1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tips to not be “that guy”

Discussion in 'Hawaii' started by Pj Benn, Nov 15, 2020.

1. Nov 15, 2020 at 9:07 PM
    Pj Benn

Pj Benn [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    98 4runner
    I’m really new to the whole off road thing. I’m getting more confident in what I can clear but still have little to no experience in mud and sand. Was hoping to get some tips during a meet up but who knows when this pandemic gonna end.

sampled some sand today. Heard in the past to take momentum into it and carry that momentum. Either follow the old tracks or make your own. Is this solid advice?

There were some guys ripping it but that was away from everyone else. When one guy drove near a family in his stock looking non trd 4x4 tacoma (street tires) he slowly crept by and then only started giving um when he was farther away. Sand looked similar in both spots. When I was leaving I went through some soft stuff. I passed near someone walking back to their car and I felt like I should have slowly crept by too instead of how I was driving.

I don’t want to be that guy driving kinda fast near people but I no like be that guy who gets stuck while I’m out by myself either.

please share all your tips and tricks and let me know any etiquette type things I should know when on a beach with other trucks and people out.

2. Nov 15, 2020 at 9:25 PM
    steelhd

steelhd Well-Known Member

Member:
    Eastern WA
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB TRD OR
    * Always wheel with another vehicle.
    * Carry a shovel.