1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Thule or Yakima Rack Attached to Factory Roof Rack??

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by wmflyfisher, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. Dec 14, 2012 at 12:33 PM
    #1
    wmflyfisher

    wmflyfisher [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18590
    Messages:
    879
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    PCB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Sport 4x4
    Does anybody here have this setup?? Trying to see what it would look like vs just a yakima alone.
     
  2. Dec 14, 2012 at 1:01 PM
    #2
    ST3VE

    ST3VE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,439
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Crew Max
    Tint, car seat, baby wipes
    I have the Yakima roof rack. You have to check my pictures because I am on my phone and don't know how to upload to a thread.
     
  3. Dec 14, 2012 at 1:10 PM
    #3
    wmflyfisher

    wmflyfisher [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18590
    Messages:
    879
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    PCB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Sport 4x4
    I was actually talking about mounting the rack to the factory cross bars but I like how yours is too down in the tracks. Would you mind going in to detail about how you did it?
     
  4. Dec 14, 2012 at 1:19 PM
    #4
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,615
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    Check my gallery. It works great! I believe it is more stable this way and with the 72" bars I can carry SUPs an my canoe with ease.
     
  5. Dec 14, 2012 at 1:33 PM
    #5
    ST3VE

    ST3VE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,439
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Crew Max
    Tint, car seat, baby wipes
    There is 4 holes that are plugged on each side of the truck under the roof strip thing where a factory mount goes. I just lined up the holes and drilled through the rubber and mounted the clips that the Yakima mounts to. Screwed it in and BAM!! Roof rack. I only plan to haul kayaks with it and the fact it is removable is what I like best.
     
  6. Dec 14, 2012 at 5:01 PM
    #6
    wmflyfisher

    wmflyfisher [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Member:
    #18590
    Messages:
    879
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    PCB, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Sport 4x4
    So the yakima mounts line directly up with the factory holes??
     
  7. Dec 14, 2012 at 5:08 PM
    #7
    ST3VE

    ST3VE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Member:
    #58595
    Messages:
    2,439
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Bel Air, MD
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Crew Max
    Tint, car seat, baby wipes

    Well there is 2 holes up front for the mount. I was going to drill a hole in the mount because it was about 3/8th's off. I just screwed the bolt down tight and honestly it's pretty solid so I said F**k it and left each mount with 1 bolt. So far it has held up without any issues with and without kayaks on it and also at highway speeds.
     
To Top