1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tire changing: TPMS charges?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by maine, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. Jan 26, 2010 at 12:53 PM
    #1
    maine

    maine [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Member:
    #30072
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm getting my tires changed on my 2006 Tacoma 2wd with TPMS. Should I incur a TPMS charge from the garage?

    I thought the TPMS sensor was in the rim and no rebuild would be needed. Shouldn't the garage just change the tire, and I can press the TPMS button under the steering wheel to reset?

    Anyone who has changed a tire on a TPMS car let me know the process that one goes through to change a tire with this system?

    Thank in advance.
     
  2. Jan 26, 2010 at 12:57 PM
    #2
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,839
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    No rebuilding is necessary. They shouldn't even take them off of the rim. And yes, if the light doesn't go away on it's own, you should just have to press the button if you have it.

    They shouldn't be charging you.
     
  3. Jan 26, 2010 at 1:21 PM
    #3
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    if the tpms light is not on before the tire change,it should'nt be on after
     
  4. Jan 26, 2010 at 1:37 PM
    #4
    ccs368

    ccs368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Member:
    #10931
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    MA
    Vehicle:
    05 Access Cab SR5 4x4
    I believe some garages like to loosen the retaining nuts and "drop" the TPMS into the wheel before dislodging the bead from the rim. This way they assure that the TPMS won't get damaged accidently which is why there could be a TPMS surcharge. You can argue the case with the service writeup but I think they'll highly recommend this practice.
     
  5. Jan 31, 2010 at 8:07 PM
    #5
    99tacoma

    99tacoma New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Member:
    #22694
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    99 Tacoma Ext. Cab SR5 3.4L
    There is a rubber groment that is inside the sleeve of the sensor stem that should be replaced when you get new tires. It will dry and crack which results in an air leak(just like dry rotted rubber stems). If the tire shop is educated then they will explain this to you. According to the RMA, all tpms sensors' valve stems should be rebuilt when getting new tires.

    RMA=rubber manufacturers association
     
  6. Jan 31, 2010 at 8:14 PM
    #6
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,156
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I heard the same thing. My last tire swap, I had them rebuilt. The charge should be minimal.
     
  7. Jan 31, 2010 at 8:21 PM
    #7
    Mondwa

    Mondwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Member:
    #28028
    Messages:
    1,365
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    08 V6 Tacoma
    remote start, Allpro bumper, Slimchubby HID, MetalMiller custom Emblem
    Good info, I just bought a set for my winter rims.
     
  8. Sep 8, 2010 at 11:12 PM
    #8
    cortez_a

    cortez_a Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Member:
    #27529
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andy
    Colorado
    I'm buying a set of snow tires for my 2010. I shouldn't have to have the rubber groment replaced since its under a year old right? If I don't how often should I have it changed out?
     
  9. Sep 8, 2010 at 11:35 PM
    #9
    Taco4x4NC

    Taco4x4NC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30601
    Messages:
    879
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Western North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 DC/LB "Pytrite Mica/Katzkin leather
    3m clear bra or Venture, stant locking gas cap, Shield, front windows tinted, weathertechs, ARE "Z" topper. Sockmonkey decal, Billy 5100's x 4 corners, Eibach coils, Toytec 1.5 AAL. Michelin 265/75/16 MS2's, Grillcraft MX series/TOYOTA badging. FJ/SE TRD Anthracite gray wheels. Katzkin leather/heated seats.
    You are correct, you do not have to have the rubber gromet replaced when its this new. I just had these wheels installed and they used my existing 2010 TPSM, no rebuild, no new gromet. good luck!

    [​IMG]
     
To Top