1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire Air Sensors

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by MARK B, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. Aug 2, 2007 at 6:25 AM
    #1
    MARK B

    MARK B [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Member:
    #1892
    Messages:
    2
    I just installed after market wheels and tires on my 2007 taco. The tire guy put the sensors on with metal bands and now I cant get the sensor light to go off.Does anyone have a fix for this?
     
  2. Aug 2, 2007 at 6:29 AM
    #2
    nd

    nd Radical Town. It's a hell of a place!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1047
    Messages:
    12,649
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nate
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off-Road 4x4 debadged
    De badged, 5100's, Black Toyota Baja wheels
    i'd be interested in this problem as well. I'm thinking about new rims and not sure how transfering the sensors is gonna work
     
  3. Aug 2, 2007 at 7:48 AM
    #3
    scutch10

    scutch10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Member:
    #2196
    Messages:
    57
    Have you tried pressing the TPMS (Tire Pressure Monitoring System) reset switch located under the dash?
     
  4. Aug 5, 2007 at 5:11 PM
    #4
    scutch10

    scutch10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Member:
    #2196
    Messages:
    57
    Mark B: Did the info I gave help, or was I way off?
     
  5. Aug 5, 2007 at 5:21 PM
    #5
    MARK B

    MARK B [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Member:
    #1892
    Messages:
    2
    I tried it but it did not work but it was a good idea yhanks.
     
  6. Aug 5, 2007 at 5:28 PM
    #6
    AUDITECH

    AUDITECH Carolina Alliance: LAZY DIVISION

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Member:
    #875
    Messages:
    840
    charlotte nc
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab prerunner
    none
    did they properly mount the sensors on your new rims. If they messed up on the torque of the bolts or the rims are not designed for your sensors that could cause a problem.
     
  7. Aug 5, 2007 at 5:31 PM
    #7
    flyman767

    flyman767 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Member:
    #1332
    Messages:
    149
    Check and make sure that all of your sensors are actually on the truck. The sensors break really easy and the shop could have broke one and not told you. The way to check is by the valve stem. The sensors are metal valve stems, others are rubber and is no sensor.

    Not sure what the metal bands are for but they could be interfering with the wireless signal. Also, if you have a TPMS sensor damaged, this will cause the TPMS light to illuminate and the following procedure below will be of no help. If you have to replace a sensor there about $120+ or you can do the TPMS bypass mod.

    Assuming the TPMS sensors are not damaged and installed correctly, you have to reinitialize the system in order for the system to recognize the change:

    1) Park vehicle
    2) Check and adjust pressure to specified cold tire inflation level (driver's door label...don't forget the spare)
    3) Turn ignition 'on'
    4) Push and hold TPMS switch until TPMS warning light blinks 3 times
    5) Wait a few minutes with the ignition 'on' and turn the ignition 'off'
     
To Top