and don't know how to upload to a thread.
     
  3. Dec 14, 2012 at 1:10 PM
    #3
    wmflyfisher

    wmflyfisher [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18590
    Messages:
    869
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    PCB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Sport 4x4
    I was actually talking about mounting the rack to the factory cross bars but I like how yours is too down in the tracks. Would you mind going in to detail about how you did it?
     
  4. Dec 14, 2012 at 1:19 PM
    #4
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,547
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    Trail Limo
    Icon stuff, Skyjacker rear leafs, FJ TRD SE wheels, 285/75/16 Trail grapplers, Rigid SR. 20", Yakima Rack, Bestop Canopy, TRD Exhaust, TRD CAI, Kenwood DNX5120 Navi, Fog Light Mod, Driving Light Mod, BHLM, Scanguage II on Blendmount, TC uca's, ARB Heavy Duty air compressor, ARB Rear Locker, Shrockworks Rock Sliders, ARB Front Bumper, Relentless Fab Rear Bumper w/ custom bed protection, WARN M8000
    Check my gallery. It works great! I believe it is more stable this way and with the 72" bars I can carry SUPs an my canoe with ease.
     
  5. Dec 14, 2012 at 1:33 PM
    #5
    ST3VE

    ST3VE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,361
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!
    There is 4 holes that are plugged on each side of the truck under the roof strip thing where a factory mount goes. I just lined up the holes and drilled through the rubber and mounted the clips that the Yakima mounts to. Screwed it in and BAM!! Roof rack. I only plan to haul kayaks with it and the fact it is removable is what I like best.
     
  6. Dec 14, 2012 at 5:01 PM
    #6
    wmflyfisher

    wmflyfisher [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18590
    Messages:
    869
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    PCB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Sport 4x4
    So the yakima mounts line directly up with the factory holes??
     
  7. Dec 14, 2012 at 5:08 PM
    #7
    ST3VE

    ST3VE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,361
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    1985 DeLorean DMC-12 w/ Flux Capacitor
    Check my build page, ya filthy animal!!

    Well there is 2 holes up front for the mount. I was going to drill a hole in the mount because it was about 3/8th's off. I just screwed the bolt down tight and honestly it's pretty solid so I said F**k it and left each mount with 1 bolt. So far it has held up without any issues with and without kayaks on it and also at highway speeds.
     
To Top